Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly their best album yet, 14 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Shaka Rock (Audio CD)
Jet's third studio album has been a long time in coming and we're beginning to see a pattern. 2003 Get Born. 2006 Shine On. 2009 Shaka Rock. Now, if I have to wait till 2012 for more Jet, then I'm not going to be happy!

Shaka Rock is a departure from the "Old Man Rock" direction of Shine On in that they revert to a more middle ground between that, and their exciting debut album Get On. What we have here is less of the slow ballads and more of the romping rock that we know and love. Things aren't as over-produced either, and some of that raw energy once again flows through. Also, unlike both previous outings, the album flows better. What we have here is a band wanting to perfect their record and it's all the better for it.

Whilst progression isn't vastly forthcoming, Jet has experimented with a few new sounds - particularly `Beat on Repeat' and `Seventeen'. Whilst neither of these are highlights of the album, they're not unwanted either. Overall the album is a success and will stay routed in your CD or MP3 player for weeks to come. Overall 8/10.

01. K.I.A. (Killed In Action): Whilst a decent start to the album, it suffers from needing repeat playing as it sounded very mediocre on first listen. I'd have liked to have seen this later on the playlist. 7/10

02. Beat on Repeat: Ok, on first listen you think `What the hell?' But if you can get past the distinct Dance/Rock style with a Drum n' Bass vibe, there is some good stuff here. Sure, it's quite a departure for Jet, but to a degree it works well. With that said, I did find that it gets boring quite quickly, despite its short duration. 6/10

03. She's a Genius: After a disappointing couple of tracks we get to the first single off the album - and one which is eerily reminiscent of 'Are You Gonna Be My Girl', the hugely successful song from their debug album. If this is the only song you've heard so far, it is a strong indication of the quality on offer from album as a whole. 8/10

04. Black Hearts (On Fire): This is Jet at their finest, with a typically raw sounding and catchy chorus. After a worrying start, the album shifted gears with potential single material. 9/10

05. Seventeen: This doesn't sound like a Jet song at all. The fact that it's pretty good shows how they are progressing, albeit in bite-sized chunks! Contrary to over reviews I've read, I felt that this song got repetitive and old too soon. Good, but no cigar. 6/10

06. La Di Da: Easily the most memorable track on my first play through and it still stands out on repeat playing. At its epitome is an extremely catchy chorus and Jet at their very powerful best. To me this highlights how Shaka Rock is more of an amalgamation of both the raw rock sound of Get Born and the warm sound soft rock sound of Shine On. 9/10

07. Goodbye Hollywood: This will undoubtedly be a future single and is probably the strongest track on the album. Stick it on repeat and you'll be screeching along to this at every opportunity. 10/10

08. Walk: One of the weaker tracks on the album. There's nothing terrible about it other than being unremarkable and easily forgettable. 6/10

09. Times Like This: Now this is a great anthem. Whilst Jet have never been lyrically distinguished, songs like this show a remarked improvement. It builds into a right stormer too, and is the start to very a strong ending to the album. 8/10

10. Let Me Out: Heavily influenced and hugely commercial and none the worse for it either. You'll be singing along to this song in the car for weeks to come. Fabulous stuff indeed. 9/10

11. Start the Show: An aggressive rock track with bundles of energy and some rollicking rock riffs. This should definitely have been the opening track to the album. 8/10.

12. She Holds a Grudge: The only ballad on the disc and it's a complete cracker. Vocally, this is brilliant and one of my favourite Jet songs. "Once in my life I'm gonna say sorry before I die. Baby I'm sorry, so sorry, I apologise. Babe when I hold you then you will know you're my woman." Superb. Even the funky Beatles-esque mid section isn't out of place. One thing Jet always does is end an album well. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in

Review Details



Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,599,418