Customer Review

21 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FULL OF ERRORS, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lot (Audio CD)
THIS I GOT FROM QUEENZONE FOR THE LOT BOX SET

Disc Errors:
1.) Track index marker error on track 9 of Shove It.
2.) Pressure On (Electric Fire): wrong mix. No 2nd voice for half of the first chorus. (01:58 - 02:07)
3.) Wrong running order of FOE bonus tracks: "Whole House Rockin'" plays first, "Dear Mr. Murdoch" comes second.
4.) There are some complaints of juddering video on the DVD
5.) Life Changes (Blue Rock) the song suddenly stops, and then the first seconds of the song start again.
6.) Shove It (extended mix) with track duration 5:02 should have been on 'The Cross Singles 1' disc, but instead it has 'The 2nd Shelf Mix' with track duration 5:55.
7.) I Can't Get You Out Of My Head unfortunately has count-in chords badly edited out, causing a slight cut to the beginning of the song.
8.) Celebration is abridged version. 1:45-2:25 fragment of the original 5:15 track is edited out.
9.) Track index marker error on track 3 of Happiness.

Text Errors:
1.) The lyrics to the first four songs of Electric Fire are missing in the book (it starts with "People on streets")
2.) Incorrect spelling of 'Holocaust'
3.) The credits from 'Blue Rock' are directly taken from Discogs.com , including the (2) suffix for Peter Noone and the ANV-asteriks for Josh Macrae
4.) Wrong information - The book states Dear Mr Murdoch originally featured on the 1994 album "Electric Fire".
5.) In his foreword, final sentence, Rhys talks about a "cole" instead of "collection".
6.) In the track listing of the Cross-singles, last track (Shove it US), it is stated that the inclusion is a last minute "edition" instead of "addition".
7.) The DVD notes incorrectly state that both versions of the "Power to Love" video are included (or perhaps one is actually missing from the disc?)

Please report or confirm any errors.
I'll update or amend this post accordingly.

HOPE THEY CAN FIX ALL THE ERRORS, SEEMS LIKE IT WILL TAKE A WHILE WITH SO MANY :O(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Nov 2013 23:29:30 GMT
Last edited by the author on 13 Nov 2013 20:12:11 GMT
If the errors are fixed will the first pressing not be more collectable? The set has already jumped from £83.00 to £150.00. A lot of the errors mentioned are minor. I know it may annoy some people but I care more about the music. I was after a copy of "Fun In Space" and "Strange Frontiers " for a while and for a few quid extra get a whole load of other stuff. If only those Queen fans cared as much for badgers as Brian May does instead of being so train spotter about trivial things the world would be a great place.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Nov 2013 16:07:04 GMT
J. M. Gaden says:
I have to agree - I'm a huge Roger Taylor fan and pre-ordered this box set. It's beautifully packaged and contains stacks of stuff, all remastered. When I saw the huge list of errors, I was shocked and started checking out my set. For me, it boils down to two serious errors and a bunch of stuff that is mildy annoying but hardly worth the hysteria I've witnessed online.

Major error 1: The ending of "Life Changes". It's mad that wasn't spotted.
Major error 2: The first four song lyrics from Electric Fire being absent, which suggests there may have been a page omitted from the book.

The rest - the text errors should have all been spotted at the proofing stage and is disappointing, but not devastating and utterly inconsequential if you buy the download.

The track marker mistake on 'Shove It' is silly but only an issue if you aren't listening to the album as a whole. The one on 'Happiness' is only a second or two out and the two tracks in question, 'Happiness' and 'Revelation' were joined with no gap between them on the original release. When played together you don't notice it.

The tiny cut on the count in for 'I Can't Get You Out Of My Head' is inconsequential to me, especially as it's a song that was never officially released anyway. I'm just happy to have a properly mastered version. Same goes for 'Celebration' - it's abridged from the demo that floated around. That doesn't mean this version is wrong. The version on here of 'I Can Take You Higher' is totally different to the bootleg demo I have. Again, happy to have mastered versions of unreleased songs.

I intended making copies of the CDs to keep the box set in great condition, so the track marker stuff I can fix myself. I shouldn't have to, but I can. I still think the £100 I paid is good value to have all this material, all remastered. I do think a little more care could have been taken on checking text and disks, but que sera sera. 'Life Changes' should be fixed, the other stuff I can live without.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Nov 2013 20:14:01 GMT
I got it for£83.00 so i can live with the errors. Thanks for the reply.

Posted on 18 Nov 2013 11:51:08 GMT
J B says:
Whatever. This is incredibly inconsequential stuff. Will still buy.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Nov 2013 08:41:19 GMT
Chris H says:
It was consequential enough for them to withdraw the set so they could fix it. I'd say the last track on Blue Rock cutting off before it finishes and then starting again is a pretty serious error.

I guess if you are happy to waste money on faulty products that's up to you though.

Posted on 11 Dec 2013 21:23:12 GMT
G. Gordon says:
Some of those errors are fixed in the later boxed sets, whilst others listed are not really errors at all.
Celebration for example has never been officially released, so it's not an error that the version in this set doesn't match the bootleg version that was doing the rounds, presumably how it is now is how Roger wants it to be heard.
The order of the Fun on Earth bonus tracks is inconsequential. Is it a disc error or a booklet printing error?
Either way, they have never been released in this format before so the order of them is no big deal.
Yes some errors remain, which prevents it getting 5 stars, but this 13 disc set is far from a 1* offering if you like Roger Taylor.
I am more upset about the booklet printing errors, there isn't really any excuse for speeling mistuks in this.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (16 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 156,934