Customer Review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 9 Oct 2012
This review is from: Nightclubbing (Audio CD)
I CANT UNDERSTAND WHY THERE NEVER HAS BEEN A 2 CD DELUXE EDITION OF THIS MASTERPIECE THERE ARE A LOT OF 12 INCH VERSIONS THAT NOT HAS BEEN RELEASED ON CD 1.WALKING IN THE RAIN EXTENDED 12 MIX 2.PULL UP TO THE BUMPER HAS 4 OR 5 EXTENDED VERSIONS 3.USE ME HAS A LONG VERSION ( HAS BEEN RELEASED ON 2CD COMPILATION ) 4.IVE SEEN THAT FACE BEFORE 12 INCH EXTENDED MIX 5.FEEL UP 12 INCH MIX 6.DEMOLATION MAN LONG VERSION ( HAS BEEN RELEASED ON CD ) ALL OF BOB MARLEYS ALBUMS NEARLY HAS BEEN DELUXED BY UNIVERSAL WHY NOT THIS LANDMARK MASTERPIECE ALBUM THERE HAS BEEN NEVER A GRACE JONES DELUXE EDITION OF ANY OF HER ALBUMS AND THERE ARE SO MANY 12 INCH SINGELS AND B-SIDES ALTERNATE TAKES WHY DO RECORD COMPANIES ONLY DELUXE ROCK ALBUMS NEARLY NEVER DISCO EXCEPT DONNA SUMMER-BAD GIRLS, DIANA ROSS-DIANA THINK IF ALL GRACES ALBUMS GOT THE DELUXE TREAT WAU I THINK IT WOULD NEVER HAPPEN !!!!! does anyone know why ?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 13 Oct 2012 02:08:50 BDT
S Gilham says:
I quite agree. Universal were going to release a 2CD Deluxe Edition back in May 2006 and then in 2001 to celebrate it's 30th Anniversary and still nothing. There is so much rubbish that these record companies thrust onto the market now with a lot of 'Bodge Job' attempts at Deluxe Editions. You might be interested to know that you can obtain some of the various mixes on compilations found on Amazon etc and here they are:

Pull Up To The Bumper (Party Mix) (UK 1981 12") and "Peanut Butter" (Pull Up To The Bumper - Instrumental) can be found on Sly & Robbie - Ultimate Collection: In Good Company CD.
Pull Up To The Bumper (Remixed Version) (UK 12" Walking In The Rain B-Side) can be found on 12"/80s and Grand 12 Inches 9 (Although incorrectly labeled as "Unedited Extended Album Version".
Pull Up To The Bumper (Paul "Groucho" Smykle Remix) (UK 1985 12") can be found on Dance Classics - Pop Edition Vol. 4 (Although incorrectly labeled as "Extended Version".
Pull Up To The Bumper (Untitled Version), sounds like an unedited album version with a running time of 5:48, can be found on World Of Dance The 80's (and not the 4:40 album version as one reviewer has stated).
I've Seen That Face Before (Libertango) (12" Version) can be found on Grand 12 Inches 7.

That just leaves, I've Seen That Face Before (Libertango) (Spanish Version) and (Portuguese Version), Walking In The Rain (12" and 7" Remixes), Feel Up (12" Version) and (Larry Levan 12" Remix) unreleased on CD.

As you mentioned, Demolition Man (Long Version), Use Me (Long Version) and Walking The Rain (Remix) can be found on the Private Life: Compass Point Sessions 2CD.

Anyway, it is a rather costly way of finding a lot of the mixes but I thought it might be useful to you.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Oct 2012 09:30:46 BDT
music lover says:
thank you very much but why cant they release it on a Grace Jones cd ?????

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Oct 2012 22:35:07 BDT
S Gilham says:
I think they will have to at some point as so many people are requesting its release. I've been trying to find a customer services email address within the Island Records / Def Jam Music Group to make suggestions but to no avail.

Posted on 15 Feb 2013 19:15:06 GMT
K. Brown says:
There are lots of albums from Universal Island Records back catalogue that have not even had a remastered ORIGINAL CD release.....Grace Jones is a perfect example......... Warm Leatherette, Nightclubbing and Living My Life......these three LPs are all superb with the brilliant Compass Point house band delivering tight rhythms and ALL three of the above LPs DESERVE the 2CD DELUXE treatment.............so will someone at Island Records get their finger out and PLEASE get all of these released on Deluxe sets..............no more Grace Jones Best of's.......we WANT these albums with ALL the 12" mixes

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Feb 2013 23:43:58 GMT
music lover says:
Yes all the 12 inch versions plus b-sides etc. i think it will never happen!!!!!!!!

Posted on 12 Mar 2014 16:21:02 GMT
moog_man says:
Whilst it won't satisfy most of our expectations, Universal are releasing a double CD "Deluxe" pack. It drops on 28th April.
Nightclubbing
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (56 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,454,184