Customer Review

11 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cherished Zionist Myths Get Veneer of Respectability., 29 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
Michael Oren (between bouts in the Israeli Defence Forces disseminating the Israeli point of view for the media) has apparently written this majesterial and impartial history of the 1967 war. By strange coincidence it more or less absolves the Israelis from starting the war. Apparently they werent even interested in seizing territories it just kinda happened!

Having almost as many footnotes as Joan Peters ground breaking From Time Immemorial (ground breaking in the sense that Peters probably wished the ground would open up and swallow her after it was exposed as a fraud) Orens book has a veneer of academic respectability that is only slightly more plausible than Peters infamous fantasy. The author constantly selects the evidence to fit into his account of the war and ignores evidence that does not fit into his schema.

It is hardly suprising that a book such as this has been written by an admirer of Ariel Sharon; what is a little surprising is the wide spread acclaim for this book by people who ought to know better.

A far better history of the 1967 war is Jeremy Bowens Six Days: How the 1967 War Shaped the Middle East which gives a better picture of the reality of that war rather than the pseudo propaganda that Oren has manufactured.

Avoid, or at any rate read it metaphorically holding your nose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 108 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 11 Jun 2009 15:31:51 BDT
[Deleted by Amazon on 31 Oct 2009 14:34:04 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 12 Jun 2009 00:46:21 BDT
Last edited by the author on 12 Jun 2009 05:07:19 BDT
S Wood says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on 2 Jul 2009 19:14:26 BDT
Last edited by the author on 2 Jul 2009 19:19:27 BDT
F. Patel says:
I actually have a copy of the book you recommend in front of me as I type. I also have Michael Oren book on my book shelf. Out of the two books the latter is definitely the superior. Which leads me to have a look at the Jeremy Bowen book on Amazon and its reviews. It appears that anybody who writes favorably about Oren is attacked by you as some sort of Zionist puppet and that Bowen is your man.
I have no problem with people who review books, but lets be honest here your attacks on anybody who doesn't support your political viewpoint is very disturbing. If you feel that the Palestinians are getting a raw deal because of Israel that is your right.
Using vitriol in which to promote your political bent isn't. This is Amazon not a political debating chamber.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Jul 2009 20:38:09 BDT
Last edited by the author on 9 Jul 2009 22:47:29 BDT
S Wood says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Aug 2009 14:20:24 BDT
It is quite amusing to see just how many books on Irael "s Wood" seems to pop up, using every possible means of making anyone who disagrees with his extremist viewpoints, illigitimate.

Even with overwhelming praise internationally, from other academics to Oren's critics and here, on Amazon is not enough. He then goes and recommends a journalist Jeremy Bowen (not even a historian or academic) with an overwhelming record of bias, complaints and historical distortions as being more "correct".

Having seen a low rating from S Wood for this book, I knew I could add this to my basket without even so much as a glance at any other synopsis or reviews.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Aug 2009 15:47:15 BDT
Last edited by the author on 10 Aug 2009 16:13:28 BDT
S Wood says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Aug 2009 17:41:02 BDT
See what I mean?

S Wood needs me to back up my statements (not that he'd pay any attention to them if I were), seeing as I have the international academia and journalists on my side, it is quite obvious to anyone who can "think" that the impetus is on YOU to back up your opinions.

Once you have learnt to debate in a more honest way, you may find others willing to engage more sincerely.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Aug 2009 21:40:46 BDT
Last edited by the author on 10 Aug 2009 22:27:37 BDT
S Wood says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 28 Sep 2009 21:42:47 BDT
Last edited by the author on 28 Sep 2009 21:56:40 BDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Oct 2009 03:32:14 GMT
You might find mein Kampf and Protocols of the Elders of Zion would be more up your street... thankfully there would be no info to distract you from your preconceived prejudices...
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (14 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £11.72
Add to wishlist
Reviewer

S Wood
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   

Location: Scotland

Top Reviewer Ranking: 991