Customer Review

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The details..., 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wagner: The Operas (Audio CD)
To help the previous reviewer, and to hopefully give a rating to this wonderful bargain that it deserves!
This set contains (I believe) Solti's complete Wagner Opera recordings, ranging chronologically from Die Fliegende Hollander to Parsifal.
Die Fliegende Hollander
Tannhauser
Lohengrin
Tristan und Isolde
The Ring
Meistersinger
Parsifal
Also included is a bonus CD containing excerpts from the Tristan rehersal and some digital Ring concert excerpts from the early 80's
A 150 page booklet with synopsis and an introduction is included as well as full librettos are supplied in .pdf format on a CD-ROM.
All recordings are with the Weiner Philharmoniker except Hollander which is with the Chicago Symphony.
For reviews of the Operas, please see the Amazon reviews of those releases, or other souurces.
Needless to say the Solti Ring is legendary, but since I only got this on a few days ago I haven't had a chance to sample it really yet, however given that the Solti Ring on its own is still currently retailing at only a few pounds less than this set, this is a substantial bargain even comparing this set to other Wagner Opera sets out there at the moment.

Excellent preparation for the Wagner bicentenery next year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 16 Sep 2012 13:55:19 BDT
Dogbertd says:
Is the Ring version included here in any way remastered? I don't suppose it's the same mastering as the super-duper £180 version, is it?

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Sep 2012 19:35:56 BDT
Paul Thomas says:
Hi

No, this is the same recording that you get if you buy the normal CD release of the Solti Ring.

Still a bargain if you havent got it already, but no point in buying it for the Ring if you already the prior release.

Posted on 2 Oct 2012 20:49:31 BDT
A Pedant says:
I do think the previous reviewer was a little hasty, but I have a bit more sympathy than you do and will only say this (partly because I'd like to know and partly for rhetorical effect): are you sure from either the Amazon listing or .... ahem.... DECCA's own marketing which of Solti's Meistersinger recordings is actually present here? You see I think there are two......
All the best and, everyone, carry on enjoying Solti's Wagner whatever the answer, as I shall.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Oct 2012 14:18:02 BDT
According to Decca's own website, Meistersinger is the older, 1975-76 recording.

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Oct 2012 16:52:06 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Oct 2012 16:53:27 BDT
D. S. CROWE says:
This set is a great bargain if you don't have the recordings-and the 70's Meistersinger IS preferable in just about every way (except for Heppner) to the later Chicago recording except that it badly needs remastering as it is one of Decca's early transfers in rather thin "scratchy" sound. HOWEVER-Decca HAS remastered the Ring in 24 Bit sound, using the 1997 reconstruction from what original tapes remained intact and the out takes or alternative takes (which DID survive) where the original ones had sadly (and carelessly!!) been allowed to degrade. This is only currently available in the Limited Edition bumper box (and very beautiful it is too!), but you may rest assured that having invested the time and technology to produce it, Decca will not let another opportunity to milk it's most successful cash cow go by,and are already gearing up to release it separately in 2013, the anniversary year.
The difference IS palpable, and it has never sounded so stunning-and that's saying something! So, if resources are scarce and the Ring is your main interest, it will be worth hanging (magic) fire! (Sorry, couldn't resist it). Best Regards, Stewart.

Posted on 8 Feb 2013 21:29:44 GMT
J Pabst says:
"Die" fliegende Holländer? Surely German isn't that difficult... (Will it be 'La trovatore' next?)

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Feb 2013 21:39:32 GMT
D. S. CROWE says:
A bit harsh surely for a typo. SC

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Feb 2013 22:01:51 GMT
J Pabst says:
Sorry, Stewart, but a typo would be "Dre fliegende Holländer" or "Det fliegende Holländer", brought about by a naughty keyboard not up to your fingers' speed or volatility. The assumption that "the" always translates into "die", however, seems a slightly more profound misconception...
On a different note, may I say that I really cherish your Wagner reviews, which have been quite helpful prior to some of my purchases.
Best wishes, Jochen

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Feb 2013 00:43:21 GMT
D. S. CROWE says:
I can't argue with logic of that, Jochen. I still get annoyed when I see comments or even disc titles for DIE Götterdämmerung ! There is a clue in the title of Das Rheingold, and a little further afield Der Rosenkavalier! Thank you for the kind comment- I try to be objective but I love the works so much it is difficult. I'm really glad if I have helped a little. Best Regards, Stewart.

Posted on 28 Jan 2014 12:56:45 GMT
Tobasca says:
Hi All,
Sorry if I have misunderstood what people are saying, but it sounds as if a 2012 remastered version has been made of the Ring Cycle, but that you can only get it by buying the £200+ Special Edition boxset. Is that correct? Do you know if there are any plans to release that version as a normal CD box set in place of the existing purple covered ring cycle and this Solti-Wagner compendium? I really want to buy a copy of Solti's Ring Cycle, and would gladly buy this one including all of Wagner's other operas, but I am loathe to buy it knowing that there is a better version of the Ring just around the corner! But equally, I'm not sure I want to pay £200+ for the special edition. As a beginner to all of this, any advice would be greatly appreciated!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.4 out of 5 stars (7 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 890,989