Customer Review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "As you can see, this ain't an easy village.", 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chaw [DVD] (DVD)
A young cop working in Seoul has become disillusioned and is looking to move on, he ends up getting a transfer to a small village called Sam-mae-ri, "the crimeless village". It wasn't really the transfer he was looking for, but "anywhere" was put down as a joke as his second choice of location. Believing he's moving to a village where nothing ever happens and expecting to spend his days watching tractors and fishing, he's surprised to discover a murder investigation has just begun, when body parts are found in the mountains. It soon becomes clear that the killer is an animal, and it's confirmed when a huge boar drags away a man in front of witnesses. Pretty soon a big game hunter is called in to kill the boar, and he almost instantly kills one. With the village celebrating the death of the boar in a big barn, the real killer boar that is at least three times the size of the dead one crashes the party and wreaks havoc. After the barn attack, a group of five which includes the cop, a detective, the grandfather of one of the boar's victims, the hunter and a scientist, head into the mountains to kill the beast.

The acting is really quite good, some of them are very over-the-top, but it does appear to be purposeful. Je-mun Yun is probably the most recognisable member of the cast, he plays the hunter brought in to kill the boar, he's had pretty big roles in The Host, The Good, the Bad, the Weird and Mother, all three are great movies. What I really liked about this film was some of the very wacky characters in small roles, there's a crazy woman who has adopted a young boy that wanders around laughing hysterically, the cop's mother is also completely bonkers, the chief of police is a bumbling idiot, the friend of the scientist keeps getting injured, and then there's young women in a bar that think nothing of smashing a bottle over someone's head. I can definitely see why some people wouldn't like these characters, but I found them fascinating and enjoyed watching them. Most of the main characters start off quite unlikeable, but become much more likeable by the end of the movie.

Chaw is well directed by Jeong-won Shin, who earlier made his directorial debut with the hard to find, Sisily 2km. I consider myself to be reasonably well versed in Korean films, and know that a funny film can have horrific moments, and serious films can have moments of craziness, but I was still surprised how much comedy was in Chaw. The humour starts right from the first scene when the chief of police falls and then rolls down a hill, followed by an over-the-top scream when he sees a dead body. This kind of humour happens consistently throughout the film, and may turn some people off, though I thought most of it worked really well and was genuinely funny. The cinematography is great with plenty of beautiful shots of the village and the mountains, especially the daytime scenes earlier in the film. The CGI used to create the giant boar is well done, it doesn't always look and move completely realistically, but it always looks good. It's not a particularly gory film, but the blood and gore looks good when it is used.

Something that tends to annoy me a little when it comes to animal attack films, is that almost all of them are compared to Jaws, whether it's a sea based creature or a creature on land. Most of the time there's very little reason Jaws needs to be mentioned when talking about most animal attack films, but in this case, it does, as Jaws was clearly an inspiration for this film. We have someone killed just as the village is preparing to welcome many people which will earn the village a fortune, there's the officials that risk lives by refusing to have the mountains and festival shut down as the lure of money is more important to them, there's a much smaller boar that is killed originally which is thought to be the killer and the exact same process is done to prove that it isn't, and then there's the people that go and hunt the creature, a cop, a hunter, a scientist, it's all very similar to Jaws, including the actual ending as well. To back it up even further, the film was released in America as Chawz, in attempt to cash in on its similarities to Jaws. I also definitely see a clear homage to Predator with the end credits, the music is very similar and each main character is given a moment where they look at the camera and smile or laugh. I've always loved that ending in Predator, and I loved it here too. I've read other reviews that say the film was boring, at just under two hours long, it probably is twenty minutes longer than it needed to be, but it easily held my attention from beginning to end.

