Customer Review

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track by track breakdown, 1 July 2004
This review is from: Afrodisiac (Audio CD)
I gave an overall review of this album here on amazon. (Search for it if you will) But here's a breakdown of each individual track.
01: WHO I AM - A great opening to the album and the most autobiographical song on the record which sums up the reasoning behind her break up with her ex husband and how she felt in the relationship. It's a beautiful song with a great beat and nice vocals. The kinda song that will make you smile. [Album highlight]
02: AFRODESIAC - The first of the records several club tracks and this doesn't disappoint. A very bubbly up-tempo track which is guaranteed to make ya dance. It has an attractive vibe to it; almost as though you've heard it somewhere before. [Album highlight]
03: WHO IS SHE 2 U - Another track from Timbaland and a mid tempo track with very old skool r'nb twinge to it. The kinda song that'll get a smile on your face and get ya groovin'. [Album highlight]
04: TALK ABOUT OUR LOVE - I'm sure this song needs no overview, but none the less...a great track. [Album highlight]
05: I TRIED - Timbaland back to his old tricks. A very Ginuwine and Aayliah style track. A nice mid tempo number to kick back to and Brandy even sings us a line from a Coldplay song! A remedy for a hard day. [Album highlight]
06: WHERE YOU WANNA BE [featuring T.I] - The second cut from Kanye West and it shows a different side to his productions skills as he delivers a very smooth mid-tempo number. A classic sounding track which showcases Brandy's sexy voice as she sings in low registers. [Album highlight]
07: FOCUS - A sexy track with a nice mellow vibe. Timbaland hits again with his trademark unconventional beats. (Can this man do no wrong?!?) Not a track I was keen on at first, but it grew on me.
08: SADDIDY - Timbaland seems to have adopted a somewhat new style on this album, but here he returns to his usual funked out beats. The kinda track you'd expect to hear Jay-Z flow on. Another club banger that is guaranteed to make ya dance and Brandy informs us that she's not the sweet girl we think she is... [Album highlight]
09: TURN IT UP - Another club track from 'Timbo'. The beat is repetitive, but otherwise a feel good track that will get you dancin'. It's likely to be a track you may have heard before as it was the only new Brandy track to circulate on the internet and in the clubs when word was out she was working on new material. WAY before "Talk about our love" went out as a single.
10: NECESSARY - One of the more sensual tracks on the album. With a very OutKast style beat that sounds out of sync and off key until Brandy comes in. A great song and one of my more favoured mid tempo tracks on the album. [Album highlight]
11: SAY YOU WILL - A nice smooth track, with Brandy back on familiar territory. In the same kinda vein as LIKE THIS ('Full moon'). A nice sensual song.
12: COME AS YOU ARE: The albums' best track in my eyes; one of the albums most infectious tracks and the most up-tempo. Brandy would be wise to release this as a single as it would tear up any club and soar up the charts. Timbaland returns with his Arabian / Indian style melodies and thick bass-lines. One of the best tracks on the album by far.. [Album highlight]
13: FINALLY - Epic; in a word. This track is amazing and the sampled strings and Brandy's vocals give this song a very dramatic, yet beautiful like quality. Brandy gives her best vocal performance on this track without a doubt. An empowering song. [Album highlight]
14: HOW I FEEL - A nice mellow groove, but it feels out of place sandwiched between FINALLY and SHOULD I GO. Very reminiscent of a Toni Braxton song mind you. A nice song overall though, but not one I'm majorly keen on.
15: SHOULD I GO - The second track to which a Coldplay track is sampled. Here, it's "Clocks" and it's used to great effect. Brandy sings about her place in the music industry. Usually such songs grate on me, but this one really is touching and a great finish to the album. [Album highlight]
SIRENS [featuring Timbaland] - I have no idea why this track wasn't placed on the official UK release of the album. I managed to get a hold of it online and this track is unbelievable. Why was this not placed on the UK release of the album? Timbaland switches it up again with his Arabian / Indian style melodies. This track is in the same vein as "Come as you are" a track begging to be a single that would get a club live in a second. Try and hunt this track down or if you find an import copy of the album which has this on it, BUY IT. Don't miss out, this track is amazing.[Highlight]
So there you have it! Overall a great album. It's a shame there isn't more of it and that SIRENS wasn't put on the UK release as it's a great song. A definite MUST BUY and if you're in the mood for more things Brandy, I suggest you buy Full Moon if you don't already own it. Still a great record. Well done Bran, you did it again! EAT THIS Beyonce!!! *smile*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in

Review Details



Location: United Kingdom

Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,509,723