Customer Review

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - Universal's done it again!, 11 Sep 2013
This review is from: Marnie [Blu-ray] [1964] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a truly weak transfer which has already been issued as part of the Hitchcock blu ray set and now comes out as a single disc. As it's one of my favourite movies I really could not believe the low quality they have achieved. Along side "Family Plot" (which was DNR'd out of it's mind to produce living waxwoks) it is by far the most shoddy disc in the set and I'm sure it's what they are going to release now too. The colour is not good and the black levels are disappointing. Although the definition is fair the grain swarms around like angry bees and is a constant distraction particularly on very large screens or video projection. My SD DVD copy is infinitely better on all counts and I really cannot understand what Universal is up to! Just check out their transfer of "Citizen Kane" ( as against the excellent Warner version) and their recent "remastered" version of "Cats" to see just how poor this major company can be. I'd stick with your DVD version if I were you! Even on big screen video projection it screens far better than this mess and my views are echoed by all the major blu ray reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Sep 2013 16:06:51 BDT
Too right Adrian - it's a shocking mess!

In reply to an earlier post on 14 Sep 2013 16:08:08 BDT
Adrian Drew says:
Well I wouldn't go quite that far - but it certainly is very flawed and a typical Universal disappointment. I really don't know who is in charge of quality control at that company but he/she sure needs to get their act together. If you really want to see a horror - take a look at "Family Plot" sections of that are unbelievably bad!

Posted on 31 Dec 2013 14:58:54 GMT
I so wish i had read your review before I purchased this awful mess to say disappointed is an under statement. One of the worst transfers ever.

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 11:19:54 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 13 Jan 2014 15:04:15 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 11:25:30 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
What are you on about?? Everything I have said has been verified by others. It is the SAME release!! You really are a rather insulting man!
It was clear to everyone what Universal were issuing as a stand alone disc from the "complete" set issued earlier that year not another restoration. You clearly got out of bed on the wrong side today to issue such an unprevoked attack. Get a life!

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 11:53:19 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 13 Jan 2014 15:04:08 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 12:03:24 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
I think that alerting customers to a problem which I was 99.9% certain existed and was proved to be correct, is a useful initiative. Having read your eulogy to the Collected Hitchcock, an edition which contains such appaling transfers as that of Marnie and Family Plot etc does not exactly place your "reviews" in the top league of the most accurate or helpful! Your reaction to my "review" which was simply trying to be helpful, and as been well receive except for your negative thoughts, is quite extraordinary! Now this really is over and out time!

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 12:21:37 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 13 Jan 2014 15:04:00 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jan 2014 12:51:10 GMT
Last edited by the author on 12 Jan 2014 14:00:43 GMT
Adrian Drew says:
You really are a very insulting and angry man who really should not be spending his life on such a discussion. Anyone with any sense would realise that Universal would NOT be issuing a separate restoration to the one included in the original set!!!!
This "discussion" is entering into the realms of the worryingly absurd - and by the way check on the meaning of "ethos" . Over and REALLY out!

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Jan 2014 10:49:33 GMT
lucas says:
Once again: You published a review about a product that you did not have, ten days before the release of the product. It was an irresponsible review as you based your review in guessing, not facts.

This is a space for shopping. This is no Facebook but you clearly do not have the ethos to understand that. "Ethos" has different meanings. The one that interests me here is the one that equates "ethos" with a person's character, a person's perception.

So, in another words, you don't have the necessary perception to understand that you should not write a review about a product that you don't have or had with you.

This is my last comment here. You did not give a credible, serious reason for your certainty about the quality of this disc
and it is pointless to argue about guessing.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (57 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
14.99 7.00
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 228