Customer Review

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good teaching - but not much that you'd want to wear, 18 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Knitty Gritty: Knitting for the Absolute Beginner (Paperback)
This book explains things really well and is very English, unlike most of the other books out there. What disappointed me was that there wasn't much in it that I actually wanted to make. Even in the professional pictures some of the stuff looks ill fitting and frankly a bit rubbish (fancy knitting your boyfriend a woolly necktie anyone??), also there are some basic layout mistakes where it's easy to follow the wrong steps when taking a pattern from one page to the next because the description of where to go next is just plain wrong.

However in terms of the actual techniques taught though it's fine and gives very clear explanations - what I've ended up doing is making things from the patterns in the Chicks With Sticks guide but using the explanations from here - the techniques taught are basically the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 18 Feb 2011 12:51:04 GMT
Aneeta says:
Hi there,

I'm glad you found the book useful in learning to knit. That was my main aim when writing Knitty Gritty.

I won't be knitting the tie for my boyfriend as he wants to knit it himself! The pink one in the photo is my Dad's and my ace photographer requested I knit him one as a thank you for all his work...it's been very popular : )

Also, all the patterns in the book are 'tried and tested' by beginner knitters so I could be sure all my workshops and patterns were user-friendly. Perhaps some of the items aren't as professional looking as if I'd made them myself, but the idea was (as this is mainly a learning book) to make the projects acheivable. I've had lots of wailing knitters complain that they couldn't reproduce things they'd seen in other books and I wanted to avoid that in Knitty Gritty.

If any of the layout is confusing, please feel free to contact me and I'll try and help clear things up for you. I'd be interested to know where you find the book 'plain wrong' as the patterns were all tested by beginner knitters and no-one pointed out any continuity errors.

Happy knitting!

Aneeta x
Author of Knitty Gritty
aneeta@knittingsos.co.uk

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Feb 2011 13:29:21 GMT
JAK says:
Hello!

Thanks for the response. Nothing personal with the tie; it's clearly a matter of taste but my partner wouldn't wear one and I suspect he is not alone. Review is my honest opinion and if people reading it like the sound of a woolly tie then so much the better for them!

Re the continuity errors - book is currently in my baby's bedroom and he's asleep so I can't give you page references (if I wait til he wakes up I'll never get round to replying!) but the biggest problem I had was with the mittens. When pattern carries over from one page to the next, the columns for the different sizes are switched around, meaning you pick up the wrong thing when you get to that point. I spotted what had happened and was able to correct it but it was annoying. Also somewhere else (sorry no idea where) there's a point where a page reference is supposed to be inserted but instead it just says 'xxx' or something like that. I can't remember if there were any more, I wrote this over a year ago and haven't used the book recently, but those stick in my mind.

Hope that helps you.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Aug 2011 20:59:05 BDT
Catherine says:
I have made the mittens and didn't find any errors, but I did find it slightly confusing that the child and adult patterns are not separate. What I did was photocopy just the bits I needed - which is easier than carrying the book around anyway, and means I didn't accidentally switch to the child's pattern.

Posted on 3 Sep 2011 18:44:04 BDT
Anna Z. says:
I disagree on "projects not being wearable".

I have learned to knit with this book and created about 7 beautiful works from it and gave them all as Christmas presents to my loved once. They all found it very useful and I see them wearing and using it very often :)

In reply to an earlier post on 27 Oct 2011 20:51:33 BDT
Haze says:
I've made the mittens and nearly everything else in the book and ive found the layout and instructions to be extremely easy to understand. Absoluely no errors at all - everything fits - well like a glove:-) I wouldnt pay any attention to this review if you are interested in buying this book because it is fab!

Posted on 20 Nov 2011 12:16:27 GMT
JAK says:
Ok, to address the issues raised especially re the layout mistakes:

'Mittens' 0n page 88 instructions say 'Follow the right-hand page for instructions for Child's Mittens and page 89 says 'Follow the left hand page for instructions on ladies' mittens'. This is the wrong way round: Child's mittens are on the LEFT and ladies' on the RIGHT throughout the pattern. The subheadings are correct so maybe I'm the only person who has gotten confused by this but it is an error none the less and I managed to mess up as a result when I went from one page to the next.
Project 3 Knit Hats page 52: Under picture 'Baby hat with simple flower' caption says 'See P.xx for flower instructions'. Should say page 74.

Neither of these is the end of the world but I only made 3 things from the book and found layout mistakes on two of them, so I have docked a star in my review for this. The other star is docked because a lot of the stuff isn't to my personal taste, but I'm very glad to hear that other people like it and I'm still glad I bought the book, just trying to be as honest as possible.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Nov 2011 12:19:50 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 30 Sep 2012 13:40:55 BDT]

Posted on 10 Dec 2011 10:54:35 GMT
Last edited by the author on 10 Dec 2011 10:58:23 GMT
Thank you for the laugh!
I Have had a quick look at the 'look inside' feature on Amazon and can see that it has some great step-by-step detail. I like that it is quintessentially English (for a change), but maybe the book needs a revision with input from other UK knitting designers to vamp up the patterns?

Posted on 6 Jul 2012 18:36:35 BDT
G O'Malley says:
Agree with you absolutely about the choice of projects. Though for me, just too much stuff for babies and little ones. As to the tie, well nobody in my family wears a tie so that's definitely not going to be made. I can't fault the teaching though. like you, I found it really clear and I was knitting in hours having never done it before.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (277 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
£14.99 £13.49
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 487,321