Customer Review

533 of 563 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for people who loved Twilight..., 25 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Host (Hardcover)
OK, I admit it. I am a 33 year old who really should know better than to read books about teenagers falling for vampires. The fact that I read all four of the Twilight series back to back over 3 days is, I'm sure, nothing to be proud of. Quite simply I have been hooked on them, even though they are not the best written novels and at times I could quite happily have bitten Bella myself just to stop her indecisiveness.
I bought The Host afterwards but was delighted it was a completely different novel to the previous 4. Although I found it a little slow going for probably the first third of the book, I was then completely lost in it. A clever idea, protracted at times but still compelling. I must admit being slightly disappointed with the ending though and found myself disliking the main character just because of her final appearance.
So, if you loved Twilight - read it. If you feel too grown up for teenage vampires, read this first then secretly treat yourself to the Twilight quadrilogy (it will be our secret)...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 57 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 May 2009 21:06:26 BDT
S. Stringer says:
And I'm a 43 year old who has just spent a lost week doing exactly the same thing. What is it with Twilight? Have to make some serious amends to my neglected husband and children. : )

Posted on 27 May 2009 14:21:45 BDT
pipje says:
I completely aggree with M Baker about the Twilight series - I can better her age - I am 69 years old and loved the books and I also read them back to back and was sorry when I had finished reading them as I looked forward to my reading sessions with them. I now want to see the film.

Posted on 3 Jun 2009 20:05:52 BDT
Don't worry I am 36 and I read them back to back over three days also. My three year old even made himself a pancake/ biscuit mix on his own in the kitchen and I didn't flinch!!! Just about to buy 'the host'. My thirteen year old is now hooked, but I think she is the target audience.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Jun 2009 17:37:24 BDT
Yep, I've neglected husband and children too, read the four books back to back and could happily read them again!!! Loved them, just a shame Meyers can't write as fast as we can read lol!!!

Posted on 24 Jun 2009 21:56:20 BDT
C. M. Davis says:
me too! i'm 29 (30 next tuesday. argh!)
completely hooked!!. . . & here i am doing the thing that i absolutely hated other people doing before i read the twilight saga:: talking about it somewhere other that specifically designated twilight areas, lol!! . . . i just finished. about 20 minutes ago, & i find myself wondering what i'm supposed to do now[?] :0/ though the pile of dishes in the kitchen should really be answer. i'm off now instead to locate & read the leaked manuscript 'midnight sun' :0) x

Posted on 29 Jun 2009 15:55:51 BDT
J. TATE says:
How reassuring!!! I am 33 as well and really thought I was going through puberty again the way I have been carrying on with the twilight books....... I have to say I do think I could just carry on reading anything about Edward and Jacob though to be honest, thinking of getting the 'the Host' as I half way through Breaking Dawn and really will not know what else to read after this series..... maybe there is another collection out there similar, fingers crossed :o)

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Jul 2009 09:40:47 BDT
Moana says:
pipje, the twilight series was recommended to me by a friend in America, she had just read them all, like you she thought she would get the film. Her advice, don't.

Like everyone else I didn't do a lot whilst engrossed in the books. I am 62. In our family I am the only one who's not interested in blood and gore. Recommended these books to my husband, he tried, but gave up. I was secretly pleased as he would have been buried in them for a few days.

Haven't found anything that I want to read since.

Posted on 8 Jul 2009 09:32:12 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 8 Jul 2009 09:33:29 BDT]

Posted on 18 Jul 2009 16:58:35 BDT
I am very happy and proud to join the gang of Twilight lovers. I am 55 and my daughter introduced them to me. I didn't think they would be the sort of books I would enjoy but Boy! was I wrong. I love the romance and am not ashamed to admit being happily in love with Edward who has been around longer than me! Loved the film too! Saw it on DVD - I really was too old to go to the cinema I think. I live in hope that the talented Ms Meyer will release Midnight Sun. The Host is a book which is taking me alot longer to read.

Posted on 1 Aug 2009 17:38:23 BDT
Lizzie says:
Me too !!! i am also a 33 year old who should know better yet managed to read through the twilight series in a few days - the shame !! It's nice to know i'm not alone !! What is it with these books?
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (1,030 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (728)
4 star:
 (188)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Isle of Wight

Top Reviewer Ranking: 11,785