Customer Review

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Package, Horrible 3D, 7 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polar Express 3D [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good job you get the "2D" version as well as the 3D as the 3D is VERY poor. Continual ghosting, especially on close up faces, the (included) red & blue glasses cause whites to almost flash with interfereing colours and some parts of the film simply can't be made out at all.

On the positive side, some of the 3D work is beautiful, it seems particular care was put into some 3D scenes? Snowflakes do look like they are 2' into your living room, some perspective scenes are superb, but your eyes will hurt by the end of the film.

I'm happy with the purchase, I've got Polar Express 2D on bluray and on DVD in this set, together with a good list of extras and bonuses. The 3D was great to experience (to see the good, high quality snippets) but I doubt I'll be watching that again.

In essence, I'd have definitely paid this price for the 'standard' bluray alone, so no grumbles that the 3D one isn't great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 30 Apr 2010 14:04:52 BDT
J. Adlington says:
I wonder if these poorly rated 3D dvd's would be OK with the proper glasses?
These are all ratings using those rubbishy little cardboard coloured plastic film lenses.
Now we have 3D abundantly in our cinemas, you get proper glasses - and some of them include them in the film price, so you can take them home.
HAS ANYONE TRIED their dvd's again using the more modern glasses- i'd like to know before buying (as i already have Polar Express on 2D)

cheers - jan

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Jun 2010 17:40:12 BDT
John Colman says:
There is more than one method for fooling the brain into thinking they are seeing a 3D image.
In the cinema two projections are used so that specially polorised glasses isolate a different image in each eye.
Currently, home cinema, and indeed this film itself, uses a different method known as anaglyph (the glasses with coloured lenses). Anaglyph 3D will always be inferior to polorised 3D because you lose colour information.
The good news is that 2010 will see the launch of a third method of home 3D representation which uses special synchonised shutter glasses. You need a new television for this and so far very few films are available. This type of 3D will be a huge improvement over the coloured glasses.
In the future there will be "glasses free 3D" in fact, Nintento will shortly release the 3DS video-game using a technique similar to those lenticular cards you used to get in cereal boxes.
3D is inevitable and will only get better. It's only a matter of time before 3D TV is to 2D TV what Colour was to black and white.

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Nov 2012 22:08:40 GMT
Lennonpolo says:
Good post! Did you find out?

Posted on 15 Nov 2013 00:39:09 GMT
Oz says:
PLEASE note the Blu Ray is now REAL 3D, no red and blue glasses needed!!

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Nov 2013 18:40:25 GMT
john lindsay says:
I have tried it with the glasses provided with my Samsung smart 3d tv and they disappointingly do not work with this dvd. I am in terms process of returning the dvd to the seller who is based in Switzerland.Had I known this I would not have bought this dvd

Posted on 13 Jul 2014 08:57:40 BDT
ZiggyT says:
While Amazon reviews are helpful they have no regard for accuracy when grouping different versions of a movie. Its quite evident that the primary negative review here is of the old and inferior approach to 3D - red and green cardboard glasses. I had two of these myself (now in the bin) and in so far as the review is concerned in relation to this approach - its fair comment but to confuse potential buyers by including it in a review of the new 3D process is unfair in the extreme ( Amazon are to blame and not the author of the review)The version referred to in the heading is to blu rays based on poleroid glasses either passive or active depending on the equipment available i.e. 3D TV, 3D Blu-Ray player and passive or active 3D glasses which are never included with the discs but need to be purchased separately. This version of the movie is 3D at its best and in keeping with the majority of the views expressed here is absolutely superb.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Jul 2014 09:42:52 BDT
ZiggyT says:
This couldn't possibly work. the two images on the disc are tinted red and green respectively.the green lens obviously blocks out the green tinted image and the red lens the red image so only one image can be seen through each eye. Contrary to what seems to be commonly believed poloroid lenses to separate the images is not new. These rely on vertical and horizontal lenses to do the work at least as far passive glasses are concerned. The first of the 3D movies in the early fiftys relied on polorised glasses which were wire framed and looked a little like the old free National Health glasses, provided by the cinema and intended to be returned at the end of the show. I saw Hondo (John Wayne) this way and it was every bit as good as a modern 3D films. Unfortunately, the glasses were not being returned or were being returned damaged so the system became a nightmare for cinemas.

The other difficulty was that they had to run two projectors so if the film broke in one the film in the other had to be damaged in the same way to restore sync. What is new however is that they no longer require two bulky cameras to make the films and two projectors to show them. Moder digital technology has made a single camera and projector possible each of which can capture the two images without being the bulky.

Active glasses rely on rapidly showing each image in very quick succession. It is said that Active Glasses provide a much better picture because we benifit from a full HD image. Passive glasses on the other hand effectively half the information shown on each image. To be honest, I can't make up my mind about this. The explanation seems to make sense I really don't know if there is any significant difference.

Sorry that this is so lengthy but I've been interested in this for years and long before the recent revival of 3D. What I can say is that I have never had any problem with wearing the glasses and that 3D when done properly (i.e Polar Express) is superb. In so far as conversions are concerned its a bit hit and miss. When done by Speilberg / Cameron - Jurrasic Park and Titanic are both brilliant. Disney/Pixar also seem to do it very well but the conversions intended to make a quick buck and theres no shortage of them i.e Predator. do a great injustice to a truely great experience
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (402 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (301)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
Used & New from: 6.86
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Uk/Turkey

Top Reviewer Ranking: 518,559