Customer Review

42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Poor, 30 Sep 2009
This review is from: Sleepy Hollow [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent film but the quality of transfer onto Blu-Ray disc is appalling. Its just a cheap and lazy cash in with very grainy quality, possibly worse than DVD, and no extras - including no sub-titles. This is a rip off I suggest you avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 20 Oct 2009 19:40:17 BDT
Last edited by the author on 21 Oct 2009 18:18:00 BDT
A customer says:
You are right. I love this movie. I rented the blu ray disc to see the difference between the standard definition picture and the high-definition picture. I couldn't believe the quality of transfer onto Blu-Ray disc was so bad. In fact, it is WORSE than the DVD. The picture is sharper but it is very grainy. I would recommend the widescreen edition with special features and subtitles on DVD. If you have a dvd player that upscales dvds to near high definition you can get a very good picture quality. And there is no grain at all. Believe me, you will be very happy with the DVD. It is a lot better than the blu-ray version which doesn't provide the quality picture you would expect from a high-definition format.

In reply to an earlier post on 31 Dec 2010 11:13:37 GMT
Regrettably I have to agree as well. I just got Sleepy Hollow on blu-ray and the grainy-ness, lack of any colour and general appalling quality are hard to believe. I can only guess that, rather than do a proper blu-ray transfer from the movie, they copied it directly from the low definition DVD. The quality literally makes it unwatchable and additionally you do not get the full cinematic wide screen version, but rather the wide screen TV "filling" version. However this is irrelevant as you will be unable to watch more than 15 or 20 minutes before you turn it off. Do not waste your money on this one, stick with the DVD.

Posted on 14 Apr 2012 23:56:48 BDT
boombooman says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 7 Oct 2012 16:05:36 BDT
Paul Moran says:
Thanks for the warning. I've ordered the USA release instead: only a few pence more than the Amazon sale price, from marketplace trader all your music. It's not perfect, according to the reviews (which mention the plentiful grain), but it can't be any worse than the UK release - and it DOES have subtitles and extras (director's commentary, 2 featurettes and a trailer).

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Feb 2013 11:56:26 GMT
rikki_nadir says:
hi! but is the u.s.-blu-ray region code free?

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Feb 2013 13:28:45 GMT
Last edited by the author on 22 Feb 2013 13:29:24 GMT
Paul Moran says:
I have 3 "all regions" BD players, so I don't have to worry about such things! But although I haven't actually tested my own copy, I know that the blu-ray.com review says it is region free. If you haven't already used them, I can recommend dvd-basen [http://www.dvd-basen.dk/uk/home.php3] as a good way to find out what reviews exist world-wide.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Oct 2013 09:00:54 BDT
Adrian Drew says:
I wish I had read your note before I purchased! The Blu Ray is appalling! The DVD is far from perfect but much better. What a shame!

Posted on 17 Oct 2013 09:04:30 BDT
Adrian Drew says:
How anyone could have given you negative reviews beats me! This daft Amazon system needs sorting. People should only be able to give positive points - then a lot of the back-biting would be sorted out. Also they should learn to give reviews for the actual product on offer - not just the darn film!!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (89 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
19.99 8.60
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,509,164