Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more
Customer Review

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear god, this show is perfect., 17 July 2013
This review is from: The Borgias - Season 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this show, and series 3 was easily the best they've done. Everything was turned up a notch, and finally giving us a real romance with Ceserae (Francois Armund) and Lucrezia (Holiday Grainger) was just the icing on the cake. Micheletto (Sean Harris) having a real story line was also an amazing bonus, and proved just haw underused he previously was, knocking every single scene he was in out of the park. If this show isn't nominated for any awards for season 3, then it is a travesty of justice, as it was easily the best produced show on television this year (oh yeah, even better than Game of Thrones third series... I said it.) Anyway, amazing show, amazing actors, devastated it's been cancelled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 26 Jul 2013 06:56:41 BDT
PatG says:
I didn't know it had been cancelled! When and why?

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Aug 2013 18:23:35 BDT
Cosmic says:
Yes it has been cancelled after season 3. I think there was a plan to do a 2 hour special to finish it off post season 3 but for some reason this idea was shelved. It's a big shame. Have loved watching this and will definitely buy the seasons 1-3 box set if/when it becomes available.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Sep 2013 21:39:30 BDT
Scottie says:
It's shocking to cancel at this stage. I'm guessing its took too much flack about its negative outlook on the papal role.

In reply to an earlier post on 14 Sep 2013 22:52:53 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 14 Sep 2013 23:07:28 BDT]

In reply to an earlier post on 14 Sep 2013 23:10:39 BDT
Last edited by the author on 15 Sep 2013 22:38:34 BDT
lucas says:
You wrote your review before the release of the disc. Do you actually have the blu ray discs or you are just another irresponsible reviewer who thinks this is Facebook?

Are there any extra features? Are they any good? What about subtitles? The description of the product says that the discs have subtitles in English but Amazon's description of products are many times wrong. So, tell me: How are the subtitles? The image, of course, is excellent but is it worth paying more for the blu ray disc or the dvd is good enough?

Your prescient review is also included in the blu ray disc reviews. I don't care if it is so because of the incompetence of Amazon's reviews team. The fact is, here you are recommending people to buy an American blu ray disc that will only play on code free blu ray players. Don't you know that most people have blu ray players that are not code free and they won't be able to play the US blu ray discs that you are recommending?

It is very unlikely but it did happen, several times, that a release had faulty discs. Do you know if everything is okay with the discs?
Do you realise how inconsiderate is to recommend a product that you didn't have when you wrote your prescient review?

Amazon's reviews have been hijacked by irresponsible and selfish customers, mainly young, who think this is facebook or twitter. It is not. This is a place for shopping.
I wrote " customer" but, in your case, is likely that you don't buy dvds or blu ray discs from Amazon. You watch everything on tv or internet and come here to exercise your luminous insights, isn't it?

I would normally avoid write a comment about a review the way I am doing now but, really, I am tired of the imbecility of people watching films or tv shows on the internet, many times through illegal downloads, and then coming here to write reviews about dvds and blu ray discs that they don't have and probably will never bother to buy. Their silly "cheer leader" reviews are good just to clutter the reviews, making very difficult to find real reviews with concrete information that might help a real customer to order the product or not.

The worse thing is that you are not alone. There is another mediocre pseudo review here where some idiot reveals an important part of the plot without bothering to write a warning about the plot spoiler. Then there is the review where someone gives five stars to the discs and says something like "I didn't watch season 3 but am looking forward to it".

I don't think I will read reviews about dvds and films anymore. I will have to order unknown discs in the dark, thanks to the likes of you. It is just not worth reading reviews about films and tv shows , considering the large number of irresponsible reviewers giving five stars to discs that they don't have, or giving five stars to TV series or films that they did not even watch or the imbecilic reviewers who reveal important parts of the story but don't care to write a warning about plot spoilers.

I rarely write negative comments about other people's reviews. I first thought, earlier today, in delete this comment but decided against that. I will leave this comment here just as a single reminder that this is a place for shopping. This is no Facebook, Dork'n Proud, David Albert Lewis ( the plot spoiler ) , Mrs. Baughan (who didn't watch season 3 yet. This very relevant fact didn't stop her of giving five stars to season 3 ) and Lorraine ( who follows on the steps of Mrs. Baughan ).