The DVD from Optimum Home Releasing is pretty good, the picture quality is great, but the only extra is a trailer. It's in Korean and has English subtitles. Chaw is a really fun, fast paced film that is very entertaining, but it isn't as good as Jaws which is a five star classic, and it's also not as good as the bigger, more famous Korean monster movie, The Host. It is however the best film about a killer boar that I've seen after Razorback, which still remains an underrated classic. It's better than the French film, Prey, and the American film, Pig Hunt. When I initially bought and watched Chaw about a year ago, I actually would have given it three stars, but having watched it again, I enjoyed it much more than I did the first time. It's probably something to do with me expecting a much more serious film and getting a black comedy, whereas this time I knew exactly what to expect. I had a lot of fun revisiting the film, and as long as you know what you're getting into, I'd definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 1 Mar 2014 19:01:48 GMT
I had to stop here first. What I love about your reviews of foreign films (especially foreign horror) as that you know them so well, so you immediately transfer that to your reader, and possibly respective buyer, in your review, and that's so important. So glad you got this one on here, and equally glad you gave it what I did. It's no way a three star film, and I'd give it four even if three meant 'good' instead of just OK, because it's better than good. Also loved you echoing my important point about it being so unfair, unnecessary and unhelpful to compare every animal-attacker to 'Jaws' (again they conveniently ignore the fact 'The Birds' came first, and while the general renascence will be thrilled at the numerous similarities to 'Jaws' this has, not that they should feel smug, the movie more than congenially admits it) 'The Birds' happened on land, making it in general more likely relative to certain on other animal attackers. And again, 'Jaws' certainly didn't inspire 'Frogs', which came a full two years or so beforehand.

Also spot on are the points you share with me on the movie's length being utterly palatable, and that, while not exactly a match for 'The Host' (itself almost the height of non-US animal attackers) it's the best killer boar film you've seen aside from 'Razorback', which I need to watch again. As it stands at the moment, while I pig both (sorry), 'Chaw' seems to have the upper tusks, but 'Razorback' still remains pig-cool. And, like me, nice one for dicing down those other two pig films, as 'Prey', while good enough, does have its missteps here and there. It has the kind of approach that fans would elevate higher, but it would, they go for the obvious alpha-male bull, and personally the warmer, and more humourous turns from the Korean actors in a better script for 'Chaw' do beat it. As for 'Pig Hunt', that thing might as well not have had the pig in it, and it remains an utterly resistible effort that smacks of any island-set cannibal horror from the eighties. Other new ones like 'Welcome To The Jungle', 'Paradise Lost' and 'Vinyan' fall into this territory-none of them animal attackers, and most of the time, 'Pig Hunt' is exactly like that. It's certainly bad.

What I feel I didn't do is sell the actual DVD itself, not just the film, my early reviews suffer from this, but of late I'm getting better, but you mentioning the photography and how many subtitles makes me recall I might have missed out, but you really stumped me over your concise mini-description of the different characters, which makes for spirited and hilarious reading, especially the smaller turns-the bonkers mother, girl smashing bottles over someone's head, accident prone scientist's friend, so on. Maybe if I'd watched it again, I'd have been able to separate the different members enough to mention them, but I was just so enamoured of the film, and annoyed by its lack of decent supportive reviews, I had to bang it out.

But I'm glad you didn't review it straight off, like you said, you would have given it three stars, and that would have surprised me, were it not for the fact I know you well enough to recall you often prefer a film the second time around, once any preconceived ideas are dumped on duplicate views. A sensible notion more people should go to films with, especially foreign ones, mind you getting some to view a foreign the film a first time is staggeringly hard enough, hence the pointless 'Blood Glacier' reviews. 'Chaw' hit so many high points that it pretty much defeated most things released around, especially all the wannabee piggers.

I think the humour, so markedly obvious, really made the movie fly, 'Prey' was too dour, obvious and mean-spirited with typcial family types hating each other in 'The Dead End' way and to be honest I'm tiring of this, does every family in a horror film, and under attack from something they often bring on themselves. ALWAYS hate each other. No matter how much humour there is, an animal attacker this still is, and any amount of serious when that Boar is working full-throttle. It's comedy that many 80's horrors used to exhibit whilst still being very much horror films. At least this delivers, it is a horror. If it was made in the US, it would be another cannibal wannabee like 'Pig Hunt' so thank God it wasn't.

Great stuff, marked you down, be over to 'Burning Bright' in a bit.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Mar 2014 01:17:05 GMT
West25 says:
I certainly hope someone reads my review and decides to take a chance on the film, I've hopefully explained the film well enough that people will have a very good idea as to whether they'll like it or not. I've only just realised how long this review actually is, I could and perhaps should have attempted to edit it down a little. I do feel that a little known foreign horror film like this is exactly the sort of film that does need a longer review, as there's far more people that'll think twice about ordering a film like this than a US horror. I've started to become really irritated by almost every film that features a killer animal being compared to Jaws when the films are completely different, so my mention of it here was to have a moan about it as much as letting anyone reading know about the actual similarities Jaws and this film has.

