Customer Review

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star show- lets hope we get the rest of the seasons, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Practice - The Complete First and Second Seasons [DVD] (DVD)
Lots of very unhappy people in the US have wanted this to be released for years. The first mini-season was released but later seasons only been available as very expensive streaming video - and then only to US residents.

Finally the first two seasons get a UK release - lets hope there is enough interest for the rest of the series to be released too.

The series is based in a gritty Boston law firm based in the underbelly of Boston society and the lawyers do whatever is necessary to get their sleezy, usually guilty, clients off.

Doesn't sound a promising idea but the cast is brilliant and it is full of dark, often bizarre, humour as well as a lot of character development within the firm.

This was written by David E Kelley and ran at the same time as his other shows Ally McBeal (about a surreal law firm) and Boston Public (about the school system). In later series there are crossover episodes where cases occur across the two series. You don't need to watch Ally McBeal or Boston Public to know what is going on but it is a brilliant idea - all the more remarkable because Ally McBeal is almost the anti-Practice - a firm so frivolous and zany that they seem to be on completely different planets.

If you want to see some of the best drama from US TV this is a must buy - plus it will help to encourage the release of the other seasons.

As a last word - the final season (8) is basically the springboard into Boston Legal (which went in another totally different direction) and introduces us to a rather darker version of Crane, Poole & Schmidt through the characters of Denny Crane, Alan Shore and Tara - the last two of which emerged from the series The Practice and carried over into Boston Legal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 9 Feb 2012 02:00:08 GMT
Zee Jai says:
Excellent (p)review, Carol.

With regards to sales generating interest in releasing future seasons, the distributors have created a Catch 22 situation whereby a lot of collectors will wait for further seasons to be released before they commit to buying the first season.

There's a lot of unhappy people who have the first 4 seasons of NYPD Blue, but no more, years after the last release.

The Practice is one of my favourite shows, and I really hope we get a full series release, particularly as the last couple of seasons were never shown here in the UK, and are never repeated on Sky.

In reply to an earlier post on 29 Feb 2012 13:14:01 GMT
Last edited by the author on 29 Feb 2012 13:17:48 GMT
PoochJD says:
Hi,

I was one of those fans who imported the US Region 1 DVD set of THE PRACTICE: SEASON 1, and was very annoyed that like so many other excellent shows, no further seasons were released onto disc! I'm reluctant to buy this UK Season 1 and 2 set, without some sort of assurance from MediumRare Entertainment, that they plan to release the other 6 seasons as well.

UK and US fans have been burnt too often in the past, with other shows (such as NYPD BLUE, THIRD WATCH, STARSKY & HUTCH, THE SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN, THE EQUALIZER, TJ HOOKER, etc) to risk being burnt yet again.

It's even more galling, that we've got to buy Season 1 again, in order to get Season 2. Why not release the Seasons seperately, so that UK fans who already have Season 1, don't have to double-dip?!

Are future releases going to be two-seasons per set, as that would at least be a nice way to collect this series, and would make the sets all look nice and uniform?

Extremely frustrating!

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Mar 2012 21:05:05 GMT
Carol Haynes says:
Actually Seasons 1 and 2 are really just season 1. The show had a hiatus in transmission so they described the episodes as two seasons but in reality it is just one. Another reason why the US was unhappy because effectively they only got the first few episodes!

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Mar 2012 11:15:26 GMT
I know what you mean, I have always been a completest myself. But I feel I just can't wait for other series to be released before buying this one, after all the campaigning/moaning we did. But being a completest has drawbacks as I look at my full 5 series of Quantum Leap on the shelf. It went really downhill. I have been cured of the completest bug, the proof is I will not be buying the inferior 3rd series of Lark Rise to Candleford.

Let's not wait people. Let's snap this up now.

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Apr 2012 10:07:47 BDT
Could you tell me if there are subtitles in English please, Carol?

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Apr 2012 13:07:29 BDT
Carol Haynes says:
I checked the first disk (because I didn't look when I watched the series) and as far as I can tell there are no subtitles at all and only English as an audio track.

Audio and Subtitles are not even mentioned on the box and there is no menu entry either.

FWIW the picture format is 4:3 too - though I have to say it is pretty good quality,

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Jul 2012 12:02:27 BDT
Zee Jai says:
Just had this email back from Mediumrare, who released this set:

"Thanks for your email. Sales have been a little disappointing on season 1 and 2 so we are reviewing whether a release of subsequent seasons is viable."

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Jul 2012 20:00:40 BDT
Carol Haynes says:
Have they gone out of their way to market it - I don't get DVD publishers - they just publish stuff and if it is older they don't do any marketing and wonder why no one buys it! Catch 22!

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Jan 2013 07:56:44 GMT
Mikey says:
Well if Mediumrare ever have a glance at the reviews here, they would be certain to see a number of fans eager for the next seasons to follow. i see that they are now releasing the final eight seasons of LA Law in quick succession. Please please Mediumrare, release more of The Practice, even if it has to be just one season a year to enable enough sales to materialise. There are quite a few people who would be over the moon if you could! Thanks.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Jan 2014 12:18:24 GMT
Last edited by the author on 6 Jan 2014 12:21:52 GMT
PoochJD says:
I think the problem is two-fold:

1) UK (and US) Customers are no longer willing to buy single-season sets of shows, unless they know they will be able to buy all seasons, to complete their show. So they wait and see if more than the first two seasons get released. Distributors prefer to release TV shows season-by-season, to gauge sales and to minimise costs.

2) People would prefer a complete series boxed-set be released, so they can get all the episodes in one go, and know they have the complete series in one set. However, distributors don't like doing this, because it's a much bigger expense.

As such, you have the problem that distributors aren't willing to release complete series sets, because they're too expensive, but customers aren't willing to buy just Season 1 (and/or Season 2) sets, because they are worried they won't be able to complete the entire series.

So, we end-up in this horrible situation, where no one wins. Distributors won't release complete series sets, and customers won't buy just the first season, to convince distributors to release more.

However, I do think that distributors would be better off releasing a show like THE PRACTICE in one giant set, for say £75, than releasing just the first Season or two. At least customers who want the show, will then be able to save-up and buy it, and know they've got every episode to watch. It may cost distributors more initially, but it would be far more beneficial to them in the longer term.

As for marketing, this is often expensive for small companies like MediumRare/Koch Releasing. As such, it's only usually done in trade magazines, and one or two TV-related publications when they can afford to do it.

Sadly, the reality is, THE PRACTICE just isn't that popular in the UK. Four different UK TV channels have bought the show, aired it (in part) and found that no one watches it. Even Sky 1 didn't get great ratings when they aired it, way back at the dawn of time. ITV1 aired it, in the mid-to-late 1990's, transmitting Seasons 1-2 late-night, around 3am on Friday mornings.

Then BBC Choice/BBC3 did the same in the early 2000's, with Seasons 1 and 2 again, Thursdays at 10:45pm.

ITV3 aired Seasons 1-6 a few times, but heavily cut them to make them suitable for 10:50am transmission, and now one of the obscure satellite TV networks, whose name eludes me at the moment, (though it may be something like "Showcase 2").

And if MediumRare do look at the number of reviews, then they're going to be extremely disappointed. As of today, 6th Jan 2014, there are just 17 reviews. On Amazon.com in the USA, Season 1 of THE PRACTICE on DVD has just 82 reviews!

I'm sorry, but that's NOT going to convince anyone to release any more seasons at all. If anything, it'll merely convince them that they were right to pull subsequent seasons from being released in the UK and USA!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (25 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
£39.99 £19.64
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: North Yorkshire UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 805