Customer Review

17 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Got cancer? Then see a doctor, not a homeopath., 22 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Family Guide to Homeopathy: The Safe Form of Medicine for the Future (Paperback)
What a wonderful thing homeopathy is. Take a bit of a plant, put it in some alcohol. Dilute it with water until there is no trace of the original left. Dilute it more. And more. And more. Call this a "remedy" and sell it to people too stupid to realise it can't help them. Tell them if their symptoms go away the remedy worked. If their symptoms didn't go away they chose the wrong remedy. You have to be a very expert homeopath to know the right remedy, you know. By the way homeopathic remedies are all safe because the original substance has become so diluted it can't possibly do you any harm.

I'm going to make my own homeopathic remedy. A bit of this, a bit of that, a bit of all the substances, diluted so much it can't possibly do you any harm and then when you take it the one that will help you will fix your symptoms. "Robert's Patent Homeopathic Potency" I'll call it. I'll set up in practice, put on a white coat and charge people for my sugar water. Well, it will be easier than working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 5 Jan 2009 19:46:02 GMT
It would seem that you are not aware that Homeopathy is recognised by the National Health Service and available on prescription. It dates back to Hippocrates (as in Hippocratic Oath taken by NHS doctors amongst others) and resurfaced in the Eighteenth century. Maybe before you "review" a book you could try reading it, or at least research the subject.

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Feb 2009 21:39:12 GMT
Diane Sutton says:
Whilst reading reviews on which homeopathic reference book I would like to purchase I note that Robert Macmillan appears to have written several "supposed" reviews on homeopathic books. Each review is a duplicate of an original that this person wrote. He does not review the reading material at all. He merely slates homeopathy as a whole. Please, don't read this peron's biggotted opinion. Research it and form your own opinion.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Oct 2009 12:10:20 BDT
Homeopathy does not date back to the Greeks, it was invented in the last century but one. You say "Homeopathy is ... available on presciption." What nonsense. Do you mean some things that some homeopaths sell are available on prescription? If so, I'd be intrigued to know whether they have been scientifically tested to produce some more beneficial effect than a placebo. If they have, and they were genuinely made by homeopathic production (ie diluted out of existence), then the homeopathic industry has made a huge breakthrough which has so far gone unreported.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Oct 2009 12:16:16 BDT
Yes, indeed, research homeopathy. Start with, as I did, the claim that diluting a potion until the original active agent has disappeared makes this a powerful remedy. If you can't see the nonsense in it for yourself, look for any scientific evidence for it. you won't find it. Try your own experiments. If you can demonstrate it in an objective way, publish your results. Claim your Nobel prize. You'll fail, like all the others have.

If that's not enough, go on to the homeopath's claim that "homeopathic remedies can't do you any harm because they are so dilute". Yes, I agree. Totally. And for the very same reason that they can't do you any good. At least, beyond the placebo effect, but that's not what they are claiming to be.

The central claims of homeopathy are nonsense as is demonstrated by a little common sense and the failure over a couple of centuries of the homeopathic industry to produce any evidence for them. Those who make their living from homeopathy should be ashamed of themselves.

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Nov 2009 17:33:06 GMT
Margarita says:
Ignorance is so daring! Why people automatically think homeopathy = plants when the ingredients come from both animal, mineral and vegetal sources... I would still not have any problem if homeopathy activated the placebo effect, which is nothing else that homeostasis, the body's ability to regenerate itself. For some reasons placebo has also been equalled with "lie". Don't you think the placebo effect should be more thoroughly studied? Anyway, homeopathy is much more than that. I wonder why I spent 10 years depending on drugs for rhinitis and asthma and got rid of both problems as a welcome side-effect while I was being homeopathically treated for something else. This was just the beginning of my journey to health through homeopathy and my GP is now a homeopathic doctor.

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Nov 2009 17:35:12 GMT
Margarita says:
Sorry, but homeopathy was not "invented" in the last century. It was discovered 200 years ago and Spiritual Seeker is right, Hahnemman was working with Hippocratic methods. As I said before... ignorance can be so daring. After all, you know, fools rush in where angels fear to tread.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Dec 2009 21:05:40 GMT
Haven't you got anything better to do with your time? You yourself have admitted that it doesn't do anyone any harm, so why are you so angry about it? I doubt anyone researching a good homeopathic book is going to be influenced in anyway by such close minded ignorance. You may say it is a 'placebo' then I'm not quite sure how my 3 month old responds so amazingly well to the remedies. I'm sorry, but you sound like one very angry individual, you could probably do with some Chamomilla!!!

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Feb 2010 23:05:14 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 2 Feb 2010 23:08:00 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Feb 2010 23:07:43 GMT
A. Whyte says:
It's worth getting angry about people making money through something they pretty much know to be BS. Homeopathy is scientifically unsound right down to its basic principles. The notion of 'like cures like' isn't remotely scientific. The dilution is laughable.

'Don't you think the placebo effect should be more thoroughly studied?'

The placebo effect has and is being thoroughly studied. What does that have to do with sham artists peddling nonsense remedies just because people like the idea of something being natural and harmless. People buying this book have a right to know this stuff.

From Wiki:

'Claims of homeopathy's efficacy beyond the placebo effect are unsupported by the collective weight of scientific and clinical evidence.[8][9][10][11][12] While some studies have positive results, systematic reviews of all the published trials fail to conclusively demonstrate efficacy.[13][14][15][16][17] Furthermore, higher quality trials tend to report less positive results,[15][18] and most positive studies have not been replicated or show methodological problems that prevent them from being considered unambiguous evidence of homeopathy's efficacy.[8][11][19][20]'

I know Wikipedia is hardly gospel, but just look at all those numbered sources.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Feb 2010 23:09:33 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 2 Feb 2010 23:09:59 GMT]
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (22 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Windsor, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,876,751