Customer Review

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I found a way to mask the taste!, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Hemp Protein Powder Natural 2.5kg (Personal Care)
I used to work out until about a year ago on a regular basis. My protein of choice at the time was whey simply because it is so popular. However after recently deciding to get back into shape I decided to do some research into proteins to see what other options I have. Hemp protein immediately stood out for me because of all the good stuff in it (all known amino acids, good source of unsaturated fat, vitamins and minerals) and as soon as I read about it I knew I had to have it, there was absolutely no question.

Since hemp protein usually contains less than 50% protein I decided to buy Pea Protein Isolate, which contains 80% protein (17.50 for 2.5 Kg), to take alongside Hemp protein in a 50:50 mixture (30 grams of each to give almost 40 grams total of pure natural protein per serving). This helps cut costs and keeps me from taking too much hemp powder after workouts as clearly a 30 gram serving alone (14 grams of protein) after an intense workout was never going to be enough.

But let me just say one thing: Nothing, and I mean nothing, will prepare you for the absolutely horrendous taste of unflavoured hemp protein. I used to drink whey protein in water sometimes when I ran out of milk and didn't struggle to down that, so that's really saying something about what I can stomach. But this hemp is on another level. Mixed with water it is akin to taking some mud, throwing it in water and drinking. That's the kind of taste and texture it gives.

I literally couldn't down the first serving I mixed up without gagging, so I ended up throwing it away. The next day I decided to try and tackle that God-forsaken mixture again, but this time with an apple and some honey mixed in. This time I was able to get it down (even though I was gagging the whole way through) but the aftertaste was the worst I've ever had in my life. It wouldn't go away for hours and I felt queasy the whole time. I tried that mixture once more before I stopped completely and decided that if I don't find a way to make it taste at least bearable I was going to chuck it in the bin and go back to good old whey.

After scouring what little sources there are on hemp protein on the internet I took note of a bunch of recipes and decided to try something rather simple in a last ditch effort to make this work. Here is what I mixed in a blender:

2 bananas
1 tablespoon of peanut butter
A little skimmed milk, just enough to get a thick shake

That's it. I added a little milk and blended it into a thick and smooth mixture. Then I poured the thick and creamy mixture into very large glass and threw in my proteins, carbs and creatine and mixed with a fork while adding a little water constantly to get the perfect consistency.

And my word did that do the trick, it actually tasted enjoyable! Seriously. I could imagine adding a scoop of chocolate ice cream and some ice to the mixture and sitting back and watch TV while I drink it through a straw. There was still a tiny hint of that disgusting hemp taste left over but I'd say about 95% of the taste was masked. Problem was solved so I could focus on making gains rather than worrying about how I'm going to get my post-workout shake to go down and stay down.

As for the physical results: I don't know if it's because of my new routine or the hemp but certainly I'm seeing instant gains. After 2 weeks of working out I can see a MAJOR difference in my body. I've burned off a little of the stubborn fat on the lower abs and under my chin and have put on real lean muscle wherever I've worked on it. I've even stopped taking 1 day breaks between workouts and now do it all continuously before taking a couple of days rest. I generally feel better and sleep like a baby for some reason as well - most likely down to the hemp.

So if you bought the hemp protein hoping to make real progress but were put off by the taste, I urge you to try that mixture of 2 bananas and peanut butter mixed into skimmed milk and water. It really does taste good and even if you find it doesn't, you'll at least be able to down it without gagging. And plus you can add your own touch to that recipe by adding some nuts of your choice or even an extra fruit; the sky is the limit. The foundation is there to make the recipe your own. But the best part about it is even if you don't add your own touch to it, it will still taste good regardless.

EDIT (19/11/2012) -

It's been almost 3 months since my review and I feel it's necessary to write an update. My verdict after 3 months of taking Hemp Protein is: Brilliant. I feel bad for those who gave up on Hemp because of the taste, and similarly for the people who are unwilling to give such a quality protein a try.

First the physical benefits: I have seen some amazing gains (I'm chiselled :D) and thanks to the overall health benefits of this protein and the complete amino acid profile I have changed the way I work out and eat for good. I now work out first thing in the mornings for 3-4 days in a row (90-120 minute sessions) before taking a day or two rest. And it feels completely natural to do that. I've lost 8 Kg of pure fat in 3 months (down from 80) and plan to shed the fat even more until I reach around 66. I think this wouldn't have been possible without the pure and natural mixture of Hemp and Pea proteins. Oh, and I've been on 1600 calories per day as well which has helped a lot. But a diet like that simply wouldn't be possible without having good quality supplements and the right choice of healthy meals. Before you roll your eyes, I can honestly say I haven't struggled with this and have only experienced a raging appetite twice now, both occasions I avoided indulging and ate just over my maintenance limit.

On certain days when I haven't had time to fix up a shake after a workout and have had to go out before replenishing my body's essentials, I've had to settle for other sources of protein. Mainly meat (chicken and beef) and I've found that the recovery process was definitely hampered as a result. My muscles didn't build back up as strong as they do with Hemp and I suffered some aches as well at times, whereas I haven't once felt any aches or pain after downing my shakes, even when I started out and there was barely any muscle on me. I don't even stretch before or after workouts.

I've also adjusted the shake for myself as I found the mixture I stated before was bulking me up more than I would like because of all the calories in it (roughly 700-800 per shake with that mixture). I now simply throw in my proteins and carbs into a mixture of 1 banana and 100ml of skimmed milk and some water for texture which gives me a total of around 450 calories. And do you know what? It tastes great. Really. Maybe I've just gotten accustomed to the taste or maybe 1 banana was all it needed from the beginning but I really enjoy my shakes. On my rest days I find myself craving the shake.

Well, that's all from me on this matter. It's truly a shame that not enough people get to enjoy something that is so beneficial and good quality. Even when you take away the workout element the fibre, unsaturated fats, vitamins and minerals are a good reason for anyone to incorporate this into their diets somehow. But I'm loving it and I hope I've at least helped others discover a way to get this into their system and enjoy the benefits I'm enjoying from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 27 Mar 2013 16:30:18 GMT
That's a great review. Cheers - helped me make my mind up!

Posted on 22 Jun 2013 23:49:28 BDT
AMAZING review - thank you so much!!! I am going to get the pea protein you suggest aswell.

Posted on 16 Apr 2014 10:40:39 BDT
Katie says:
Great detailed review!

Posted on 25 Jul 2014 18:04:41 BDT
U Raj says:
Thanks for the review. Have taken up your combination of hemp and pea protein isolate!

Posted on 5 Sep 2014 17:46:12 BDT
Rohan Diego says:
Just out of interest, if the Pea Protein Isolate is 80% protein why is it necessary to mix it with the Hemp protein?
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (106 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
47.99 43.90
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 35,773