Customer Review

358 of 375 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unquestionably the best device for making the worst possible tea, 25 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tefal Quick Cup - Hot and Cold Water in 3 Seconds (Kitchen & Home)
Had I paid attention to my own advice and read all the other comments here, I would have known that the 'Quick Cup' is known for turning into a 'No Cup' not long after you buy it. Mine broke just a fortnight after I wrote the review below, and I'm now going to have to go through the fuss of replacing it. Stick with your kettle!

***

Drop a thermometer into a mug of freshly produced Quick Cup water and it'll barely register 85 degrees. Frankly I've had baths in warmer stuff.

Those of you who understand what you need for a proper cuppa will know that the water must be boiling hot (as in 'not 85 degrees'), and if you read the rest of the comments here -- the majority of which identify the exact same flaw -- you will not make the same mistake as the people who wrote them and will wisely steer clear of such a poorly implemented great idea.

Those of you who don't mind drinking tea that looks and tastes like you've held a cup under the drain from your sink, highly recommended.

P.S. It makes really awful Pot Noodles as well. The noodles won't cook if they're not boiled, so you end up with something not far removed from cockroach legs in stagnant water. It's not pleasant.

P.P.S. I realise that admitting to eating Pot Noodles pretty much invalidates my opinion on anything but I was hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 11-20 of 29 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on 30 Oct 2008 10:00:57 GMT
Last edited by the author on 30 Oct 2008 10:05:25 GMT
HP Sauce says:
As I said in my review, the Quick Cup is a great idea that is just very poorly implemented. I can see that a lot of people will find it adequate, and in some cases - such as where a disabled individual is involved - it's nothing short of revolutionary. However, you have to understand that for most folk it's badly designed, overpriced and exceptionally unreliable. Having returned the first and had its replacement break as well, I ended up throwing the thing in the bin and forgetting about it. Can't be bothered. There are a staggering number of complaints about the life span of this item on the Amazon site alone and all it's doing is eating into Tefal's good name. I won't be buying something with their label on it any time soon, I can assure you. Regards, HP.

Posted on 11 Dec 2008 20:00:09 GMT
Genius Pot Noodle comment !

Posted on 13 Dec 2008 10:57:01 GMT
Thank you so much for your review. I was checking the net prices before setting out to haggle in town, when i read you review and skidded to a halt.
I am happy to say, i have had a close escape.
You would expect a brand leader like Tefal to be able to deliver quality goods, but clearly, they have rushed this one through. Put that with the fire hazard Actifryer, Tefal is a name to avoid at the moment.
I am sticking to my £10 kettle and wondering what to spend my saved up pennies on now.
Regards
Ian Clarke, Basildon,Essex.

Posted on 22 Dec 2008 23:36:21 GMT
M. Eley says:
Hahahaha. Thanks for the hilarious review and the saving of my hard earned cash. It sounds like Tefal should get you in as a consultant for the redesign, I might buy one then. I hope you write these reviews for a living, if not, you should. Laughed my socks off, very witty indeed!

Posted on 26 Jan 2009 22:15:36 GMT
W. S. Ward says:
tea is not supposed to be made with 100c water, its supposed to be made with 85c.
pot noodles on the other hand need boiling water
i have the tefal quick cup and apart from the splashing ( newer design has a different spout which minimizes this)
and the noise it makes its actually a good device
it also saves on the electric bill and the water is filtered so where i live in a hard water area its rather refreshing

quoted from a tea making site "The most critical factor in serving tea is the temperature of your water: the greener the tea, the cooler the water should be, preferably between 70-80° C.. This temperature ensures the gentle flavours of white and green teas are released, whereas boiling water will draw out bitter compounds, making the teas taste unpalatable." "the general consensus is not to let the water boil too vigorously as this will result in de-oxygenated water and a stale-tasting tea."

Posted on 29 Jan 2009 13:52:07 GMT
Bob Noodle says:
Thanks HP for saving me £50, In my works canteen we have an instant BOILING water tap and i always thought some day a clever person will make one for use at home. I now know why it has not been done before. All i can say is it must be a coffee drinker at tefal who came up this unfinished article. Don't be ashamed of your food porn habit
Bob Noodle

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Feb 2009 11:13:01 GMT
HP Sauce says:
To which "tea" do you think people are referring in this thread?

Most of the tea drunk in Britain (i.e. ALL black teas, rooibos, pu erh, tisanes and so on) must be brewed with boiling water. Only green, white and oolong teas get along with 70-85C. If you are someone who ONLY drinks these teas and/or have fewer than two functioning taste buds then the Quick Cup is a must buy.

Any savings you make on your electric bill are offset by the postage bill from having to return the unit when it malfunctions. You are also forgetting the fact that Quick Cup is at least twice as expensive as a regular kettle, so as with "energy saver" lamps which slash £5 per year from your bill yet cost four times as much as an ordinary bulb it's going to take you a significant period of time to recoup what you spent.

And as I said in a comment above, the second time mine broke I tossed it in the bin - the biggest savings were to be had in not buying it.

Posted on 26 Feb 2009 15:24:07 GMT
Roary says:
I nearly purchased one of these until my neighbour said it didn't get the water hot enough for a cuppa so thought I'd check out some reviews! Glad I did! A fantastic summary! x

Posted on 14 Mar 2009 16:26:52 GMT
tex says:
dude you saved me money and bad tea, eat what u like

Posted on 15 Mar 2009 21:57:42 GMT
S. Moore says:
Initially this looked ideal for me, as I live alone and the "minimum" fill level on many kettles is around 500ml - I don't have any mugs that big! Shame Tefal didn't include a variable temperature, like some kettles have. Then you could leave it around 80 for instant coffee or green tea, but rack it up to boiling when you need it (not just for black tea, but instant custard etc won't thicken unless the water's boiling). As is, you'd need a normal kettle as well. Thanks for your informative review.

Review Details