Customer Review

18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles :-(, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Attenborough's Rise of Animals: Triumph of the Vertebrates [DVD] (DVD)
Poor deaf and hard of heraing people. Another great series issued with no subtitles. Is this some kind of a joke or what? How is this even possible nowadays?

The production Company spent hundreds of thousands of Dollars on the production of this series. Would it kill them to add a few more bucks on adding subtitles to the DVD release?

Don't buy this DVD. Show your support of the HOH community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 5 Dec 2013 12:11:12 GMT
Last edited by the author on 22 Dec 2013 16:28:14 GMT
Biggis says:
With respect, and whilst I agree that all DVD releases should be 'HOH-friendly', surely posting a 1-star review of an otherwise excellent series - thus bringing down its overall rating and potentially misleading other customers - does little to further your 'cause'.

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Dec 2013 21:47:27 GMT
caplue says:
The negative review that the original poster made was a review of this specific DVD release. The OP didn't criticise the series, they criticised the decision by the production company to discriminate against millions of potential viewers. You should show some respect and stop being unnecessarily hostile to people making legitimate complaints.

In reply to an earlier post on 16 Dec 2013 10:44:12 GMT
Last edited by the author on 22 Dec 2013 16:29:06 GMT
Biggis says:
To 'caplue': Firstly, there is nothing disrespectful or hostile about my comment in response to the review, even if you do not agree with it; in fact, it is your rather blunt comment that comes across as being disrespectful and hostile. I have also made it clear in my comment that I think ALL dvd releases should have subtitles for the hearing impaired.

The absence of such facilities is a legitimate and fully justified complaint, and there is nothing wrong with bringing such issues to the attention of other customers via online reviews. However, I stand by my view that posting a 1-star review for this reason and this reason alone is not only somewhat pointless, but also brings down the overall star-rating for the product and is potentially misleading for other customers.

Also, and irrespective of whether or not it's permitted by the review guidelines, I don't really like being 'told' by the reviewer that I shouldn't buy this product, with the implication that by doing so I am being 'unsupportive' of those who are hearing impaired. Rather than issuing such demands to other customers, surely a legitimate grievance concerning a lack of subtitles should be brought to the attention of the manufacturer, or indeed to Amazon.

Posted on 9 Jan 2014 07:28:57 GMT
Tom Clarke says:
A perfectly legitimate comment and score, in my opinion. That said, I will still be buying the DVD.

Posted on 11 Jan 2014 14:45:38 GMT
Thallein says:
At the risk of offending, are you blind as well? This does come with HOH subtitles, at least mine does and the BBC website states the same:
http://www.bbcshop.com/science+nature/david-attenboroughs-rise-of-animals-triumph-of-the-vertebrates-dvd/invt/grd4832

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Jan 2014 16:20:10 GMT
Last edited by the author on 11 Jan 2014 16:26:56 GMT
To Thallein:
The only one who should be offended is you for being such a moron.
Go see your eye Doctor ASAP (and a psychologist as well. Getting a kick out of mocking people?).

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Jan 2014 17:09:53 GMT
Last edited by the author on 11 Jan 2014 17:10:12 GMT
Thallein says:
I'm pointing out that you are mistaken. I am hard of hearing myself and found the information on the BBC website before buying. So I am watching the DVD with HOH subtitles!!!

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Jan 2014 17:30:39 GMT
Last edited by the author on 12 Jan 2014 05:14:26 GMT
good for you! If you were hoh, you wouldn't have made that stupid comment about me being blind as well!!! (see? I can use exclamation marks as well).

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Jan 2014 20:32:46 GMT
Thallein says:
Well done! (sound of sarcastic clapping)

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 05:14:04 GMT
Can't hear it. Try a little harder.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (22 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
17.99 16.57
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Israel

Top Reviewer Ranking: 124,771