Customer Review

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification on Series 9 & 10 plus news of Series 11& 12,, 3 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last of the Summer Wine - Series 9 & 10 [1986] [DVD] (DVD)
I have deleted my former review so that I can update the situation - sorry but they won't let me do two!

Having enquired directly of the company who produce the LSW DVDs - Universal Playback are just the distributors - I have discovered that what we saw on UK TV as 'Series 9' was actually Series 9 & 10, shown back-to-back, although they had been commisioned seperately - it was felt this would help promote Michael Aldridge as Seymour, the new 3rd man. Later releases on video seperated them out again and this was confirmed for the DVD releases - unfortunately without clarification.

I've been a LSW fan since the pilot and am a former co-editor of summer-wine.com, now unfortunately defunct, and the state of affairs re: the BBC and LSW series DVDs has caused a lot of concern for many fans - however, I can confirm the above facts have been confirmed by a senior LSW production member.

I can also confirm, direct from the producing company, that the DVDs due for issue late in December 2008 will contain the following episodes:

Last Of The Summer Wine Series 11:

# Episode Title TX Date
01 THE EXPERIMENT 16/10/1988
02 THE TREASURE OF THE DEEP 23/10/1988
03 DANCING FEET 30/10/1988
04 THAT CERTAIN SMILE 06/11/1988
05 DOWNHILL RACER 13/11/1988
06 THE DAY OF THE WELSH FERRET 20/11/1988

Last Of The Summer Wine Series 12

# Episode Title TX Date
01 COME BACK JACK HARRY TEESDALE 15/10/1989
02 THE KISS AND MAVIS POSKIT 22/10/1989
03 OH SHUT UP AND EAT YOUR CHOC-ICE 29/10/1989
04 WHO'S THAT BLOKE WITH NORAH BATTY, THEN? 05/11/1989
05 HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, GOUGH AND JESSIE 12/11/1989
06 GETTING BARRY HIGHER IN THE WORLD 19/11/1989
07 THREE MEN AND A MANGLE 26/11/1989

Last Of The Summer Wine Xmas 88:

# Episode Title
01 CRUMS
TX Date 24/12/1988 Duration 060m 11s

Last Of The Summer Wine Xmas 89:

# Episode Title
01 WHAT'S SANTA BROUGHT FOR NORA, THEN? TX Date 23/12/1989 Duration 049m 45s

I hope this explains things satisfactorily - and I'm sure we all hope this means a faster turnaround of LSW DVDs - there are rumours of Series 13 & 14 in late Spring 2009 - no confirmation yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 18 May 2008 12:48:14 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 May 2008 12:50:21 BDT
J. JOHNSON says:
From Jerry Johnson; Thanks Patricia Carline for the clarification . As long as we get all the episodes and at a fairly fast rate , everything will be fine . The series called 9-10 which we now have is great and Michale Aldridge fits in perfectly . It seems to me that anyone who becomes the 'third man' does a great job and even though Foggy may be my favorite all are superb in their own right and contribute well to the greatest sitcom even produced . I can't emphasize enough how much I appreciate Roy Clarke, all the actors/actresses and producers/directors who gave us and continue to give us such a beautiful and lovely show . I just now came to look and see if and when 11-12 would be available for pre-order , and just enjoyed 3 of the greats from 9-10 . I like to "Savor" them and watch a few at a time . As soon as we get through all , we will start over and enjoy them all again .

Posted on 22 May 2008 14:39:37 BDT
Frank Moyes says:
I do find BBC and/or 2 Entertain Video Ltd explanation somewhat arcane. It flies in the face of all the literature which points overwhelmingly to content being limited to Series 9 plus Christmas Specials.

And to support this explanation a new numbering system has been invented: ....7, 8, 9 & 10 (one number), 11, 12 .....!

Main purpose of my comment, however, is to point out that Play.com and Sendit.com are specifying release date of 29 September 2008 for Series 11 & 12 (so-called) DVD.

In reply to an earlier post on 29 May 2008 12:40:55 BDT
I am pleased to find all this out ! Thanks for being so helpful by putting all of this handy info into the public domain !
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.7 out of 5 stars (83 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
£24.99 £10.00
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 36,724