Customer Review

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in its class, 19 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodum 1308 Columbia Tea and Cofee Press stainless steel 1.0 L (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this as a replacement for an inferior brand of insulated cafetiere. The other one (Judge) had a spring above the edge of the wire filter mesh that gave out on first use on plunging. This lovely jug has a silicone rubber ring instead of the spring -flush with the mesh- so that there is a good seal all around the mesh. It works very well -take care not to use too much force. The seal is so good that you could cause pressure damage if too enthusiastic on plunging.

The insulation works fairly well, and it keeps my Saturday morning coffee lake hot for an hour of reading the papers -unlike the glass version I also own and use when it will all get poured quickly. I love coffee, and can easily drink a litre all on my own in a morning. This is perfect for keeping it drinkable.

Another review mentions an air leak after putting it in the dishwasher. I'd advise against putting it in in the first place. I have to say the info leaflet in the box was about glass cafetieres and not this one, so there was no info about dishwashing durability. Wash it by hand -and take care to wash it on its own as the highly polished surface (very beautiful to look at) scratches easily.

Aesthetically this is a graceful and pleasing object -I like it for that as much as its functionality in making coffee well.

I have a feeling that if I look after this, it will look after me.

Highly recommended.

AA

UPDATE APRIL 2011

Tragedy... I carelessly dropped my lovely cafetiere. It actually bounced off the hard kitchen floor and now has a dent just off centre on the front. :- However it still works fine and there are no cracks on seams or air leaks -so this does seem very well made. Glass would certainly not have survived.

Well I now have a limited edition of one -my very own customised "distressed" Bodum cafetiere. Not as distressed as I was, but my penultimate comment in the original review was borne out -it is looking after me (even if I let it down).

Advice -don't bounce your Bodum.

AA

UPDATE OCTOBER 2011

Bodum still going strong and performing as new. It seems durable and reliable. No more dents -I have been very careful!

AA

UPDATE DECEMBER 2011

Bodum continuing stubbornly to defy all predictions of failure and air leaking from users of little faith. No more dents as yet and still looking good, and making superb coffee. Insulating properties not noticeably different from the start. Still very pleased with this cafetiere.

Happy Christmas!

AA

UPDATE JULY 2012

Still going strong and goes on working without air leaks or any problems at all.

Continues to be highly recommended

AA

UPDATE DECEMBER 2012

So here it is, Merry Christmas, everybody's having fun.
And I'm still having coffee from my Bodum as good as the very first cup it made.

Happy Christmas everybody!

AA

UPDATE MARCH 2015

Over four years on and working as well and looking as good as it did when I first got it. Very happy with this purchase.

AA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 3 Jan 2012 23:20:06 GMT
Zobby's Girl says:
Thank you for the updates, I'm glad the cafetiere continues to look after you despite the tragedy! Very useful review

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Jan 2012 23:36:47 GMT
Many thanks for the compliment. Enjoy the coffee!

Posted on 3 Dec 2012 06:55:59 GMT
Ha ha! Wonderful review. Really, really helpful and has confirmed that I'm going to ask for this as a present for myself as Christmas :)

Posted on 3 Dec 2012 22:02:17 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 3 Dec 2012 22:03:39 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Dec 2012 22:03:19 GMT
Glad to be of service -the Bodum will be too, I am sure.

Have a happy coffee Christmas manc_lass!

AA

Posted on 3 Dec 2012 22:04:01 GMT
Tis the season to be jolly,
tra-la-la-la la, la-la la la!

Bodum still serving me faithfully -coming up to second birthday and still looking good and working well.

Happy Christmas again everyone!

AA
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 266