Customer Review

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking film, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Le Week-End [DVD] (DVD)
As someone in late middle age in a long relationship myself, I found this film very moving - both true and well made - and it has fine performances from Jim Broadbent and Lindsay Duncan. Few films explore this territory and my only criticism is that it wasn't quite courageous enough.. there were only hints at deeper darker aspects of the relationship. I don't understand reviewers who complain they don't like the characters - they probably wouldn't much like King Lear, either. This film is brave enough to look at how unpleasant we can all be, even (especially?) at times to those we're closest to. It's also about the point in life when we realise this is all there is and we are who we are - there are no romantic endings. That's potentially liberating, rather than depressing.. hence the dance at the end. To me, Nick and Meg are human and satisfyingly complex - give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 18 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 Nov 2013 21:30:16 GMT
GlynLuke says:
I agree wholeheartedly. Good on you!

Posted on 24 Nov 2013 12:48:03 GMT
Last edited by the author on 24 Nov 2013 12:48:30 GMT
Zoonie says:
Probably would not like King Lear? Eh? King Lear is an enduring classic, whereas this film is forgettable nonsense. I have seen Lear three times and hope to have more opportunities. Saw Le Weekend once and that was more than enough.

Posted on 22 Dec 2013 07:38:02 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
Thank you for a sensitive and balanced review of an interesting film which has clearly struck a few raw nerves in other quarters. I find the emotional responses to Duncan's character ( an extraordinarily fine performance by the way) fascinating. Referential paranoia perhaps? Even her most extreme acts are totally understandable and demonstrate her enormous vulnerability. In all events Amazon "reviewers" should learn to respect the views of others even if they do not coincide with their own.Perhaps if the company were to only allow positive voting (and ascribed the correct reviews in future to the intended products - which they do not do) then things might improve considerably for all concerned. Onwards and upwards.
A.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Dec 2013 09:57:06 GMT
GlynLuke says:
Couldn`t agree more, Adrian. I can`t understand why so many of the reviewers (here, anyway) dislike Duncan`s character & the film itself.
Can`t help feeling one or two of them are simply missing the point...

Posted on 28 Jan 2014 13:01:51 GMT
R. W. Ward says:
One can only assume you don't see many films. This was a bad film on every level.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2014 18:19:46 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
Please understand that others are allowed to have opinions as well as yourself. As the former producer of Radio 4's Arts Magazine Kaleidiscope, a reviewer for Cinema Two, the Film & Theatre Editor for MixMag etc etc the author of 10 books on the media and a member of BAFTA who sees over 200 movies a year and who votes for the BAFTA awards I really do see quite a few films and know just a little bit about the film industry - so please don't patronise! Many people have found worthwhile qualities in this motion picture - if you haven't so be it. But others most certainly have!

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2014 19:04:55 GMT
GlynLuke says:
Yes, isn`t it odd how so many here hate this film so much. Can it possibly be an inverted snobbery re the middle classes? Surely not...

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2014 19:06:57 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
It's the intensity of response which is so interesting!
Onwards and upwards!
A.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2014 19:18:08 GMT
R. W. Ward says:
I perfectly understand that others are allowed to have opinions thank you, and respect the views of others. Where did I say otherwise? Having said that, as someone with an illustrious pedigree in the arts your support for what was so clearly a thoroughly bad film - writing, casting, acting, directing - is frankly baffling. I wouldn't have been so hostile to the Le Week-End had it not been for that fact that critics, maybe yourself one of them, so unanimously over-praised this very poor film thus seriously misleading the cinema going public.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2014 19:18:52 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 28 Jan 2014 19:19:16 GMT]
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

2.8 out of 5 stars (114 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
15.99 5.49
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: sawley, uk

Top Reviewer Ranking: 147,105