Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

159 of 175 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb...as long as you know what content is available., 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roku 2400EU LT AV Receiver Set-Top Box (Electronics)
Please note my review is based on the Roku LT, I only mention as I have saw this review appear for the new Roku hdmi pen but perhaps they are the same in terms of function that Amazon see fit that this review show for both products.

I bought the Roku for viewing Netflix because my smart TV does not have the Netflix app, and I also wanted to be able to shift it through to the TV in the kitchen (well since then I bought another for the kitchen) . Since I purchased this a few years back loads has been added so I use it for much more than just Netflix (review updated November 2014 to reflect this)

Netflix on Roku - I think the video and sound quality when viewing Netflix is excellent (even on my 42" plasma). I have been using it for months and have also had no problem with audio sync, pixelation or freezing during video play back. This was reassuring when I was using it in my kitchen as my other wi-fi devices usually report a low wi-fi signal in that part of my house. A few niggles I have about the Netflix interface on Roku... I do not think that it allows you to browse the entire catalogue, obviously you can search for a show or movie if you know the name of it (I think in other Netflix interfaces you can search by actor but not here) and the main screen comes up with new additions and recommendations across all genres based on your preferences and previously viewed shows or movies, but I have a feeling that there are some things you could miss on the Netflix Roku app if you did not know it was there, and perhaps using the Netflix website (or mobile app) occasionally to browse by genre etc would be a good idea to keep you up to date with the content. The Roku does not seem to have a "Browse All" option for Genres so I have spotted some movies on the website that were not shown on the home page on Roku, they are there....you just have to search. Don't get me wrong though, most of the content you would want is available from the home screen. Also it would be nice if you could add subtitles instantly during play back like (for example) when watching Netflix on the Wii, however you seem to have to go back to the previous screen, select them, then resume playing, but as it starts exactly where you left off this is hardly a big issue. As with all other Netflix apps any show or movie starts were you last left it and this syncs across your Netflix account so you can start watching something on the Roku, pick it up on your laptop, whatch a bit more on your phone, and come back to the Roku and each time it will start from were you left it on the previous device. You can obviously also choose to start from the beginning. I have noticed with Netflix that when you first start watching something it takes about 10 seconds or less for the video quality to catch up to full quality, so do not be disheartened if the video quality looks poor as soon as the video starts. Overall I am extremely happy with watching Netflix on the Roku. It comes with an AV connector so you can watch it on an old CRT type TV too, but you do have to purchase a HDMI cable if you want to watch it this way. I also love the Roku remote which only has a few buttons, the pause and rewind buttons functioning similarly across all Roku channels. More of which below.

Other channels on Roku (available from the channel store option on the device home page)

BBC iPlayer app, any time I have used it I have found the browser as well as video and audio playback to be flawless and some of the content is in HD, but to be honest the standard definition stuff looks great too! The iPlayer Roku app does not let u download like the iPlayer app does on other devices, probably due to the limited space on the Roku which is only intended to stream quality.

Movie lovers will be pleased to see sky's Now TV (subscription required) and Sky store available (to let you buy or rent sky movies). Google Play movies has also recently been added (November 2014-reassuring that channels keep getting added clearly the roku is not a dying technology)so androiders can view any movies they have bought or rented from the Play store. Though sadly (at least as of November 2014) amazon on demand video is not available, a huge disappointment for me who gets all these movies as part of Amazon prime but can't watch them on this.

There's also a handy Roku app so if your mobile or tablet are on the same WiFi as the Roku you can use the device as a spare remote, as well as adding channels and streaming pics to the Roku.

Youtube is also available and while the quality is great I find the interface for YouTube very clunky however there is a neat option to "beam" YouTube clips from the YouTube app on your mobile or tablet to the Roku I actually find this quicker than browsing for videos on the YouTube Roku channel.

There are hundreds of other channels available on the Roku, most of them are free though some are subscription based. Many of the channels available are from American sources, though there are loads of category specific things from cooking channels, news, religion, gadgets/tech, music, radio,games and other video on demand services such as Break.com (the best Break interface I have saw on a device) and Crackle. Oh and it also has Dog TV a channel purely for dogs.

Lovers of obscure movies will love some of the channels which brings tons of B movie horror, pulp movies and westerns available for free with an ad played before hand. The quality of these is terrible as they obviously have not been cleaned from their original source but this adds to the charm. I also liked the Facebook channel, it only shows the media content posted by yourself and others but if you have a lot of high quality pictures and videos on your (or others) Facebook accounts, this is a handy way to see them on a big screen. For more info on the available channels check out Roku.com
Some points to note which may be an issue for some...

