Customer Review

22 of 128 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sour and sad, 18 Sep 2008
This review is from: Carra: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
I'm not a Manchester United supporter, but I read Alex Ferguson's autobiography, and enjoyed it. I'm not a Liverpool supporter, but I read Robbie Fowler's autobiography, and enjoyed it. I read Shane Warne's autobiography, but I'm certainly not an Australian. In short, I read a lot of autobiographies about sportsmen whose teams I have no allegiance to, and I read them without prejudice.
I suppose if you are a Liverpool supporter you might enjoy this book, but if you're not then don't bother, it wasn't written for your benefit anyway. Basically, Carragher does not have a good word to say about any one or anything outside the boundaries of Liverpool. Apparently he hated playing for England, hated even travelling to London, and doesn't feel even a passing allegiance to England. Well no wonder he never made the grade playing for England, although, I do wonder if he would have been quite so sour if he was still being selected for England.
I genuinely regret ever having read this book, for it has tainted my opinion of the people and the city and the club of Liverpool. I just hope most of the inhabitants of Liverpool are not as bitter and resentful as this book suggests they might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 20 Sep 2008 10:00:15 BDT
Last edited by the author on 20 Sep 2008 10:02:08 BDT
Woody says:
You obviously haven't read the book, nor any of the others. This is your first review! Arf!

Posted on 25 Sep 2008 12:25:55 BDT
N. Mackie says:
It must be nice to not be able to read something and make comments about what you read in a serialisation in the daily mirror.

i'm sure i'm not alone when i say that as a scouser i couldn't care less for england. if england lose, who cares? if liverpool lose, we all care.

Posted on 4 Oct 2008 11:03:59 BDT
Last edited by the author on 4 Oct 2008 11:05:29 BDT
Toxic Reader says:
What's more sour and sad, one man giving his honest opinion backed up by good and genuine reasons or some ignoramus who has had his view of nearly half a million people 'tainted' by one man's views. My advice to you would be to get a grip on reality and grow up. So you regret reading the book? Would you rather live in a world of fantasy with your head buried in the sand? You do know there is no Santa?!

Posted on 9 Oct 2008 17:31:15 BDT
Sammy says:
You haven't read the book, i.e on page 380 Carra mentions, "Perhaps Liverpool and United are a bit too alike and that's the cause of the problems. On 381, "I have tremendous respect for United's achievements".

This book is must buy. It is very informative, honest (Carra's father and is a drinking partner of Neville Neville), uncompromising and funny (check out Didi Hamman arrest story in Tokyo in 2005).

As a Liverpool fan myself, I would say this is the best book on Liverpool I have ever read. Actually its the best book period.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2008 10:12:24 BDT
JSu7777 says:
I think people from southern England would be surprised how common the disillusioned view of the country is, not just in Liverpool I know there are a lot of Mancs with similar views -see themselves as Mancunian rather than English. Think this is partly historical and ethnic given the large amount of non-English blood in a lot of people from Merseyside (esp. Irish, Welsh and Scottish) plus the added dis-joint from the Thatcher years.
Suspect our friend from Brighton has more surprises in store if he ever gets to know the North-west of England better!

Posted on 24 Oct 2008 12:03:12 BDT
this reviewer has painted a picture of this book that is unjustified,lfc is a worldwide club,carragher knows this ,there are lfc fans everywhere,including heaven for we are the greatest team of all time,end of!

Posted on 15 Dec 2008 16:04:53 GMT
glyn smith says:
i think theomin should read this book again.
here is a man who has written an honest account of his life. he does not shirk from telling you how he feels. he wears his heart on his sleeve, and if you dont like it, stick to the other books full of lies and half truths.
i dont care that much for the england football team, and jamie was wasted by successive managers who chose far more inferior players ahead of him. think how you would feel in his place you muppet.
as for your comment about liverpool and its people, where has that idea come from? not this book.
stick to brighton and your fantastic team there and the lovely people who go with it.
people like you should stick to comics and leave us open minded and honest folk to these sort of books
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (54 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Brighton

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,744,617