Customer Review

1 of 58 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Missing safety warning sign blights an otherwise good product, 6 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Trangia Fuel Bottle (Sports)
I have given this one star because while the bottle is sturdy it fails in all respects to warn the user the substance inside is harmful. If you use this to store meths, which you probably would this being a Trangia product, it only has a flammable sign on it. My 4 year old son asked me why it doesn't have an 'X' on it (like the plastic bottle that the meths came in does!) Obviously I have taught him well, but this is inexcusable from a large manufacturer.

I cannot believe this is recommended by DofE scheme with such a basic safety oversight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 24 Jan 2012 22:27:01 GMT
Keith says:
but it doesn't have any hazardous substance in it... A good example of our overpowering H&S culture, methinks!

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Feb 2012 16:21:39 GMT
Well said Kieth. Some people are so thick you wonder how they get through the day.

Posted on 8 Apr 2012 13:40:58 BDT
It actually has a massive 0ne inch Flame symbol on it which is something of a give away ,Excellent product NONSENSE review.

Posted on 10 Jul 2012 17:19:09 BDT
mrbojingle says:
Yeh i can see what you mean, it looks just like a bottle of pop ;-)

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Aug 2012 23:31:49 BDT
Gshock says:
well said keith , stupid revue by a complete retard , shouldn't be allowed to use a heating appliance unsupervised

Posted on 29 Aug 2012 18:02:45 BDT
Henry Plumb says:
Although the older version of this bottle might not have had a 'X' warning, it did have a flame symbol which should be warning enough! I have the newer version with the world warning symbols and it has both the flame one and one with a skull and crossbones, if that's not enough then what is this world coming too. Soooo many drink bottles have a valve like that don't they! GET REAL!

Posted on 5 Apr 2013 18:34:54 BDT
Ian Brown says:
If your 4 year old is that clever maybe you should let him look after the EMPTY Bottle. This review should be removed, it is an insult to every outdoor pursuit person. I have read some dumb reviews in my time but this one will take some beating.

Posted on 12 Jun 2013 23:01:09 BDT
Kaz says:
I would think that the bottle being bright red, the flame symbol, the scull and crossbones would have given most people an idea as to the content of the bottle, but also the fact that Trangia has written in several languanges instructions which include warnings about its content and its safe use would be a giveaway to anyone, in
fact Trangia fuel bottles have more warnings than the bottles you buy the meths in, in the first place.

I already own 2 half liter Trangia bottles for my multifuel stoves so I have now ordered a 1 liter bottle for my meths stove that I have converted to.

Posted on 3 Aug 2013 14:21:21 BDT
I. M. says:
I think the guy makes a valid point. At least he's highlighting the safety aspect. As a professional industrial chemist I reckon you can't be too careful. (Makes me think: petrol cans are not very well labelled either.)
By the way, I'm dismayed by the impolite and abusive tone of many commenters. Is this how they would respond in a friendly discussion? If this is the standard of discourse among "outdoor people" I think I'll give them a very wide berth when I finally start my (in retirement) wild hiking career!
PS I think some people let their inner demons out when commenting anonymously, just as apparently normal people turn into deranged looneys behind the wheel of a car : )

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Aug 2013 15:39:09 BDT
Last edited by the author on 8 Aug 2013 10:47:15 BDT
mrbojingle says:
Very considerate of you I. M. to give us a wide berth.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (69 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
13.50 11.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,933,175