I don't think there's any question that the film is longer than it needed to be, but it's fun enough that I didn't really feel that it dragged in any places, but I can certainly see some getting a little bored. It was easy to mention The Host as there's so few Korean animal attack films, and Razorback is far and away the best boar movie, so that was an easy mention as well. I have a feeling my opinion of Prey may improve on a second viewing, as I expected a variety of killer animals and then realised we only had boars. Pig Hunt may as well have been called Deliverance 2: Squeal Like a Pig. It was just rednecks chasing after people for ages, then we got a pig in the final ten minutes. I may not have bothered at all if I'd known that beforehand.

There's not much to sell about the actual DVD itself to be fair, it looks lovely but the lack of extras was very disappointing. I only really gave those sort of mini-descriptions because I'm not all that familiar with the actors in most of those roles, normally I go into a little more detail about the actors themselves but I feel what I did here was adequate. It's characters like the nuts mother, crazy bar patron, accident-prone fella and the bumbling cop that really made this film for me, you don't really see characters like this in US horror films, certainly not done in a comedic way like we have here.

I very rarely review any film after watching it just once, normally I've seen the film at least twice exactly for the reason that opinions can change a little on a second viewing like it did with this film. It's too easy to miss things first time round, maybe be in the wrong mood, expect a different type of film, have other distractions. The family really not getting on has become a little tired hasn't it? I always tend to like a film family a lot more if they show that they at least actually care about each other, it's easier to root for them when the tough gets going. I actually thought there was a lot of humour even in the big scene when the boar attacks the barn, even right at the end the humour is still there. It still works as a suspenseful animal attack film even with all the humour, if anything I actually think the humour is what really makes this film as good as it is.

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Mar 2014 19:10:50 GMT
I wouldn't worry, I think your review says everything it needs to, not a sentence wasted, it's fine, you've done some longer reviews than this, and if people are going to be silly and ignore the film, than they'll do it whether you used your usual intelligent detailed prose or the anorexic few word sentence of the brain cell bereft. Hell yeah, if no one wants going to mention 'Psycho', 'Chainsaw', 'Black Christmas' about every slasher made sense, and ignore 'Reservoir Dogs', 'The Godfather' and other oldies when the stupid torture porn of 'Hostel' and much else, and aso brats too, no one should bring up 'Jaws' (not 'The Birds'?) for any animal attacker other than a blatantly rubbish and utter rip-off attempt, of which there haven't been too many (obviously stupid mountain-sized D-movie so-called rubber animals don't apply!)

I found the French 'Prey' better on a second viewing, but it still scuppered its potential (it could have been a smaller-scale 'The Day Of The Animals with that teasing and cheating cover) but just did the usual family feuds whilst going out to kill animals. I do love 'Razorback' but for me it didn't reach the level of sophistication that 'Chaw' did, plus the rednecks were well annoying in places, but there's no doubt it's not far behind 'Chaw' for me, and I'm quietly pleased with myself for picking the comedy-heavy and rather eccentric but characterful subtitled film over the 80's one, when they usually win so often! Brill analysis of 'Pig Hunt' there-yes 'Deliverance 2: Squeal Like A Pig' is perfect for it, and it is far worse than the reviews on here seem to portray. I tried being nice, but lost patience quickly, and who wouldn't? I feel you're bang on about the 'Chaw's' humour, it's a big part of its success as a movie, but so many 80's horrors displayed fun humour, now it seems to be rarer, though some try hard, they achieve less, but that's even supposing they have an actual horror premise in the first place.

These idiots who love making the typical 'Dead End', 'You're Next', French 'Prey' and many others need a clue. 'Jaws' is a classic, yet name how many horrors of the late 90's-now to that have a family who care. But 'Jeepers Creepers' at least portrayed a realistically ribbing (as opposed to snapping) brother and sister who did care about each other. But its horror, and characters are rare these days, as for that matter are the characters in 'Chaw'.

