Customer Review

5 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Listen to all sides, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blackfish [DVD] (DVD)
I was very excited about this film as I know how controversial this topic is, however after watching it twice and reading more around the subject I believe the finger is being pointed at the wrong person. The whole blame in this documentary is placed on SeaWorld and it is made out to seem like a negligent company only interested in profit. Although profit is a part of the SeaWorld, it is not the whole story, and Blackfish fails to mention a lot of things. Here are a few:

1. SeaWorld hasn't taken Orcas from the wild in over 30 years, they have a successful captive breeding programme, that has meant no captures of wild whales.
2. SeaWorld does a great deal of research on its Orcas, over 30 scientific papers have been published many relating to pregnancy and the early life of calves, this has helped researchers with wild Orcas, where such research is practically impossible.
3. SeaWorld rescues and releases thousand of animals, from Sea Turtles to Grey Whales.

For a Documentary Blackfish seems very one-sided and biased, it does not mention any of the positives SeaWorld offers. I agree that the Death of Dawn was a tragic incident, however I hate to see her death being used as a mechanism to criticise the company she loved, it's also interesting that her family are never even interviewed in this documentary, I mean is practically about her. Maybe their opinions didn't suit the director's own agenda.

Some of the sources are also questionable, it fails to mention that D. Naoime Rose is an extreme animal rights activist. So what the viewer thinks is unbiased is actually extremely biased.

I am not totally in favour of SeaWorld, I agree the shows must stop, bigger habitats must be built and social structures restored to reasonably normal levels. My biggest problem with this film is that it fails to bring the plight of other captive orcas to our attention. It can be agreed that SeaWorld is the best place for caotive orcas, no other facility has the room, the money, the medical care or the knowledge to back it all up that SeaWorld has. I don't see why the plight of Lolita wasn't mentioned, whe has lived alone for over a decade with no other whale in Miami in a tank that is so small it is illegal by U.S. standards. Why blame SeaWorld when it has the best possible care for captive orcas.

I don't expect you to take my review to heart. Read up about the subject and make up your own mind. This film will give you the anti-cap side, a good website for the pro-cap is: [...]
I know it is run by Seaworld, but it has the right to educate us also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 23 Jan 2014 14:53:13 GMT
hiya I was just reading your review looking for info on this documentary, and I couldn't help but comment. You say Seaworld haven't "taken" Orcas from the wild, however, they do manage to acquire them via other means i.e stranding's, something this doc does not mention. Seaworld spends 1 CENT out of every $100 on rehabilitation...something they shouldn't be proud of. The reason they release turtles, seals and manatees is because they can't perform and it says "look how great we are", a pull on the old heart strings. I for one am glad this documentary has come out, Seaworld are always shouting about how great they are, I'm sure you could buy a DVD on the "greatness" they do. I believe this doc to be factual and I'm sure I will educated more from this, re Orcas and captivity, then I would if I have visited $eaworld.... A pro cap website run by Seaworld, now there's a surprise, surely this must say something?? How many anti cap websites compared to the 1 pro run by them lol... beautiful lies or brutal truth?

Posted on 27 Jan 2014 09:30:02 GMT
Last edited by the author on 27 Jan 2014 09:31:49 GMT
J0n G says:
They certainly did interview Dawn's sister, right at the end, so it's not fair to say that they didn't speak to her family. I am sure everyone would agree that Dawn died doing the job she loved. The problem is, she was doing her job exactly as she had been instructed to do it, and the whale dragged her into the tank and ripped her to pieces because it was upset and frustrated. It is appalling that her employers defamed her by saying that she made a mistake, or that it was her fault for having a ponytail (many other trainers have long hair, and if it is unsuitable it's the job of the employer to enforce a dress code). The bottom line is, Seaworld makes a huge amount of income from killer whales (orcas), which are no different from circus animals, trained to entertain us and the training consists of giving or withholding food. This movie is about cruelty to killer whales. It's no excuse to say that they have vets to look after them, or that the nice folk at Seaworld treat other creatures better than they treat the killer whales. Keeping a whale in a tank for its entire life is cruelty, period. If people want to watch a show and get splashed with water, build some animatronic whales. The movie makes a passionate and convincing case. The best way to mark Dawn's untimely death would be to legislate to ban the confinement of whales and the use of performing whales for entertainment.

