Customer Review

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic culture novel, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surface Detail (Kindle Edition)
Yet another cracking culture novel, well worth the wait. Typical twists and turns aplenty with double (triple?) crossing as expected from a Banks novel. Up to the very last word of the book you get revelations. This may well be the best culture novel yet, which is impressive given use of weapons and player of games were unbelievably good.

Have to echo the complaints about the poor kindle version though. It wasn't enough to spoil my enjoyment but had me scratching my head more than once. Poor show Amazon. 5 stars for the novel, minus 1 for the kindle errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 Oct 2010 22:35:50 BDT
M. Welser says:
it is quite unhelpful to mix the rating of a book with the rating of its Kindle representation. Do you rate the cover when buying a "real" book?

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Oct 2010 23:24:14 BDT
Maximus1 says:
Not at all - this review is clearly flagged as the (Kindle edition) and there are a *lot* of errors in this edition. If I was looking to buy this book again then I would definitely choose a printed copy over the Kindle version due to this and I wish I had known about the poor conversion beforehand.

If there were missing paragraphs in a printed book then surely you'd want to know about it before you bought it?

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Oct 2010 07:41:40 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Oct 2010 08:42:32 BDT
If you purchased a hardback book and the cover was damaged you would complain and ask for a replacement. But this wouldn't affect the contents of the book (as per the age old saying never judge...)

However, if the text of your hardback book had (numerous) errors a replacement wouldn't help as all copies are identical. The book would physically be fine but the contents would be incorrect.

Would this then spoil your enjoyment of the book? How would you voice this displeasure? I chose to voice my displeasure in a review where I judged the contents to be worth 4 stars not 5. Although I did mention that the story itself deserves 5 stars.

You are entitled to your own opinions (and review). Such is the joy of Amazon and peer review.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Oct 2010 18:02:08 BDT
A. Patten says:
I agree completely. The story itself is excellent, but the product was let down slightly by the formatting errors of the Kindle version. Not enough to spoil my enjoyment of it, but enough to cause a little confusion/irritation on a few occasions. So, 5 stars for the story, 4 stars for the product is a fair assessment in my opinion too.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Oct 2010 10:35:37 BDT
Last edited by the author on 22 Oct 2010 10:36:38 BDT
M. Riches says:
I really don't think a 4 or less star review is helpful at all, if you think the novel is a 5 star book then rate it that way... all you do is drag the overall rating down and under-rate the book for anyone looking to buy it. Since there is no separate rating for kindle editions please leave kindle rating out of the rating you give it until amazon does decide to have a separate ratings system. If you have a serious problem with the kindle edition why not email amazon and let them know.

By all means mention the kindle problems in the review, but don't let it influence the actual rating of the book. I came onto amazon to look at what rating Surface Detail got and was mildly disappointed to see it only had a 4 star rating... when it should be 5.

In reply to an earlier post on 26 Oct 2010 18:12:06 BDT
A. Patten says:
@M. Riches: Of course, that is your opinion, and I respect that. I think that the Amazon rating is for the product purchased though. With the arrival of the Kindle, it makes reviewing a 'book' product harder since there is a one-size fits all grade for every version of a book; paperback, hardback, Kindle, etc. Since the product I purchased was slightly sub-standard, I posted a comment agreeing with this review.

To be honest, it is a failing of the Amazon rating system, and can't see that being changed any time soon!

Just to be clear, the story itself is 100% rated 5 stars all day long. Great stuff!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (219 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
£5.99
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 768,309