Posted on 5 Mar 2014 15:40:11 GMT
Last edited by the author on 5 Mar 2014 15:41:33 GMT
mister joe says:
The bits I like about your reviews west25 is where you detail the production and previous work of stars or quite obscure directors.
Its like a little trove of information.I would most definetly buy a film on your recommendation.
I am sure I have done....especially when I did my little tour of Italian horror....Fulci I am sure you gave me the heads up.
I may even watch this one actually considering the no loss price.
I will be honest I don't always read the plot synopsis at the beginning.
This is just because I literally want to know nothing when going into a movie.As much as that's possible.
You don't EVER have spoilers or the such as I know you instinctively respect film fans.
That BUGS me to high heaven when people just drop in major plot devices or scenes.....to me it's as bad as having no manners or any other arrogant,selfish behaviour.
At least some people warn but golly have I noticed mounds of reviews where posters drop it in.
I think it is the cardinal sin of reviewing!
Anyway I like your reviews West always have though I would love to see a review of a movie you hated or a few more mainstream jobbies.But then we both know exactly what happens there don't we???So on second thoughts keep doing exactly what you are doing!!!!
The only movie I know that I recommended you was Overnight....that's all I can recall.
Last night I fancied watching a real brain rot movie so I got Universal Soldier Day Of Reckoning.
I am partial to a bit of Universal Soldier and I must say I was very curious to see both Van Damme and Lundgren.I have a soft spot[mostly for Lundgren] for both.
Well anyway the sheer audacity...both of them are literally in the movie for what a total of ten or so minutes spread out over a few scenes.
I am certain trading standard laws have been violated!
I bought the movie with the full expectation of seeing a movie starring Lundgren and Van Damme.
They are the main image on the case,star billing.
Pretty shoddy stuff really and very much at the fan's expense too.I am pretty shocked that two stars who pretty rely on the fans purchasing their movies short change them like that.
I am not under any illusions.....Lundgren and Damme are older now but I would much more prefer just total honesty....e.g featuring cameos by .
Funny film though it's directed by Peter Hyams son John and has some very nice touches to it shot wise.It also has borrowed [to an extreme small degree]elements of Apocalypse Now and a few Lynch touches.
For some bizarre reason I have purchased about ten van damme movies including Sudden Death,Streetfighter,Time Cop,Double Impact...only for like 20 p each from zoverstocks so lordy knows what the discs will look like!

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Mar 2014 06:48:19 GMT
Last edited by the author on 7 Mar 2014 06:57:14 GMT
West25 says:
Scottpaul,

I've decided that I definitely need to watch the French Prey again soon, not sure it'll be this weekend as I am expecting a couple of DVDs of films I've never seen before to drop through the letter box either today or tomorrow morning and I have to watch them first. As much as I loved Chaw on second viewing, it still doesn't match Razorback for me, there's just something about that film that I absolutely love. Probably some of the things that stop Razorback from beating Chaw for you, is probably the things that make me love it that bit more than Chaw. I think the rednecks and certain other things play into my love of exploitation films, especially my love for Ozploitation films from the '70s and '80s. If I maybe went into Pig Hunt again, knowing that it isn't an animal attack film but a seedier version of Deliverance with a giant boar thrown in at the end, I may get a little more enjoyment out of it. I have no intention of buying the film to test that theory out, so I'll keep my eye open and hope to see it appear on the horror channel or somewhere else.

I loved the back and forth between Darry and Trish in Jeepers Creepers (can't believe I remembered those names off the top of my head), you really could believe they were siblings who will of course take the micky out of each other but care about each other as well. I really like the family in Dead End as well, even though they're a little bit more horrible to each other at times, there's quite a few moments where they show genuine love and concern for each other, plus Ray Wise is hilarious. I do fully agree that a lot of films now do show a family that seem to really hate each other, it kind of puts me off as it's really hard to feel sympathy for characters that can't even pretend to be nice to their own family members. The characters in Chaw are completely bonkers, but they're characters that I enjoyed spending time with.

Mister Joe,

I think I tend to go on a bit sometimes, like a geek that never does anything other than watch movies and find out everything I can about them, which to be fair is partially true. I do remember us talking about Italian horror films which is a real passion of mine, and Lucio Fulci is one of my all time favourite directors. I remember saying that Italian horror can be quite difficult to get into, but once it hooks you, it doesn't let go. Eventually the poor dubbing, nonsensical plots and over-the-top effects not only become acceptable to you, that becomes a huge part of what we love about them. I'd definitely recommend you taking a chance on Chaw, it sells for so cheap, that even if you don't like it, you haven't exactly broke the bank. I don't blame you for not reading the plot synopsis at the beginning, I always structure my reviews the same way now, so I always start with that and it's great going into a film knowing very little about the actual plot. I try and be as detailed as possible about things that happen very early in the film to hopefully get people interested in it, but there's probably been a few occasions where I've said a little more than I should have. That infuriates most people I think, someone just blurting out the entire plot which completely spoils the film for everyone that reads it. It isn't so bad when someone actually puts spoiler alert before it, but I don't really understand why anyone would want a specific plot point spoiled.

