Customer Review

38 of 70 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Two Faulty units !!, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kindle Paperwhite, 6" High Resolution Display with Next-Gen Built-in Light, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Out the box this is faulty.

There is 5 dots that glow, even when on text and around 30-40 scattered very small black dots on the screen.

I preordered months ago, but as they are sold out have to wait 4 days for a replacement.

(Edit: From the comments below it seems other have had the same issue, so it seems this is not a one off faulty unit as i thought. Looking at Amazon's US site, many there have had the same issue also.)
(UPDATE: My replacement came, only 2 glowing dots...... right in the middle of the screen, soooo disappointed. Not only that, where the bezel meets the plastic backing i can see light coming out, so poor build quality is still an issue it seems)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 9 Oct 2013 19:03:25 BDT
This is not review. If it is faulty contact customer services and return it for refund.

Posted on 9 Oct 2013 20:32:10 BDT
SwordSwingin says:
Mine too has 2 dots on the screen, 1 of which is quite bright, replacement on the way. They didn't say it will be 4 days to me.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2013 12:42:14 BDT
It's a valid review in the sense it provides insight into the next round of inherent faults. If you look at the Amazon.com site, where the device has been on sale longer, one reviewer states:

"The first batch has screen defects. I'm sure not all of them do, and there will be tons of happy customers out there, but I've purchased two directly from Amazon, and one from a big box retailer, and all 3 had screen defects that cause pinpricks of light shine up through the screen in one or two places. On some they were only visible from certain angles, and on some they were very immediately evident."

Why negative Kindle reviews get so heavily downvoted both here and in the US and particularly on matters such as build quality I couldn't possibly speculate.

Posted on 10 Oct 2013 12:54:09 BDT
Last edited by the author on 10 Oct 2013 12:54:57 BDT
ZC21 says:
I know, i dont understand why a negative comment gets voted down so much either. I do not agree that a review which states issues with the screen that many others have had also, as not being a review. So it is only a review if the product works perfectly? should defective units, which there are clearly many of not be mentioned in reviews?

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2013 14:55:16 BDT
Last edited by the author on 11 Oct 2013 11:40:08 BDT
P. Mccormick says:
I don't understand why this has been downvoted so much either. How is this not a review of the product? It's not a pointless review solely of Amazon's service like some of the other reviews here, it's a review based on experience of the actual product. Was it supposed to be reviewed with the problems glossed over?
Isn't it better for potential purchasers to be made aware of any problems with the Kindle itself? What I would like to know is how widespread the problem is.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2013 14:57:19 BDT
ZC21 says:
I have the replacement coming Saturday. I will update here to let you know what the replacement is like :-)

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Oct 2013 22:10:00 BDT
HP Sauce says:
Au contraire, this is PRECISELY the sort of review every level-headed buyer needs. The bright dots problem has been reported numerous times on the U.S. site. Had every buyer been daft enough to overlook and not report that sort of obvious defect then nobody would be any the wiser.

Posted on 11 Oct 2013 23:59:21 BDT
SwordSwingin says:
My replacement had 1 tiny light speck still, but it isnt bad enough to be noticeable you have to look for it to find it, where as the first one had a bright point at the top which you couldn't miss, it is pathetic really. People say "but Amazon are great theyll send you a new one" which is all well and good but nobody wants to have to keep having a new one sent and sending one back, they shouldn't have these issues to begin with.

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Oct 2013 18:05:53 BDT
P. R. Luck says:
It isn't really 'downvoted', it's just not found useful and that is because people know there will be some faulty devices so a 'review' that is really just a fault report is not what they want.

Posted on 29 Oct 2013 11:09:07 GMT
Dean Evans says:
I've had 4 PW's now, issues: -

- Cracked screen
- 20+ dots of light and blotches at the bottom of the page.
- 2 x displays mounted at angles, so the lines slope downwards from left to right.

Kobo Aura HD for me. I'm never usually an early adopter as I expect things like this, but not to this degree. I wanted the PW due to the large array of books direct from Amazon and a reduced need to convert books like you need to on the Aura HD, but I'm going to have to spend the extra 30 for hopefully a higher degree of quality and reliability.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (3,755 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (2,871)
4 star:
 (508)
3 star:
 (184)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (121)
 
 
 
Used & New from: 108.92
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 7,270