Customer Review

123 of 127 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edimax EW-7416APN Wireless AP & Range Extender, 17 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edimax EW-7416APN Wireless Access Point/Range Extender with 2T2R MIMO Technology (Personal Computers)
Purchased this as a Range Extender for a friend after reading amazon reviews.They had a Belkin Router but Belkins's own Extender is not Vista Compatible.
The Edimax is cheap,compact,inobtrusive and both VISTA & XP Compatible.Also MAC according to another reviewer.I tried all the various ways of setting it up according to the various reviews-see Steves's ,Iain etc.

I have set out what I feel is the easiest step by step guide to use it as a Range Extender:
1.Access your own router (see your manual or CD and type in to address bar on Internet Explorer e.g. 192.168.2.1 )and write down the IP Address of your Router (same as what you used to access it).Also write down subnet mask e.g 255.255.255.0 and the DHCP Range e,g. 192.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.100 ).Also channel number.

2. Go to the Edimax website -choose support-enter 7416APN and download the Set Up Wizard File -it works for Vista and XP.

3. See the Edimax manaul on the CD to connect the Edimax.Go to show connections or network connections.Right click on the LAN Port and change the TCP/IP properties as on the edimax instructions to 192.168.2.2.

3. In the folder where you downloaded the Set up wizard compressed zip -click on the file.Then click set up wizard,then click English,then click Wizard,then click o AP Main.It will ask you to extract or Run.Choose Run.

4.The Edimax Wizard screen will open.
5. Connect the Edimax to your PC via the LAN Port-DO NOT CONNECT IT TO THE ROUTER
6. The wizard will detect your Edimax.
7. Follow step by step instructions.It will find your existing network and router.
8.Enter IP address for the Edimax on same string but outside the range of your router -if range say is 192.168.2.1 to 192.168.2.100 the say choose 192.168.2.101 for the edimax.Subnet mask same as your router e.g 255.255.255.0
and the Gateway is the address of your router e.g. 192.168.2.2
Enter your network security settings e.g. WPA AES and the password-suggest same as your current network
The wizard will accept the settings and reboot the edimax.
Then simply use one of your wireless laptops to connect to the Edimax network.You will be asked for the password/passkey.If connects successfully you are done.
Simply unplug the Edimax from the LAN port.Remember to change the TCP/IP settings of the LAN Port to what they were.
Now choose a site for the Edimax within range of your router and plug it in to a mains socket.
Connect all your laptops one by one to the edimax if they are nearer to taht than your main router.

This method works,and you never connect the Edimax to the router.

Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 23 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 21 Jan 2010 09:56:11 GMT
Last edited by the author on 21 Jan 2010 09:57:25 GMT
One query on these otherwise clear instructions:
how do you connect the Edimax to the LAN port on the PC if the router is already connected to this port?
Will these instructions work if you temporarily connect the Edimax to the LAN port on a laptop?

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2010 15:03:11 GMT
D. Mahatme says:
Yes you're right.Temporarily disconnect your PC from the router by taking out the ethernet cable .Plug in the Edimax into the LAN port you've just freed up on the PC.Do as I've set out.Even though your router is disconnected from the PC it is still connected to the mains and your telephone port or cable connection and so will still be sending out a wireless signal for the edimax to find . When I set my friend's up I didn't have any PC or laptop directly wired to the router.

Posted on 13 Feb 2010 14:02:29 GMT
this was a great help thanks!

Posted on 20 Feb 2010 12:11:59 GMT
Thanks Mahatme. That worked briliantly.

Posted on 11 Mar 2010 11:33:10 GMT
Sorry, second day struggling with this machine. All seems to go so well with the instructions and the wizard, but still no internet connection. When my PC directly connects (WiFi) to the wireless router, it works well (router is set to DHCP mode). When via range extender - it doesn't. Perhaps there is some particular issue to know when hooking up extender wirelesly to the router that works in DHCP mode? Some other arrangement with the IPs?

Posted on 4 Jun 2010 10:17:29 BDT
S. Cameron says:
I used these instructions and everything worked extremely well, except for one crucial thing: the access point doesn't seem to get internet access. My devices will connect to the access point (and get five bars, everything splendid), but there it stops. I tried changing the security settings on the router/access point from WEP to WPA, but that makes no difference. I called the Edimax customer support but the guy there was (a) barely civil and (b) clueless. You wouldn't happen to have any suggestions before I send this thing back?

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jun 2010 12:43:34 BDT
F. Colquhoun says:
Like you, I've followed the instructions and no obvious sign of a problem until trying to connect back to the repeater when in full wireless mode. All my devices can see the repeater's SSID name and connect to it with full bar access. But no internet available. Did you get anywhere or send back?

In reply to an earlier post on 16 Jun 2010 08:00:43 BDT
S. Cameron says:
Hi - sorry about late reply, I was away.
I managed to get internet by turning off ALL my protection: removing MAC filtering, disabling WEP/whatever. And NOT turning it back on. As soon as I do, even following all instructions posted here and elsewhere, I lose internet access again.
I'm lucky in that I need the extender quite rarely (I use it for the garden if the weather is good, which... well, this is Scotland) and I live in a fairly quiet suburb, so it's okay for me to surf without protection for few afternoons per year. Also, I was desperate. So I kept it, and I just disable protection when I want to use it. Would still like to know of a better solution, though.

Posted on 19 Jun 2010 12:07:04 BDT
This worked like a dream, thank you so much!

Posted on 11 Nov 2010 23:12:48 GMT
Great review, your a star! Instructions in the manual are ****! Followed your instructions to the letter and had it sorted in no time- you should demand a commission from edimax!
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 144,631