Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now
Customer Review

33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles, 15 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Miami Vice - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The box looks nice, the video quality is nice, but the whole product is crippled by the lack of subtitles. The first season has subtitles, but for the rest, it seems like they were just forgotten about. It's a shame, this would have been a killer product if a little bit of care and attention had gone to it, but with such a bare-bones video-only treatment, I cannot recommend this product to anybody who is hard of hearing, has language problems, or otherwise just likes to have subtitles. If you couldn't care less about subtitles, this is an amazing product. But for the 4 billion people on the planet who are not native English speakers, you're better off getting the season sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 8 May 2011 22:06:28 BDT
thanks samy I was about to buy the complete collection, but I'm part of that 4 billion of people ....
thankx again....

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Jul 2011 18:45:57 BDT
Paolo says:
Me too!

Posted on 2 Jan 2012 21:21:51 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 2 Jan 2012 21:22:36 GMT]

Posted on 21 Feb 2012 04:01:22 GMT
James says:
You are no better off going for the season sets. The discs in this box set are exactly the same as in the individual season sets. I have all 5 individual season sets and I found only the first season had subtitles - seasons 2 to 5 don't have subtitles.

Posted on 7 May 2012 00:49:02 BDT
Last edited by the author on 7 May 2012 01:03:54 BDT
Rossy! says:
I can appreciate your frustration, as I can imagine it's difficult to ensure DVDs are subtitled before purchase, but this is a minor issue at best - I found the lack of subtitles after season 1 annoying, but would have marked the product down BY 1 star only - at best.

To be fair, it's made for the UK market - so the "4 billion people on the planet who are not native English speakers" could be considered irrelevant in this case. Buying a UK product and expecting it to be accessible to a global audience doesn't warrant marking it down to 1 star.

What about the quality of the acting, the writing, etc? Your review doesn't reflect all of these factors.

Amazon has incorrectly labelled the entire boxset as "subtitled" - this would be worth changing, as it clearly is only 1/5 seasons as mentioned prior.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 May 2012 09:35:32 BDT
Samy Merchi says:
Even if it's "made for the UK market", what about deaf people? Are they also irrelevant to you?

In any case, if a company chooses to solely "make for the UK market" when a trivial investment would make the product globally viable, yeah, that is a mistake worthy of 1 star to me.

The acting and writing are wonderful though, but it's difficult to enjoy the stories when you can only make out half the things said.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 May 2012 16:15:09 BDT
James says:
I agree subtitles should have been included in all 5 seasons, not just season 1. I am English and have perfect hearing but on occasion the sound quality could be poor so I can see how subtitles would have helped everybody. However to mark the whole box set down to 1 star purely for that reason is ridiculous. Maybe 3 starts would have been fairer if you felt so strongly about the subtitle issue - which you obviously do. However whilst I agree is was a poor decision not to include subtitles for all seasons there is more to this product than whether it has subtitles or not. Many great films and series would receive 1 star if purely judged on that condition.

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Jul 2012 20:18:29 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Jul 2012 20:22:08 BDT
Fabrizio says:
Since the french Amazon.fr website oriented me toward the sellers on the UK website for this item (no french editions of the full boxset at reasonable prices) then although it might be "made for the UK" it is pertinent for non-native speaker to know that there is no subtitle for 4/5 of the seasons. Potential buyers certainly already know about the acting, writting, soundtrack (music sometime so loud that you can't hear what the actors are saying... oh darn subtitles would be usefull here!), etc... We have all seen the show so reviews on that are interesting but in this particular case secondary.

So putting a 1 star review just to focus attention on a very legitimate problem for us who are not fully fluent in english (not to mention the plethora of weird accents present in the dialogs in this series: cuban american, southwestern, new-yorker, etc...) is a very good idea.
I read about half of the 5 stars reviews for this boxset, and I read le lonely 1 star review... I can't spend my time going over every single review for each product I am interested, like most people I sample a few and then move on. In this case, this one star review was more usefull to me than all the others... I decided not to buy this product and got a Columbo boxset instead ... so mille grazie to Samy for his input.

PS: if Amazon.co.uk accepts my international orders and my euro payments on items in its stock then I will applaud reviews that evaluate those items from the perspective and expectations of an international buyer and not from the narrow point of view of native anglo-saxon buyers...

Posted on 28 Dec 2012 19:11:10 GMT
Agata says:
Thanks, for me English is a second language, which means I will def not buy it.!!!

Posted on 28 Mar 2014 13:20:56 GMT
Last edited by the author on 28 Mar 2014 13:21:52 GMT
L. Stockton says:
My wife is hard of hearing and has watched all of the series from start to finish. There are products out there that will allow hard of hearing people to watch DVD/Blu-ray Disc without an issue.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Turku, Finland

Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,660,778