Posted on 29 Jan 2014 15:44:39 GMT
Jade says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 29 Jan 2014 16:20:39 GMT
J0n G says:
It's an odd form of "love" which involves keeping a large whale confined in a concrete pen, allowing it out only to let employees ride on its back. The film gives a very objective and balanced view of events, with frequent contributions from former Seaworld employees.

Posted on 7 Feb 2014 13:52:06 GMT
Angry Feet says:
If this is your version of 'love', please consider the following:

How would you like it if you were made to perform multiple times in one day, having absolutely no choice in the matter because if you didn't perform, you didn't eat?

Also, if you didn't perform adequately, others wouldn't be fed either, and being intelligent animals the Orcas pick up on this, often injuring the newer member quite seriously and in some cases lead to death.

Would you like it if you were locked in a dark container with barley enough room to turn around overnight and only let out when the park opens? As opposed to the ocean, where orcas swim and migrate miles and miles each day.

The dorsal fin (big one on the top), tends to drop and fold over in Orcas in captivity, this is very rare in whales in the wild but almost all in captivity suffer with this. No one knows for certain why, but is worth a ponder..

SeaWorld should be ashamed of this, fingers crossed in the future something is done to have these animals released into the wild, where they belong.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Feb 2014 23:19:59 GMT
Shaun says:
If SeaWorld really loved Orcas, they'd leave them be, ie: in the wild ;)

Posted on 13 Feb 2014 00:11:32 GMT
M. Acott says:
A fundamental point that is raised in this documentary is that the dorsal fins of captive whales, dolphins and the like are always down turned. This is only ever witnessed in captivity not in the wild. I agree that this film is one sided but rightly so. An intelligent creature kept in a tank and taught to perform unnatural tricks is not 'love' but confinement and cruelty with a sole purpose of making money although that's not to say trainers don't care for or respect these creatures. I suppose you still visit circuses where elephants apparently happily balance on their heads or giant balls? Which incidentally is not something they do in their natural habitat either.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Apr 2014 01:41:44 BDT
Satch says:
Forgetting the film for a second, who in their right mind believes keeping Orcas in captivity is a good idea? As previously mentioned in other posts these are huge mammals that travel miles everyday in the wild. Whether they have been bred in captivity or not does not excuse the fact that this should never happen. Seaworld exists to make money out of training these beautiful creatures to perform tricks for our entertainment. Any human who cannot see that this is wrong needs to take a long hard look at themselves. If people are entertained by this disgraceful circus act then they lack a degree of intelligence and should be made to perform themselves! I never needed to watch the film to know it was wrong but I am hoping the film will convince others that places like Seaworld should not exist! Bravo to the ex-trainers who had the balls to stand up against Seaworld and admit they were naive in the beginning. Lets educate the masses!

Posted on 13 Oct 2014 10:50:11 BDT
Northampton says:
1) "SeaWorld hasn't taken Orcas from the wild in over 30 years, they have a successful captive breeding programme, that has meant no captures of wild whales."

...Correct, no recent captures of wild whales... This is because they have a beautiful Orca which has been kept in captivity for over 30yrs, on site, whose sperm is used to breed Orca's in captivity. No matter the mental and physical damage caused.

2) Again, correct, papers have been published. However there are also many researchers who study wild Orca's in their pods within their natural habitat for years and are able to provide the same information.

3) The animals rescued and released by SeaWorld are captured and released for this exact purpose. To be seen to "show" compassion.

"Why blame SeaWorld when it has the best possible care for captive orcas."
If Orca's we're not captured in the first place and bred purely for entertainment/money purposes, SeaWorld would not need to provide this said best possible care.

To read a 'pro' website which is run by SeaWorld is a contradiction in itself.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (326 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
£15.99 £5.70
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer

S. Mooney
(REAL NAME)   

Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,919,480