To use the Roku you will have to subscribe at their web site with payment details (was pleased to see Paypal accounts are accepted) this is so that they can charge you if you purchase any of the paid channels but they don't take any payments off you unless this happens, much like the same way you have payment details saved with google in case you buy paid android apps. At one point during the setup of the device a code appears, and you have to then visit the website and enter the code, so if you are setting up the device it would be handy to have the internet to hand.

Also it only connects to the web via wi-fi, it has no Ethernet port so you will have to be sure your TV (or at least the places your Roku will sit) is within range of your wi-fi router. It also has no feature for reading video files direct from the device (such as from USB or SD) so if you already have a device for this, then you will have to keep it and the Roku and use both as required.

It does not allow you (as a standard feature) to stream media from your computer, I have heard some people buy it who think this is a feature. However (and maybe this is what Roku were referring to) one of the additional channels available is called Plex and allows you to setup your PC as a media server to stream videos to the Roku and also Plex apps on Android etc. I have never used this but it gets mixed review. I have however recently downloaded Juice for Android to stream videos from my tablet to Roku which works really well for me, the Juice app is a couple of quid but there's a free version to test it first.

To summarise I think the Roku is an awesome product and I have no regrets, but you should be aware of the content available before making your purchase especially if there is a particular channel you plan to mostly use (check Roku website to see if it's available) and you should not assume that any content you can access on the web is going to be available here. It looks good in its purple and black finish and it is tiny, around the size of a cigarette pack. I was also pleased to see that the Roku came first in the Cnet Prizefight against Apple TV.

Feel free to ask me any questions you might have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 Jan 2013 17:45:55 GMT
broxi3781 says:
Sorry to bother you - just wondering if you can get Angry Birds and Google Play on this - if you can I am buying it for my sons birthday. They love angry birds.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Jan 2013 21:04:41 GMT
J. O'Boyle says:
Hi, no you can't get angry birds on the LT but I believe you can on the dearer one, the Roku XS 2 which is about £80. But the LT doesn't have Google Play as the Rokus are not android devices, if you want this facility you may be better to look at an Android media player such as the JUSTOP K9 on Amazon. Hope this helps.

Posted on 27 Jan 2013 21:14:50 GMT
Betty Sinyan says:
Hi,

I'm not with any tv provider at the moment, just heard about roku and was thinking of getting it. What is the difference between the £50 one and the £80 box?. If i have wireless internet in my house, can i still have this box in my bedroom which is far from the wifi box? Does it show all tv channels and will i have to pay any monthly subscription?

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Jan 2013 22:23:17 GMT
J. O'Boyle says:
The dearer one has bluetooth, an ethernet ot for wired connection, expandable memory, and angry birds. It also has a motion sensitive remote for playing the game (bit like the Wii I think). The box needs to be able to get a wi-fi signal, obvioulsy I can't say if your bedroom is within range or not. If you have a smart phone or laptop etc or other wireless device see if you can get wi-fi in the bedroom, if they can I imagine the roku will be able to. If not you could use a cable with the dearer box. it does not show tv channels only the channels available from the Roku store, BBC iplayer is included but not other terestrial channels you should check out roku website for a list of channels.

Posted on 16 Mar 2014 15:41:35 GMT
EC182 says:
4OD for Channel 4 is now available plus BBC iPlayer and Demand 5. Just ITV still missing now. Netflix is available if you have a subscription for that. If you can't get Wi-fi in your room the more expensive Roku 3 will let you use an Ethernet cable for internet if that will reach.

Posted on 7 Sep 2014 00:25:46 BDT
Mr. Aj Cran says:
Youtube is available. Check the channel store.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Sep 2014 10:41:51 BDT
J. O'Boyle says:
Yeah I had updated the review further down saying this, thanks though.

Posted on 25 Oct 2014 11:39:10 BDT
Hi is Amazon Prime Tv available on this box?

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Oct 2014 12:26:42 BDT
J. O'Boyle says:
Not in the UK unfortunately.

Posted on 28 Nov 2014 04:19:32 GMT
KWG says:
Just wanted to say Thank You for taking the time to explain things so well to us.

Much appreciated.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Ayrshire, Scotland United Kingdom

Top Reviewer Ranking: 15,198