Posted on 15 Oct 2013 10:52:21 BDT
Lucas goes on a bit but he makes some valid points. I have said before that Amazon should have some sort of mechanism to prevent anyone posting a review before the product is actually released. There have also been a number of people who leave one star reviews for a DVD simply because they bought a Region 1 version without having a multi-region player. The low rating is for their stupidity, not for the product. I have got to the point where I now ignore all five star and one star reviews because I find the middle rated ones to be more honest and relevant.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Aug 2014 20:31:25 BDT
S. Duffell says:
to put it quite simply i believe they are reviewing the series for people who may wish to watch it via streaming on amazon prime - which used to be 'love film'. I find the reviews useful before i watch a series. I no longer buy DVDs. Surely amazon - has a dvd's section where you could find the reviews for the discs? if not then the fault lays with amazon. Buying DVDs is not necessary and it is not illegal to pay for content that is streamed via amazon for a monthly fee. I watched this entire series paying a monthly subscription to amazon prime. I never had to buy DVD's

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Aug 2014 10:29:20 BDT
Last edited by the author on 20 Aug 2014 10:40:56 BDT
lucas says:
This here is the section for reviews on dvds...

In addition, Amazon UK Instant video started in february this year and all those mentioned reviews were posted last year...

Besides, writing a review with unwarned plot spoilers is a horrible thing to do, independent of which public the reviewer is addressing.

And there is a specific place for reviews on Amazon instant video.

All that said, there is no excuse whatsoever for the reviews criticised in my first comment.

Amazon is all about quantity and there is a very interesting article about Amazon's history in the Guardian g2 from 22 july 2014.
Amazon reviews team shouldn't allow reviews before the release and they should stop reviews with unwarned plot spoilers. They also should be organised and don't make the mess they do with placement of reviews. But they don't care because their policy is the more the better, no matter what.

Amazon has its part in the poor state of reviews on films/tv series but they are definitely not the only ones to blame. I don't sign up for the idea that everybody is a victim, nobody is responsible for anything and the government or companies are the only ones responsible for anything that is not right.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Aug 2014 12:06:45 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 20 Aug 2014 16:39:08 BDT]

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Aug 2014 13:09:28 BDT
Last edited by the author on 20 Aug 2014 13:17:07 BDT
lucas says:
Yes, as I wrote in the previous comment, Amazon makes a mess with the placement of reviews. They are the ones to blame for the mess. I didn't know you were led here by Amazon. Sorry about the ironic "this here is the section for reviews on dvd".

It is clear that reviews on films/tv series got even worse with the introduction of Amazon instant video.

But much before the introduction of Amazon instant video or even i love film online most of the reviews about dvds were written by people who watched films/tv series in a cinema, on tv or on the internet. They are just incomplete and inconsiderate reviews.

I was going to travel for work and wanted to take with me the set with season 2 of "Justified". It would be cheaper to buy the box set with all four seasons but I needed to know if the seasons were all put together, like they did in the box set with three seasons of "Suits" , or if each season would have its own case. I wanted to know that because I could carry only one case in my laptop bag so I could watch the series whilst in planes or trains where I was going to spend a good deal of time.

There were 15 "reviews" about the box set but there wasn't a single reference to the box of discs itself. I ended up buying the season 2 set only and spent more money because of that.

I come here to buy dvds, not to buy cinema tickets or to watch tv. Reviews such as this one are not helpful at all and its positive votes mean absolutely nothing because I know for a fact that most of those votes were casted by people who've watched the series and agree with the reviewer. It is what I call "cheerleading mode". Reviews are supposed to be addressed to people who want to know about a set or a disc in order to decide buying it or not. But reviews on films/tv series got so corrupted that they are more closely related to facebook or talking with friends on facebook and cheerleading is the main rule.

On another note, I am not and will never be ashamed of being an Amazon customer. I have several reasons for that but this is not the place to write about the matter.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›