Customer Review

75 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Macbook i've used to date, 12 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Apple 13 inch MacBook Air (Dual-Core i5,1.7GHz,4GB,128GB Flash,HD Graphics) (Personal Computers)
Length:: 7:19 Mins

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 21 Oct 2011 18:59:12 BDT
Beth says:
Great video congrats! I bought a macbook air after your praising review and its amazing couldn't want anything more. Best decision ever!

In reply to an earlier post on 23 Oct 2011 01:42:04 BDT
iGlaswegian says:
Thanks Beth for the kind words. Much appreciated, and always a pleasure to read positive feedback. If you need any further help or further videos on the Macbook Air 13" 2011 series, feel free to check out my YouTube channel (youtube.com/theunits3) which has plenty of content.

Posted on 6 Nov 2011 21:17:14 GMT
chazlondon says:
probably the best independent review of the Macbook Air i have across on the web.

Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Jan 2012 22:58:45 GMT
Last edited by the author on 30 Jan 2012 23:00:10 GMT
Katherine says:
I'm so confused now! Was going to buy the 11" basic but you've got me thinking now about higher end 11" or 13". I'm sorry but I didn't understand about how to find out about the Samsung/Toshiba thing. Do I find this out once I have the computer? Is it really that easy to return a MBA just because of this issue? 64GB not worth it even though I am a light user? Many thanks in advance for your help and also for such a great and informative review.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Jan 2012 23:23:55 GMT
iGlaswegian says:
Katherine,

Its really easy to find out which drive you've got (samsung / toshiba). Yes, the only way to find out which one you have is by turning the machine on and going through the 'about this system' section (which is easy to access, no rocket scientist required ;) ). If you send me a wee email through at iglaswegian@gmail.com - I can guide you through if you wish.

I personally wouldn't recommend 64gb to anyone - its just not enough. You'll constantly find that your running low on space and it'll become a pain. If your spending this much on a MBA - do yourself a favour and opt for a 128.

Cheers
Zen

Posted on 17 May 2012 10:10:48 BDT
hi there - great video and very helpful - BUT - can you explain why it's not worth paying the extra for 256 and sticking with the 128 on the 13"? When would I notice the difference (i.e using which applications)? My main concern is having sufficient memory so that it doesn't slow down the laptop... hope you can help! Thanks :))

In reply to an earlier post on 17 May 2012 13:44:43 BDT
Last edited by the author on 17 May 2012 13:46:04 BDT
iGlaswegian says:
Ceylan,

No no - your getting it wrong, lol. The only different between the 256gb and 128gb is the 'space'. It won't make it go any faster if you opt for the 256. Put it this way - if you buy a motorcycle, the max no of people that could sit on it is two (driver and passenger). If you buy a car - you could squeeze in more people. Ok, probably not the best analogy but you get my point (hopefully).

Why you want to opt for 256 is if you intend on storing A LOT of data on your laptop. If your the sort of person who downloads a lot of files, wants to install tons of applications - the 256gb would allow you to do this. In any case, you could always get an external hard drive and store all your files on that - as I do. So all my movies etc, stay on the external hard drive and I keep the day-to-day files stored on my Mac.

In any case - I would recommend not purchasing a Macbook at this stage as a refresh is due really soon. So in essence, you will be able to pick up the latest model in a few weeks time for the same price as the current ones. The last thing you want to be doing is getting this now and then finding out new ones are out (with better specifications and latest technology) ;). I guess its all down to priorities - how urgently you need the machine etc etc.

Hope the above answered your question, feel free to ask anything else.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (22 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £569.95
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Scotland

Top Reviewer Ranking: 32,214