I've reviewed fourteen different films where I've only rated them one or two stars, but most of my reviews are a lot more positive. There's a very good reason for this though. I only tend to review films that I've bought which is proven by how many of my reviews have the verified purchase tag on them and I've become very good at avoiding films I won't like, I also find little things that I like in films where a lot of people would just give the film one or two stars, I just love films and will almost always find something to like. Most importantly, as you say, if I genuinely didn't like a film that most people seemed to love, no matter how well written and reasoned my review would be, it would almost certainly be marked down heavily and put me off from doing any future reviews. With the mainstream movies, that moves me on to a point already made, most mainstream movies already have a lot of reviews and I feel my time would be better spent singing the praises of far less known films like Chaw and others. Thanks again for the recommendation of Overnight, thoroughly enjoyable.

I really like the first Universal Soldier, especially Dolph. I remember watching the first sequel years ago that had neither Lundgren or Van Damme in it and really didn't like it, though I know Van Damme did return for a later sequel before this newer one with himself and Lundgren. I've nearly ordered this new one a few times as I grew up watching these guys along with Arnie and Stallone, but seeing that they both basically have glorified cameos is very disappointing news and has put me right off. Always annoys me when a well known actor has his picture and name all over a DVD cover, you then watch the film and they're barely in it. I honestly think virtually everything Van Damme made from the late '80s to about the mid '90s is very watchable, even if most of them aren't all that good. Towards the late '90s his films really went down hill and some became almost unwatchable. He made one called Wake of Death that I quite enjoyed and JCVD was a real surprise, but he's made mostly garbage for twenty years now. I actually try to avoid Zoverstocks now, I've bought hundreds of films from them that have been like brand new, but the last couple of batches I bought have all had problems. It was about a year ago now when I ordered about eight films from them in one go, I think four of them didn't work and then I had a problem with two of the replacements also not working. I have used them once or twice since and the discs have been fine, but I won't order in bulk from them again.

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Mar 2014 01:11:06 GMT
Funny you should mention Zoverstocks, my sister really avoids them now, she only gets DVDs and music in dribs and drabs depending on how much and when she wants something, I get far luckier with them, and have generally had decent replacements, but there was one item where a replacement's defect only showed up on a third try, then stayed permanent, but it was too late to do anything about it.

I've seen they now have all three 'Wilderness family' films in a box set, remember them. I grew up with them, and while they're generally easy viewing, and presumably mawkish at times, they were one of the few things I remember enjoying as a child cos they featured a human family under attack by the native wildlife. Think 'The Day Of The Animals' centered on one family, just without the body count, sadly, but what can you expect. Haven't seen them in an aeon, but I think the absence has been so marked, I may consider getting them. I'm aware there's a bit of rose-tinted shimmer going on, but I still think I've made worse purchases.

To Mister Joe:

I totally back West25's coaxing to get you to own 'Chaw'-please skim through our detailed reviews, or best still, don't read them if you to tackle the film fresh, but hopefully you'll like it, t's crazy, zany but muscular, fun, brutal when it needs to be and just damned fine horror entertainment in an age where this sort of film seems unwarranted to a bigger picture made only for abso brats, fake exorcisms, masked knife-wielders, diseased human biters and actors forgetting how dead they are until the twist end. I hope you do like it and review it too, it needs another decent review on here. That's if you do return to reviewing on this crazy place online, but whatever happens, me and West25 like our reviewing rights too much to leave it and stop.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Mar 2014 14:40:40 GMT
West25 says:
Zoverstocks for the most part are great if you want to get hold of films for cheap and aren't competing against them trying to sell your own stuff, but I've just had too many bad DVDs from them in quick succession that haven't been good enough. Considering they always undercut people by 1p, I normally go for the one that costs a penny more as I know I'm probably going to be getting a better DVD. I can honestly say that probably 90% of the DVDs I've ordered from them have been like new, but some have looked as though someone's gotten a load of wire wool and rubbed it all over the disc for twenty minutes. If I was getting a disc that they said was acceptable or good then some of the discs would be fine, but they advertise everything they have as being in very good condition which simply isn't the case. I once ordered Shaft from them that didn't work, got a replacement which also didn't work, then got another replacement and they sent a copy of the remake with L. Jackson instead of the original, I eventually just ordered it from someone else for marginally more money and got a DVD that was in perfect condition.

