Customer Review

43 of 54 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stocking-filler at best, 14 Oct 2008
This review is from: Cooking for Friends: Food from My Table (Hardcover)
This book smacks of the publisher ringing and saying "Gordon, we need a quick book to push out before Xmas". Gordon has then thrown together a few middle-of-the-road recipes and come up with the 'theme' of cooking for friends as a sales pitch. Only around a third of the recipes have accompanying photos, and spaces where they could have a photo of the food, there's a pointless photo of Gordon smiling gormlessly at the camera. A vague attempt at jumping on the Jamie/Hugh bandwagon of "buy fresh/local/organic/free-range" is dotted amongst the very-short intros to each section. And an unnecessary jibe at Delia is thrown in for good measure. There are so many better books out there now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 19 Oct 2008 19:47:10 BDT
Last edited by the author on 19 Oct 2008 19:47:43 BDT
Tom_Cat says:
I couldn't agree more - Ramsey wears the same clothes throughout, (and features an awful lot).......as if the whole thing was shot in a day....at minimal cost and a RRP price of £25 - get a life!
I mean he is hardly a dish, himself......save the photography for the recipes, heh?

He has the most awful dig at Delia Smith in the introduction, 'having reduced his overall cookbook collection of other chefs, considerably..... by taking all 'her' books to the charity shop', due to using tinned mince - YAWN........!
What use is there of all that.......but this comes from the guy who also knocks 'stock cubes', his 'good old chum' MPW endorses! Knock the comp, heh?

And as for the physical book contents of this less than averagely produced book.......-
'Conger eel Bisque' and 'goat stew' ....yeah right ........just the thing to knock up for all your friends for Sunday brunch! Come along?

Posted on 3 Nov 2008 17:58:27 GMT
Last edited by the author on 3 Nov 2008 17:59:33 GMT
julia says:
Agree completely. I pre-ordered this book in anticipation of a New Gordon Ramsay COOKERY book - then how disappointed I was to see a photo album of his! I wish I waited and had seen the book first.

In reply to an earlier post on 5 Nov 2008 17:54:23 GMT
S. L. Herron says:
Thank you for your post - it has stopped me buying the book and being disappointed as I so often I am these days with the mediocre twaddle that the supposed 'great cooks' are turning out ... try Nigella ... Jamie ... and so the list goes on! It seems to me that their passion has gone and their t.v personalities and a far too eager publisher seems to be at the forefront instead of the food. Good luck at finding a good one out there!

Posted on 24 Nov 2008 20:50:11 GMT
Last edited by the author on 24 Nov 2008 20:50:58 GMT
Thanks for the honest review. I will be giving this one a miss and will probably have Rick Stein's Coast to Coast on my Xmas wishlist instead - having browsed through it and the Leon cookbook at the bookshop they both have a reasonable amount of recipes I would really like to make (and eat). I can also recommend Sarah Raven's excellent Garden Cookbook and Falling Cloudberries by Tessa Kiros, both of which I own and use regularly. Nigel Slater's books are good too. As for cookbooks full of pictures of the author - Jamie Oliver is guilty of this too - we want pictures of the food not the chef please! I think the dig at Delia might be justified though - what was she thinking with that awful 'How to Cheat' book?!

Posted on 12 Oct 2009 16:47:36 BDT
nudger99 says:
I was going to write a review, but its all been said here!! The whole point of a cookery book is food, not the chef.
Pointless photos of him and empty tables...yawn.

Posted on 19 Apr 2010 21:40:11 BDT
Lesley Grace says:
I wholeheartedly agree. I was so disappointed and so irritated by Gordon's visog I gave the book away.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (30 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 608,488