Customer Review

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value package, still the best way to revise for the theory test, 6 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Driving Test Success All Tests 2012 Edition (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Driving Test Success All Tests 2012 is a study guide for the theory test (for cars, bikes and driving instructors), hazard perception test and driving lesson videos.

The Driving Standards Agency, the government body who sets the tests, are changing the theory test from January 1st 2012. From that date they will stop publishing the actual multiple choice questions that will appear in the test. They are doing this to discourage "parrot fashion" learning. There has been a fair bit of confusion surrounding this change, with some driving instructors worrying about which revision aid will be suitable. This pack from Focus is suitable for revising if your test is in 2011, but it's also fine for 2012 too because it includes the official revision questions which the DSA will continue to release through 2012 (and beyond, one presumes). It also includes Knowledge and Understanding text from the DSA to help learners study the theory test answers in more depth.

A full digital highway code is included and this can be read on screen or printed out. Theory test practice questions are linked to the relevant section of the highway code so you can go into as much depth as you need with your learning and revision. The mock tests are structured just like the real theory test, right down to the time limit, being able to review questions before submission, etc. There's also a nice feature to practise tricky questions that are causing grief.

So that's the theory test, so far so good. How does the rest of the product measure up? Well the hazard perception section presents plenty of video clips that can be practised on the computer in mock tests, just like the real thing. You click the mouse when you think a hazard is developing, the sooner you do it, the more points you score in the test. As in the theory test section, your progress is charted and it's easy to see how one is hopefully improving over time.

Finally you have the driving lessons section. This is made up of dozens of videos showing how to perform every routine and manoeuvre possible. You also get step by step "Show Me Tell Me" video demonstrations, which are needed for the driving test. I like the mock driving test video - it's useful for learner drivers to see exactly what goes on in the car when the examiner is with you.

I am a driving instructor and I have always recommended the Focus product to my pupils. This new version is just as good as the previous ones. There are no new features that I can see in the hazard or practical sections, but there are welcome additions to the theory test section which mean that Driving Test Success follows all the DSA guidelines for 2011/12. For me it remains the best value package for learner drivers. It's easy to see why it remains the most popular choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Sep 2011 20:11:36 BDT
xubidoo says:
Could anyone tell me is this is the proper PC version or the version that is usable in a DVD,games console etc?
i ask because i have an older version which is the DVD version ,ie can be used in a dvd player,games console etc, and to be honest its to slow at loading, id rather have the dedicated PC version.
As far as i know the DVD version which i have is also lacking some features,due to the "Limitations of DVD" as they put it.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Sep 2011 12:42:08 BDT
Louise says:
Yes this is the PC DVD-ROM version, NOT the DVD-video version. Hope this helps! :-)

Posted on 14 Sep 2011 07:18:04 BDT
Last edited by the author on 14 Sep 2011 07:18:54 BDT
T. Moore says:
What are the major differences between the 2007/2008 edition and the 2012 edition?

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Sep 2011 07:54:18 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Sep 2011 07:56:19 BDT
shamedbear says:
I'd like to know this as well. The software is technically always updateable online and when i passed mine in 2008 it used to update any new questions automatically. Now my wife is taking hers is it really necessary to buy the latest edition? The producers website tries to suggest that you should without clearly explaining why or what would be missing that isn't updateable online. Obviously it goes without saying that they're hardly likley to advocate the recycling of old copies but even so if you have effectively purchased the licence to use this software once for your family do earlier editions update to all currently asked questions?

Posted on 26 Sep 2011 19:35:44 BDT
josh says:
Thanks for the great review. I have just ordered a copy.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Sep 2011 12:23:00 BDT
Louise says:
Hi T.Moore, I'm sure the DSA has updated their theory question bank since 2007, and don't forget that the Highway Code could have been tweaked too. You wouldn't have had interactive case study questions in that version either, as they weren't introduced into the theory test in 2009. Hazard perception is probably the same, or at least similar. As far as I know, all the driving lesson tutorial videos have been replaced since 2007/08 too, since they now include the new mock driving test with recently introduced independent driving. For the sake of £7 I would play it safe and get this new version. Otherwise if you come unstuck in the theory test don't forget you'll have to pay another £31 to resit it, which isn't worth the risk in my opinion (which is why I always buy the latest version for my pupils). ANyway, I hope this helps. :-)

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Sep 2011 12:24:22 BDT
Louise says:
You're welcome josh, and good luck with your test. :o)

Posted on 28 Oct 2011 01:46:47 BDT
obi says:
Hi Louise,

Your review by the way is supreme! Great info here. I'm about to study for my theory as I'm almost ready to do my practical test, but for some reason I've put if off and now it's starting to hinder a little, as my sign reading skills are not as good as they should be. Anyway, aside from that detour, I just wanted to confirm whether it's definitely OK to buy the 2012 edition instead of the 2011 edition, even though I envisage taking it in Nov? Are there massive differences between the two or is it best to be safe and get the 2012 edition, just in case I fail (hopefully not). I'm guessing 2012 covers everything for 2011, plus my mate will take his next year so I can always lend it to him as well. So 2012 is the one to get? Sorry for the ramble, it's late and I've had too much coffee.

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Oct 2011 09:46:07 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 28 Oct 2011 09:46:28 BDT]

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Oct 2011 09:49:05 BDT
Emma Bagnall says:
Hi Obi, our Driving Test Success All Tests 2012 edition is valid for anyone taking their tests this year as well as next year. The actual question bank isn't changing; it's just that from the 1st January 2012 the questions on the disc will be referred to as the "official revision questions".

I'm not sure if you are aware but from the 1st January 2012, the Driving Standards Agency (DSA) is making changes to the UK driving Theory Test. From this date onwards, the DSA will add new multiple-choice Theory Test questions to the test but they will not let anyone publish these new Theory Test questions, so they will not appear in any product, nor on any website. However, the DSA will continue to release official DSA Theory Test revision questions, and these will be published in all Driving Test Success products.

You can find further information on the changes to the Theory Test over on our website at http://www.drivingtestsuccess.com/tests/changes-to-the-theory-test-in-january-2012.

Good luck in your Theory Test and if you need any further help or information please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Emma Bagnall
Driving Test Success
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (301 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
£10.20 £5.95
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,508,336