Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
Customer Review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tight, atmospheric noir set in 1980s Argentina, 20 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Sweet Money (Inspector Lascano Mystery) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although this is #2 in a trilogy involving Inspector Lascano, it didn't matter much that I'd missed the first part. Author Mallo gives you just enough background that you can make sense of his razor-edged narrative -- it would have been better to have read the three books in order but I started with this one and I'm glad that I didn't pass it by on the grounds that it was the middle episode. Each book obviously tells a complete tale, and 'Sweet Money' has a vey definite beginning, middle and end.

The prose is stylish, sharp and succinct. It took me a little while to get used to Mallo's habit of running all speech together in one great long paragraph (irritating, actually; a pointless piece of artistry), but that was the only downside. The writing is atmospheric; bitter at times, poignant and artful. Mallo treats his readers as if they are adults -- not all of the action takes place in front of us, and sometimes we're left to deduce what happened off stage. Key plot points are telegraphed... but not all of them unravel in the way you might expect.
I also thoroughly enjoyed the insight into Argentinian society in the years after military rule had ended, but when corruption and chaos were rife on the streets.

Will seek out the other books by this author. Definitely recommended for fans of Travis McGee, Andrew Vachss or Don Winslow. But this is not a 'cosy' kind of detective series which appens to be set in a sun-soaked paradise. It's of the gritty, urban ilk -- which means you can't expect to be particularly uplifted although the author does allow a glint of optimism to leech onto the horizon.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Kernow, Great Britain

Top Reviewer Ranking: 26