Customer Review

20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Why Why ???, 29 July 2013
This review is from: TomTom GO 500 UK & Ireland - 5" Sat Nav with Full UK & Ireland Lifetime Maps, Lifetime Traffic Updates, Smartphone Connected and Interactive Screen (Electronics)
Ordered this the other week to replace an older TomTom device expecting this to be smarter and better than previous model , alas no it isn't it is in one word . . . rubbish. I cant believe Tom Tom have deleted the good features from the menu as other reviews state , no multiple route stops , no A-B , no avoid road block or road , no SOS , the list goes on so I have returned mine and gone back to an older device , if any one from Tom Tom reads these reviews please don't fix what isn't broken , your older units are by far the best on the market please leave them that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 31 Jul 2013 15:55:29 BDT
James says:
According to the 2nd video at http://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/car-navigation/go-series/go-600-europe/index.jsp you can tap on a route top get a menu where you can add a stop to the route. Does this not exist then?

Posted on 1 Aug 2013 12:39:54 BDT
Hi Van Man, I'm sorry for the experience. I read your review and wanted to thank you for the feedback I already shared it with our product team.
To answer James - you can actually add an unlimited number of waypoints to your route on the device and then at any point edit your planned route via the menu -> "Current Route". To add a waypoint you simply need to use Quick Search or the map itself to find the location, tap and hold on it and then add it to your route through the popup window.

I will make sure to keep you posted on any future updates and/or changes about the product and its features.

Posted on 20 Aug 2013 08:53:30 BDT
Helpless says:
It is simple to add in extra stops on your route, firstly put in your final destination. Then go into the menu by touching the small circle on the bottom left of the screen. In the menu you will see 'current route', go into this and you will see a sub-menu which is the fourth icon from the left that says 'Add Stop to Route'. You can do this as many times as you like, the stop then appears in a black box with a light blue arrow symbol. You have to touch on the symbol to enter the stop.

The menu system is very different from what went on before and it takes a little getting used to.

Posted on 9 Sep 2013 17:35:38 BDT
Last edited by the author on 14 Oct 2013 16:39:29 BDT
Update: In line with what many customers have asked, we have started enabling MapShare functionality on the new TomTom GO models. This is a step by step process as the new models are built up very differently compared to past devices in terms of software.

Since September 5, you can download an update for your device that enables daily download of submitted MapShare changes relevant to your map.

Update 10/10/2013:
Today we have released the first feature software update, version 13.020, for the new GO devices.
We recommend installing this first prior to any other offered updates.

These are the features and updates coming with this release:

- You can now plan a route in advance by choosing a start point and a destination.
- You can now search using single-street or area postcodes.
- You can now report speed cameras.
- In the 3D guidance view you can now pinch to zoom.
- An icon in the main menu and notifications in the driving view now tell you about the connectivity status of TomTom services.
- On the GO 400, GO 500 and GO 600 you can now delete smartphones from the TomTom Traffic & Speed Cameras menu.
- The route bar now shows speed cameras and the first two fuel stations on your route.
- Speed cameras on your route are now shown in the map view and in the guidance view.
- We have improved road signs and speed limits for Australia and New Zealand.
- You can now download premium voices using MyTomTom.
- The keyboard has been improved for entering passwords and email addresses.
- The search interface has been improved.

We plan to have more major feature updates this year based on the feedback we've received from you and all other customers.

Posted on 6 Nov 2013 10:10:12 GMT
Hello again Van Man, wanted to share the latest update we released for our GO devices.
UPDATE 13.030

I am happy to announce that as of today, the latest Navcore Version 13.030 will be offered for download in MyDrive.

This update comes with the following changes:

* My Routes
We have added My Routes to the GO. You can use My Routes to save, retrieve, edit and delete routes, including itineraries with multiple stops.

* Reorder stops (itinerary planning)
When you have planned a route with multiple stops, you can now adjust the order of the stops.

* Drive to a route
When you have planned a route from a starting point that is not your current location, you can now drive to the start of that route. SelectDrive via here, to plan a route from your current location to the starting point of the route, and start following the route.

* Navigate to latitude longitude coordinates
In the search box, you can now enter a specific set of latitude longitude coordinates.

* Warning sounds when speeding
You can now both see a visual warning and hear a warning sound when speeding.

0-5 km/h too fast: the speed panel turns orange.
> 5 km/h too fast: the speed panel turns red.

Now you can also choose to hear a warning sound when speeding:

> 5 km/h too fast: you hear three beeps.

The warning sound can be turned on and off in the Main Menu.

* Time-dependent speed limits
We now offer time-dependent speed limits in the following European countries: Germany, Poland, Sweden and the Netherlands (requires map version 9.20 or higher, which will be released in the near future).

If you are driving in these countries, the speed limit in the speed panel changes depending on the time of day.

Other bug fixes and improvements

* Improved route re-calculation
We have optimised the re-calculation of routes
‹ Previous 1 Next ›