Customer Review

665 of 695 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for the new Kindle; but not on its own a replacement if your lead is damaged, 15 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: e-Reader Power Adaptor, Kindle UK (Type G) USB charger (for Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, Kindle Touch, and Kindle Keyboard) (Accessory)
UPDATE (January 2013)

I wrote this review well over a year ago, and in reference to the then current price for this (less than nine pounds!). At the time I wasn't thrilled that Amazon had kept the price point the same for a basic mains plug (not supplied with 'baby/All-New' Kindle... or later Kindle Touch/Paperwhite) as it had been for a plug + USB lead replacement charger bundle, but was not totally put off by the price point.

Having just gone to buy a replacement plug for my mum's Kindle and spotted the change in price, I have to agree with more recent reviews: close to twenty pounds is far too much to pay for a simple USB to mains plug! Particularly when there are lots of well-reviewed products that do the same job for far less. Albeit typically in black!

Rating dropped from 4 stars to 1

=========

Original review:

Amazon have changed their power adapter. You now receive a plug ONLY rather than a plug and lead. For the same price.

Having just the plug makes this adapter ideal for use with the new Kindle or refurbished versions of the Kindle Keyboard wi-fi/3G (all of which ship with a USB lead only), as the end of the USB lead you already have slots into the plug, converting the lead into a mains charger. But it's not so great if you have a damaged lead/plug and aren't sure which bit needs replacing or have mislaid your power supply - as you will need to buy both this plug and a USB lead. Even at the current reduced price for the plug, buying the separate plug and lead is more expensive than the two combined used to be.

I find charging my Kindle via the mains is significantly faster than drawing upon a USB port for power, and that it's easier to keep reading with the Kindle plugged in this way than with it attached to my laptop/desktop, so in this respect I think an adapter is worth having. However, the pricing for the own-brand plug is a bit steep, especially when compared to the cost of the low end Kindle which went on UK release earlier this month. Even at the reduced rate, the plug is more than 10% of the price of the Kindle!

As the new Kindle has the same size USB plug as the Kindle Keyboard models (and many mobile phones) there are plenty of third party solutions, including a range of leather cases which come bundled with chargers. If you're lucky, your existing mobile phone charger may do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 9 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 20 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 28 Oct 2011 17:36:18 BDT
Bybeckmann says:
What if You are not UK based?

In reply to an earlier post on 29 Oct 2011 12:39:58 BDT
Last edited by the author on 3 Nov 2011 21:57:32 GMT
Seren Ade says:
In principle, the separate packaging should allow greater flexibility for choice of plugs... but even though they make them, Amazon don't seem to sell any of their range of alternate plugs through Amazon.co.uk. The own-brand plugs aren't even widely available in the countries where they might be needed for day-to-day usage. Amazon.fr seem to have only the USB lead available (no adapter), Amazon.de have the European adapter at 9,99 EURO, whilst Amazon.es and Amazon.it route all Kindle purchases through the .com international portal.

If you go to Amazon.com, you can find Amazon branded adapters for the UK, EU, and Australia (in addition to the US adapter) BUT the shipping is insanely high as only international priority service is available. To ship to the UK this adds over 13, when the plugs themselves are only around the 6.50 mark... putting the total cost over the threshold for import duties and adding an extra 3.99 in tax. Thus a $9.99 plug ends up setting you back nearly 24.00! The European plug can be ordered from Amazon.de for just under 16 including delivery. I'm assuming you'd be looking for the Euro plug for shipping to Denmark?

There are a number of international third-party solutions available and it might be worth looking at replacement phone chargers. The Kindle 4 lead leaves you with an ordinary USB end... so an iPhone-compatible adapter for your area should do the trick. Or (I suppose) you could fall back on using one of the UK plugs together with a travel adaptor.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Nov 2011 19:36:54 GMT
Last edited by the author on 3 Nov 2011 19:37:42 GMT
Discerning says:
A Blackberry cable is USB to micro USB. iPhones need an adaptor.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Nov 2011 21:46:59 GMT
Last edited by the author on 3 Nov 2011 21:58:17 GMT
Seren Ade says:
Thanks - just realised I worded that wrongly! Meant to say that the goal here is USB to mains - the lead supplied with the Kindle connects to the Kindle via micro USB, leaving an ordinary USB connector at the other end. You just need a mains adapter plug that allows an ordinary USB connector to be slotted into it. Thus an iPhone adapter works ideally.

Posted on 5 Nov 2011 17:08:11 GMT
S Kent says:
You don't need to buy an over-priced USB charger with Amazon stamped on it. Try something like this, it'll work just as well; my new Kindle's charging from the wall socket using something similar right now.

I-Box 3 PIN 1000mA USB Power Adapter Mains Charger UK Wall Plug for MP3 players, ipods, iphone 4G, iphone 3G, Apple iPad, Mobile phones, PDA's and Digital Cameras etc

In reply to an earlier post on 8 Nov 2011 14:23:43 GMT
Seren Ade says:
Er - that's what I said!

Posted on 12 Nov 2011 20:44:26 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 12 Nov 2011 20:46:27 GMT]

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Nov 2011 13:25:57 GMT
Belsane says:
In that case am I right in thinking th plug for a Shuffle will do the job too?

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Nov 2011 14:42:56 GMT
Last edited by the author on 15 Nov 2011 15:22:32 GMT
Seren Ade says:
If you've bought a mains adapter for it, then yes. The normal lead is a USB port charger, but if you bought a USB to mains conversion plug to stick the end of that into then it should work just fine for a Kindle too.

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Dec 2011 18:46:36 GMT
Last edited by the author on 15 Dec 2011 18:47:30 GMT
L1nds says:
Thanks for your comments Seren, I'm getting a Kindle for Christmas and I'm glad to know I'll be able to use the plug from my iPhone. I'm glad I didn't put a plug on my Christmas list too!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

Seren Ade
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   

Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 25