Customer Review

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Congrats to Smith for having the b***s to swap genres, 27 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ruins (Vintage) (Mass Market Paperback)
I think some of the poor reviews here have been spawned by fans of "A Simple Plan" (or thrillers like A Simple Plan) gnashing their teeth because "The Ruins" turned out to be not what they expected. I mean, how dare Smith have the gall to not only write a different kind of novel to ASP, but to completely swap genres as well.
This is not a thriller in the Silence of the Lambs mold (the blurb on the cover is misleading to the point of being false advertising as King's quote refers to ASP and not The Ruins); it is not a suspense tale either, instead it is an out and out supernatural horror novel which will appeal to fans of King, Herbert and Koontz. Is it far-fetched? Of course it is, but then so are haunted hotels and towns populated by vampires. I'll not go into the plot as others have done so already, but I will say I enjoyed it immensely and look forward to Smith's next novel, whatever genre he chooses to give us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

3.1 out of 5 stars (41 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Manchester, England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 105,447