I've been meaning to get The Wilderness Family films for some time, I really don't remember them all that well, but do remember watching them when I was a pup and liking them. It's that weird thing where you want to watch them again but risk being hugely underwhelmed, sometimes things that have nostalgic value are best being left where they are and fondly remembered. I'm not really one to care about nostalgia, I want to see them again and will get them eventually. I think they're the sort of films that will be even more enjoyable as I see things that I'd completely forgot about.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Mar 2014 03:14:58 GMT
That's something for me to keep in mind about Zoverstocks, and that's shocking what you said about 'Shaft', that's totally not good, nor are the blatantly untruths about every disc being in "very good cod". I had a very good cod once, but he swam away and didn't return, but I always meant to release him anyway. You must have been utterly demoralised, week after week awaiting these copies of the same film from the same buyer to exchange something they've already sent you shouldn't have had to change in the first place!

Well if you like 'The Wilderness Family' too that proves me right, and I don't think it's a rose-tinted love, even at the time, and I did see the last one (I think it's the last) as a teenager, so I remember still being impressed, the animals scenes seemed as intense as ever. No, I've been missing these for over two decades now, considering the amount of horror fakes I mistakenly bought to try out, I really feel these 3 films for just over £10 is likely worth it, and they're likely not to go down. I could wait, but I think they've only just been released on DVD region 1 (which of course I can happily get now). "Since you were a pup". Arrrr, I love the way we talk and think in animal. I agree, even if perhaps a risk to a memory being better than the reality, I've gone back to seeing some old Disney classics and a few others things I shrugged off for years and found them still pretty charming (perhaps with the gap and cos I feel I don't have to hide it from people any more if it's uncool) and I really feel these 'Wilderness' family films, whilst being family entertainment, still deliver the threat and the helplessness of being at nature's mercy on the outside, and I still remember vivid scenes of snarling wolves, leaping puma, ambling bears and charging musk oxen, which actual horror attacks aside, can't be too far from 'The Day Of The Animals' as far as truly awesome threatening animals presences can be.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Mar 2014 19:08:13 GMT
West25 says:
It really says a lot about a company when they're given three chances to send you a DVD that works and they fail miserably each time. The very last DVD I ordered from them also jumped in a few places, but the film was so bad that I would have threw it out even if it worked. It was a film called Psychosis and starred Charisma Carpenter from Buffy and Angel, it was absolute dreck. You know it's a company that can't really be trusted by the fact everything they sell is labelled as being in very good condition, it'd be fine if that was true, but it isn't. It's because they buy under the name Music Magpie and sell as Zoverstocks, they get so many DVDs and CDs that it'd take forever to inspect and list the accurate condition of every item they have, but they should take the time to do it or they'll lose a lot more customers like they've lost me. It was annoying when Shaft didn't work, it was infuriating when the replacement didn't work, it was just comical when another copy was sent and it wasn't even the right film. What could you do but laugh? At least Shaft's Big Score and Shaft in Africa worked, and I ordered them along with Shaft. I do love a good Blaxploitation film.

It's been that long since I watched them, I'm not even sure I've seen all three of them, but I've definitely seen at least two. They sit in that nostalgic part of my brain along with Harry and the Hendersons and Homeward Bound as films I haven't seen since I was a young teenager, I'm actually amazed I haven't picked any of them up as I loved them when I was young. About £10 for three films isn't a bad deal, and I'm sure they'll bring back some great memories so they're probably well worth getting, I think I'll look into getting them myself as well. I've took quite a few gambles in the last couple of years and bought films I liked when I was young, and I can honestly say that I've enjoyed them all. I picked up Eerie, Indiana and Are You Afraid of the Dark? a few years ago and really enjoyed them as well, TV was definitely better when we were kids. I think everyone goes through that when they're young, hiding something you have because other people think it's not cool or pretending that you don't like something you do to fit in. Some people continue to do it well into adulthood which is quite sad, I like what I like and I don't care whether it's cool or whether I'm in the minority, who really cares? I was probably about eighteen when I decided that I didn't care what other people thought of what I like, there's not enough hours in the day to waste time trying to impress other people.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,554