Customer Review

61 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what you'd expect from a movie about giant robots kicking the crap out of each other, 15 Nov 2011
This review is from: Transformers: Dark of the Moon [DVD] (DVD)
Isn't it time people stopped bitching about these movies? Not subtle? Its about giant robots for Bob's sake. If Spielberg had made this (rather than say, just having his name in the small print) then the entire world would be kissing its ass and proclaiming it heaven sent AND prepping the 20th anniversary edition... Awesome animation, near faultless photo-realism and Nimoy (in his 2nd transformers outing) self-mockingly reinventing the famous 'needs of the many' speech, and hell, his character even looks like him. Yes, its Bay not Malick, but not every film can be The Tree of Life (given that every other film made is equally guilty if we follow that line of argument). Bay destroys the world before your eyes, the skyscraper sequence is jaw-dropping, and I, for one, cheered like a loon when Optimus kicks everyone's arse at the end. Oh, yes, the blonde girl is (a) slightly attractive and (b) woefully miscast. Buts its a movie about giant robots! Its hardly realism (and thats hardly a fault). Good movie, loved the lot, hope they make more. Which they will as this made buckets of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 28 Nov 2011 15:38:37 GMT
Mr. K. Smith says:
Great review.

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Dec 2011 18:21:40 GMT
Last edited by the author on 1 Dec 2011 18:24:34 GMT
So basically your premise is that, because it's robots we shouldn't expect a decent script, good acting, a coherent plot, proper pacing and to give a damn about the characters in the film? If thats really what you think why even bother with a scriptwriter or even a director? Just program a computer to do the lot.
The first film is still superb entertainment and it achieves this through a decent, well paced script, a generally cohesive plot you can follow, cool performances and a relatively restrained Bay. If you have such low expectations then prepare to give any fantasy film full marks because none of what makes a film great need be included. God help us all!!

In reply to an earlier post on 30 Dec 2011 13:07:32 GMT
I pity you and people like you because you will never know the enjoyment that can be had from switching off your brain for two hours or so and simply reveling in all the gorgeous excess on a silver screen. i can appreciate a truly great film complete with intricate plot and stellar performances from the entire cast as much as you but I know there is always a place for the blockbuster popcorn film made for pure entertainment of a less cerebral kind. I do not sit down to watch every film i view with a predetermined sense of judgment foremost on my thoughts, I watch a movie to escape for a couple of hours and give my mind over to whatever passes for reality and possibility in the context of that film (no matter how it would actually work in our own reality). The way of thinking that says if a film is completely beyond the bounds of possibility or that the CGI was a bit off or the actors were not up to Oscar winning standards then said film must be utter rubbish is thankfully alien to me so I am afforded the luxury of enjoying myself at the movies far more than you - like I said I pity you. I believe you should stick with the scathing review you yourself have given this movie and leave other people's positive ones alone!

Posted on 31 Dec 2011 00:45:06 GMT
I whole-heartedly agree. Brilliant Review.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Jan 2012 02:12:29 GMT
C. Gould says:
I'm fully capable of 'turning off my brain', for want of a better phrase, but this film removed the need by putting me into a coma. I grew up watching dumb 80s action movies with Arnie, Sly etc, and while they weren't particularly complex they were so much better than these films it's untrue. Damn, the 80s animated movie was better and the comics certainly were. As the other poster says, a film doesn't have to be dumb or offensive to be entertaining. Look at The Matrix. Ironically if Spielberg had directed these they'd probably have had a lot more humanity, which is just one of the things sorely lacking under Bay's supervision.

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Feb 2012 15:57:35 GMT
Last edited by the author on 15 Feb 2012 15:58:14 GMT
Well said Mr Cooper. Loved the review and agree completely. Enjoy it for what it is and nothing more.

In reply to an earlier post on 1 Mar 2012 20:32:23 GMT
Last edited by the author on 1 Mar 2012 20:34:42 GMT
Mr. J. Harte says:
Well i dont give a stuff how old i am (36).....I love all the Transformer films....and i have to ask about all the negativity!!!! you all knew it was about robots....so why watch??????????????????
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (458 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (249)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
£19.99 £3.15
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 272,193