Customer Review

10 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Requires Steam Activation - Avoid, 5 Mar. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaos on Deponia (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This product requires Steam activation (which requires an internet connection). The listing does not state this, but it is a major issue, especially for disc based games. If the service goes down all you will own is an expensive frisbee. Please avoid buying this.

Haven't played the game because I don't want Steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 6 Mar 2013 19:19:50 GMT
S. Lornie says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 6 Mar 2013 22:20:41 GMT
Mr. Mulgrave says:
I never said that you need to be online to play the game. I said the Steam activation requires an internet connection.

Let's all applaud people who read things that aren't written down?

Posted on 7 Mar 2013 23:30:50 GMT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 18 Mar 2013 18:26:01 GMT
If Steam were to ever go down (forever), your expensive frisbee will be cracked and available for you to play. Steam will not be around to sue you. Please stop spreading nonsensical rubbish. Also, lets flip your argument a second. If this game weren't on Steam and you lost the disk, you would no longer 'own it' and have to buy another. With Steam it will always be available regardless of whether you can still find the disk. Not since the beginning of video game time did you ever own the software, you simply owned a license to play it. Nothing has changed in this regard.

These 'it's on Steam so instant 1 star' reviews are just a reflection of the fact that some people will continue to argue null points regardless of how outdated and invalid they are. In a world where the vast majority of new releases are linked to one online platform or another, I feel very sorry for you and your 'morale high ground' attitude.

Posted on 27 Mar 2013 05:37:57 GMT
Mr. Mulgrave says:
"If Steam were to ever go down (forever), your expensive frisbee will be cracked and available for you to play." I would assume it's already cracked. If Steam goes down I'll have an expensive frisbee + a crack from some random hacker. I would rather a CD that works.

"If this game weren't on Steam and you lost the disk, you would no longer 'own it' and have to buy another." Of course I would, I lost the disc like an idiot and if I want to play it I'll have to get another copy. If Steam goes down it isn't my fault, it is Steams fault, it is the publishers fault, and I can't do anything about it except break the law and pirate/crack it.

"Not since the beginning of video game time did you ever own the software, you simply owned a license to play it." Yes, but older games you owned the licence to play indefinitely, these days you can play it for as long as Steam decides. They can do whatever they want with it and the user can do absolutely nothing about it because they make us sign a ridiculous agreement which strangles any rights we have.

"These 'it's on Steam so instant 1 star' reviews are just a reflection of the fact that some people will continue to argue null points regardless of how outdated and invalid they are." The points are not null, neither are they outdated or invalid. The fact that people so blindly allow and defend this company and other companies to control them the way that they do is to me mindboggling.

"In a world where the vast majority of new releases are linked to one online platform or another, I feel very sorry for you and your 'morale high ground' attitude." Just because it is prevalent in the mainstream, doesn't mean it is a good thing or that it should continue. Thanks for your empathy, but I will be able to play the games I paid for in perpetuity, so I should be fine.

Posted on 23 Apr 2013 19:40:20 BDT
I agree with Mr. Mulgrave.

There is a workaround if you have a mac. But if you're running the games on Windows then you will ALWAYS have to activate it on steam first.

I buy physical copies of games for my collection. The fact that once you activate a game on steam it is forever linked to your account and can never be transfered is so annoying.

Its absolutely ridiculous. I intend to submit a complaint to Daedalic.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Jun 2013 20:11:26 BDT
This debate on Steam could go on forever. The truth of the matter, is that Amazon should specify in the description the fact it uses Steam. Frankly I'm surprised it uses Steam, Daedalic games usually go DRM-Free. And Lornie, you should respect other people's opinions, despite being against your beliefs. Besides, this is a review for the entire product, not just the game.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.3 out of 5 stars (9 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
£24.99 £4.99
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,540,045