Customer Review

203 of 208 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Owner of Both: HTC HERO & iPhone 3G, 6 Sep 2009
This review is from: HTC Hero Sim Free Android Smartphone (discontinued by manufacturer) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Jan 19th 2011. *NOTE* (Updated from when I purchased some time ago...)

The new Cupcake 1.5 with sense UI, has proven such a success even hackers with the old HTC T-MOBILE G1's; Have upgraded their Phones with all the new Hero software with their inferior hardware, compared to the G3 HTC HERO 528Mhz CPU, 512 ROM, 288 RAM. - Hackers or Dev teams have even optimized the software With minimal lag to run on the T-mobile G1 & found it on YOUTUBE. (what an acheivement considering the G1 is over 2 years old).

Anywayz, the Hero's touch screen in my humble opinion is better than my iPhone 3G (2008 version), I now for the first time on Vodafone have an "H" Sign on top of my screen which means "high speed broadband", something I could never get on my iPhone without using WIFI.

1. Heptic feedback that tingles your finger tips with the very lightest touch of keyboard, portrait or landscape, (FAB)
2. The Android store has well enough FREE APPS to keep anyone busy upgrading their Phone (very happy)
3. Full compatibility with New "Google talk and Skype". (Unlike iPhone)
4. SIM FREE and upgradable memory to 4GB, 8GB, 16GB Micro SDHC Cards.
5. Beautiful smooth, sharp and clean screen. (in my opinion better than the iPhone 3G).
6. The whole experience is very intuitive and after a week or two, you will understand the device without the need for PDF Manual.
7. The Phone is very well build to a High standard, together with 5 megapixel Auto-Focus Camera & video-camera.
8. The White one I own is Teflon coated.
9. Adobe FLASH compatible (iPhone isn't)
10. From "Flat to Fully Charged" in just less than 2 hours, which is very convenient.

I could go on and on... I'm just happy I took the plunge and bought the phone. I have no regrets.

Highly recommend you buy a decent case to protect it, one made by "tuf-luv" here on Amazon.
Amazon also have the best price. (with next day delivery if chosen at checkout).

EDIT: UPDATE JAN 19th, 2011 - "This Phone is still One of the very BEST Smartphones on the market" -: with the "very latest HTC HERO" (Firmware updates.!), and New*(2.2 Froyo, Android OS)*, and the small Lag issues have now all been ironed out, and (runs very smoothly in every day to day operation...) Now the price has been greatly reduced from what I paid, so bag your self a bargain.

Amazon UK currently have the BEST Price with superb Customer Support.! BUY With Confidence.! :)

if you found my review helpful, please reward my efforts by CLICKING (YES) "as its appreciated - Thanks!" (David :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 9 Sep 2009 07:21:20 BDT
UPDATE... a Firmware Fix, is on its way to help sort out the lag, for all HTC HERO Owners, please copy and paste LINK to browser....
http://phandroid.com/2009/08/19/upcoming-htc-hero-update-removes-lag-video/

the New Fix can be seen in full operation @ the above LINK; "the final version" is ready to be sent out to HTC HERO owners very soon.

NO MORE LAG even with many apps working in the background.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Dec 2009 18:25:04 GMT
Gerry O'D says:
I had a look at one of these in the shop yesterday - I was impressed with the touch-screen (maybe not as impressed as I was with the new Sony OLED mp3 player's touchscreen, but that's another story).

Your review has defo sold the phone. All I need to do now is hope there's £369.99 lurking under the sofa cushion.

Posted on 24 Jan 2010 10:06:36 GMT
'H' Stands for HSDPA/HSPA (but essentially, it is fast 3g.)

Posted on 2 Apr 2010 13:26:26 BDT
thanx

Posted on 15 Apr 2010 08:25:35 BDT
Good review.

I have had this phone just over a month and still "play" with it daily. I normally get bored of new phones after a couple of days but the Hero and Android have loads to keep me coming back. I can't wait for the 2.1 firmware update so that we can install apps to the memory card.

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Apr 2010 07:12:17 BDT
to: Mr. T. Feighery,

Thanks for your kind comment regarding my review which is appreciated, the HERO G3 is still at the top of the league dispite new models coming out, its got plenty of power - more than enough, any more power to the CPU and it has the effect on a shorter battery life, before you consider rushing out to buy the new qualcomm 1Ghz CPU 3.7 inch AMOLED screen FOR around £400 HERE ON AMAZON.... the HTC Hero G3 has a tremendous following and support on the internet, with loads of "apps".... its now very fast thanks to all the new firmware updates... and at the present price on amazon.co.uk is a bargain.

it was nearly £499 last year when 1st released, so bear that in mind... its the 1st "fully developed android handset" with all "the bugs ironed out"... (unlike the 1st android handsets) runs smoothly, and looks spectacular... 9/10 for functunality and New SENSE UI together with a generally user friendly operation, no need to spend hours going though the manual either....

"buy with confidence"... and its much, much cheaper than the inferior Apple 3GS which does cost an arm and a leg to buy, but doesnt have what the Hero G3 has... the Hero G3 is more an enthusiasts phone - it does everything very well... with a top notche touche screen with feedback.. (cheers! for reading)...

a handset that will last you 3 years easily... Monday 26th April 2010.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Jun 2010 22:54:21 BDT
Greig Marks says:
hi just got my hero from three mobile awsome fone looking into getting the girlfriend 1 but is this a brand new sealed phone and is it white or pink i cant tell
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (83 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £70.00
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Co.Tyrone, United Kingdom.

Top Reviewer Ranking: 94