Customer Review

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entry level DSLR, 8 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 1000D Body Only (Electronics)
OK, so the price is a bit steep on launch, but that's what you pay for being an early adopter. Having at one time or another owned a body from every level of Canon's range I can happily say this one has not dissapointed. Purchased as a replacement for a 350D the first few days with it have been a satisfying experience.
It's a little plasticy and would benefit from the battery grip, particularly with larger lenses, but the picture taking side of things appears excellent. The image quality is splendid as we are all used to from Canon and the ergonomics are great.
If you have the pennies you can't go wrong !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 31 Oct 2008 08:11:43 GMT
Last edited by the author on 9 Nov 2008 08:39:17 GMT
just bought the Canon EOS 1000d 3 days ago.! haven't stopped playing and experimenting with all the features the 350d and 400d don't have. ie "Live View" + "Optical Image Stabilization" + "full 3fps until SD card runs out" + "new canon software" + "Newer Stonger 500 shot's (CIPA) Battery" - yes its missing a piece of rubber from the grip, however I plan on buying a large battery grip which will make the camera feel heavier, and holding it will be much improved. I only payed £339.00 Delivered complete with 18-55mm Kit I.S Lens.!

I also own a Pentax K100D + Nikon D40X and now the Canon EOS 1000D all with Kit lens. I'm no pro, just a budding enthusiast.! - you can easily pay £500+ these days for a decent f1.4 or f2.8 USM I.S Canon LENS, so when I watched the EOS 1000D drop from £499.00 at launch down to £339.00 with FREE Optical Image Stabilized 18-55mm KIT Lens, a few days ago With FREE Next Day Delivery with Amazon "Prime"...

I had read all the 5 star approvals, all I needed was to get the plastic out, I must say its by far the best camera out there for someone just wanting to upgrade from point and shoot, to DSLR Technology to take advantage of instant razor sharp AUTO Focus, NO Lagg, and best of all NO, or very, very little Noise or Grain even at ISO 1600. to see any grain at ISO 1600 you must open the picture up wide 150% on a PC Monitor, because its not visable on any of my home made 5x7 inch glossy prints.!

I own a Canon G7 and noise becomes a apparent above ISO 400, yes ISO 800 may just be usable with the use of "Noise Ninja" it's ok! - then picture quality slowly begins to suffer as a result. ((however, its the best point and shoot on the market apart from the new Canon G10)) and this noise/grain has and always will be the most hated feature, until you take that leap of faith and purchase 1 of the new generation DIGITAL SLR CAMERAS.

Ive read most reviews online regarding DSLR outfits with Lens, taking into consideration image quality, price and features. graded outa 10.
PENTAX K200D - 9/10 (Weather-proofed and sealed, solid construction)
SONY A200 - 9/10 (Best Value Enthusiast's DSLR camera under £250)
SONY A350 - 9.5/10 (Reliable 14mp Beast with "Fast Live View")
NIKON D60 - 9/10 (Rock solid performance with VR Kit lens)
OLYMPUS E520 - 8.5/10 (Built in Image Stabilization, 2 3rds System)
CANON 450D 10/10 (Best Value Enthusiast's DSLR camera under £450)
CANON 1000D 9.5/10 (Best Value Enthusiast's DSLR camera under £350)

video review on the Eos 1000D (below)
http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Canon_EOS_1000D_Rebel_XS/video_review.shtml

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Dec 2008 14:55:57 GMT
Saege says:
Considering the tradeoff in price and quality is there any appreciable difference between Canon 450D and Canon 1000D? Canon 450 body sells at £387.99 and the Canon 1000D at £244.67 . Clearly a £ 143 saving for the 1000 D. Since I am an amateur I am finding it difficult choosing.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (18 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £130.00
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 12,666