Customer Review

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Two Of Day Albums-Oh, What A Beautiful Dream, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Eight Classic Albums: Volume 2 (Audio CD)
Doris Day
"Eight Classic Albums Vol. 2" has
The 8 Classic Albums on 4 CDs at under a fiver make this a really great buy.

Just like its sister CD set Volume One
Eleven Classic Albums
the CDs, inserts and discs have minimal information on them but the old saying 'at this price you can't complain'?

The Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.

The albums are

"Day By Night (1957)",
"Cuttin' Capers (1959)",
"Hooray For Hollywood Volume 1 (1958)",
"Hooray For Hollywood Volume 2 (1959)", "What Every Girl Should Know (1960)",
"Show Time (1960)",
"Bright And Shiny (1961)" and
"I Have Dreamed (1961)".

The collection is on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case.
BUT like a whole lot of releases there is no track listing so I have provided one in the hope that it will be of both use and interest to the buyer.

Again if you spot any mistakes.. just add a comment and I will adjust and credit you with the correction. Honestly!
We all want to make our choices and viewing more pleasurable?

Track List:
[Disc 1]
Day By Night
1. I See Your Face Before Me
2. Close Your Eyes
3. The Night We Called It A Day
4. Dream A Little Dream Of Me
5. Under A Blanket Of Blue
6. You Do Something To Me
7. Stars Fell On Alabama
8. Moon Song
9. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams (And Dream Your Troubles Away)
10. Soft As The Starlight
11. Moonglow
12. The Lamp Is Low
Cuttin' Capers
13. Cuttin' Capers
14. Steppin' Out With My Baby
15. Makin' Whoopee
16. The Lady's In Love With You
17. Why Don't We Do This More Often
18. Let's Take A Walk Around The Block
19. I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
20. Get Out And Get Under The Moon
21. Fit As A Fiddle (And Ready For Love)
22. Me Too (Ho-Ha! Ho-Ha!)
23. I Feel Like A Feather In The Breeze
24. Let's Fly Away

[Disc 2]
Hooray For Hollywood Volume 1
1. Hooray For Hollywood
2. Cheek To Cheek
3. It's Easy To Remember
4. The Way You Look Tonight
5. I'll Remember April
6. Blues In The Night
7. Over The Rainbow
8. Love Is Here To Stay
9. In The Still Of The Night
10. Night And Day
11. Easy To Love
12. I Had The Craziest Dream
Hooray For Hollywood Volume 2
13. I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
14. Soon
15. That Old Black Magic
16. You'll Never Know
17. A Foggy Day
18. It Might As Well Be Spring
19. Nice Work If You Can Get It
20. Three Coins In The Fountain
21. Let's Face The Music And Dance
22. Pennies From Heaven
23. Oh, But I Do

[Disc 3]
What Every Girl Should Know
1. What Every Girl Should Know
2. Mood Indigo
3. When You're Smiling
4. A Fellow Needs A Girl
5. My Kinda Love
6. What's The Use Of Wond'rin
7. Something Wonderful
8. A Hundred Years From Today
9. You Can't Have Everything
10. Not Only Should You Love Him
11. What Does A Women Do
12. The Everlasting Arms
Show Time
13. Show Time Part 1
14. I Got The Sun In The Morning
15. Ohio
16. I Love Paris
17. When I'm Not Near The Boy I Love
18. People Will Say We're In Love
19. I've Grown Accustomed To His Face
20. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
21. They Say It's Wonderful
22. A Wonderful Guy
23. On The Street Where You Live
24. The Sound Of Music - Show Time Part 2

[Disc 4]
Bright And Shiny
1. Bright And Shiny
2. I Want To Be Happy
3. Keep Smilin', Keep Laughin', Be Happy
4. Singin' In The Rain
5. Gotta Feelin'
6. Happy Talk
7. Make Someone Happy
8. Ridin' High
9. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
10. Clap Yo' Hands
11. Stay With The Happy People
12. Twinkle And Shine
I Have Dreamed
13. I Believe In Dreams
14. I'll Buy That Dream
15. My Ship
16. All I Do Is Dream Of You
17. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
18. We'll Love Again
19. I Have Dreamed
20. Periwinkle Blue
21. Someday I'll Find You
22. You Stepped Out Of A Dream
23. Oh, What A Beautiful Dream
24. Time To Say Goodnight
25. My Guy Glenn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in


Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 20 Apr 2013 18:31:08 BDT
Loved your fantastic review but I am intrigued by the final track 'My Guy Glenn' as I have never heard of it? I like to think I have virtually every track Doris has recorded (with a few exceptions), so any info on this would be great, My email address is:

Bob Cooper

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Apr 2013 19:32:43 BDT
Glenn Cook says:
Cheers for the really nice comments.

A confession...

My Guy Glenn is a spoof..

I found that people were cutting and pasting my listings including my typos.

That's OK But I always include a last track with part of my name in it together with a warning NOT to cut and paste the last track as its a spoof.

Most people who just copy the listings to sell on E Bay and elsewhere never bother to check.
ONE big company has included my 'extra track' on its listings!!

On another note there always seems to be at least one person who always gives a negative rating.
This puzzles me.
How can knowing what is actually on the Cds Not be of use?

Hope this helps?

‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details


4.9 out of 5 stars (7 customer reviews)
5 star:
4 star:
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Add to basket Add to wishlist

Glenn Cook

Location: South Cave, near Hull UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 7