Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

69 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too big as part of a system, and too compromised as a result, 17 Mar. 2010
i got one of the first of these from park cameras, i was lured by the m43 size but the larger APS-C sensor, i opted for the 18-55mm kit. coming from a D90 i was keen to retain good high-iso performance and the shallow DOF that a larger sensor offers.

Firstly i must say, as a camera its great, with an impressive screen for such a small body, the picture quality is also very good i remember handling one with a 30mm pancake lens and marvelling at its size before i purchased. I bought this as a replacement for a D90 the number one reason being portability, for versatility i bought it with the 18-55mm lens, and this is where i have the biggest problem. The lens is actually pretty big in comparison to the camera, i suppose on reflection, it has to be given the size of the sensor.

I have tried to convince myself that its still smaller than a DSLR system but its still pretty bulky and ultimately doesnt overcome my main problem of size, im still wary of pulling out the samsung where id be already up to 10 or 20 shots with my compact. For a product that aims to be all things (large sensor, small size) it really misses the boat here. As a camera its good, but the system size i.e. without a pancake is just too large and is not a million miles away from a normal APS-C DSLR when kitted with the standard zoom, and for this reason i think that the NX10 will never really appeal to those wanting SLR like features with pseudo compact dimensions, ultimately its the choice of sensor size that is probably the biggest reason for this.

In comparison with similar priced DSLRs the samsung is clearly not close to the leading models from canon and nikon, which have superior high iso performance better general image quality and a much superior selection of fast lenses. its a shame as its a great idea, its clear why m43 has compromised on a slightly smaller sensor, having recently checked out the latest micro offerings from olympus and panasonic, the "kit" lenses are much smaller and indiscrete than those of the NX10, so i find myself with the same problem. Rumours that canon and nikon are working on systems with even smaller sensors seem to be borne out by the NX10, i so wanted it to be the panacea but ultimately it isnt. If you only ever plan to use it with the 30mm lens im sure its great, but as part of a larger system, there isnt really any difference to having a DSLR in which case there are better options out there>

so to summarise,
- this is not as good as the best (and cheaper) entry level DSLR's out there
- it does not offer the promised versatility which i would class as its unique selling point, its being marketed as the first compact interchangeable lens camera with an APS-C sensor, this is a big claim and it isnt compact when it has anything other than the 30mm pancake on it, this is a big fail in my book 1 star off because its not as good as best in class, 1/2 a star off because its more expensive than best in class (APS-C) and 1 1/2 stars off because it fails on its most prominent claim that it is a compact aps-c dslr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in


Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 18 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 19 Mar 2010 18:36:46 GMT
CDW says:
I think this tells us more about you than the camera; I barely think the fact that it doesn't fit your needs merits your a two star rating.

Posted on 19 Mar 2010 19:28:35 GMT
Poor review gives 2 stars due to the size is still not small enough in his opinion !
Does state that the camera is good therefore the review should reflect the camera not the owners poor ability to choose the right camera no ?
I use Nikon as well and the NX10 IQ excells the older gen Nikon,s and slightly falls short of the D300s at high ISO but that,s it.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Mar 2010 21:32:33 GMT
Last edited by the author on 20 Mar 2010 00:28:27 GMT
M. Taylor says:
Ok, maybe i need to simplify things a bit so you understand.

- as a DSLR it is some distance of the best in class (i.e. Nikon and Canon) who have superior picture quality, High ISO performance and lens/accesory ranges
- as a compact D-SLR it just does NOT deliver, with anything other than the pancake it is much too big to be classed as portable, almost as bulky as a entry level Sony alpha (check next time you are in your local camera dealer) - this, as i pointed out, is because of samsung insisting on putting an APS-C sensor in their camera inevitably any lens of reasonable focal length has to be bulky to capture all that light, this is probably why panasonic/olympus went for 2x crop and (as rumoured) it looks like canon and nikon will opt for 2.5x crop in their compact bridge cameras

so, i hope its clear that it doesnt really deliver anything unique or outstanding, it is sold as a world first compact solution to DSLR photography and it just is not, especially as part of a system of lenses, as this is THE selling point that aims to make purchasers avoid the better but supposedly larger APS-C DLSR market it is very misleading and for this reason i feel cheated and as a result i can offer only two stars, its a normal DSLR and there are much better much cheaper much more versatile options out there. I hope this is easy to understand

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Mar 2010 20:45:54 GMT
M. Taylor says:
Sn Baines, i think your claims are very bold (slightly short of a d300s !!) come on be serious, looking at pictures taken with my D90 at high ISO the samsung is not bad but its not a contender, no way near. My reasoning for two stars is simple, its supposed to be ALL the advantages of an APS-C dslr in a uniquely compact package, and it isnt, it fails on its biggest claim, which for me pushes it into being considered as a normal D-SLR in which case it has average performance, is quite expensive, poor tooling support and a woeful range of lenses, two stars every day of the week..

In reply to an earlier post on 21 Mar 2010 15:44:12 GMT
D90 the same sensor as the D300S no ? so yep will be better at higher ISO but the Samsung matches the entry level Dslrs easily I have 2 of them .
Its a new concept so lenses will be lacking so whats the point in putting this as a negative ? give them a chance if in 2 yrs the lens choices are lacking then yep pan samsung.
This sensor is the same as the Pentax K20d and Samsung GX20 which are fine photographic tools .
With this NX10 and pancake lens it fits in my pocket !!
That is the point of the system
Still maintain your poor choice in what you wanted is the main fault and for that i would give you 2 stars every day of the week !

Posted on 25 Mar 2010 00:04:47 GMT
Last edited by the author on 25 Mar 2010 00:15:24 GMT
Ahmed EL says:
This review will keep me from the NX10 and push me back to buy the Pentax K-x. I was going for the the K-7, but I was shocked by its horrible noise handling comparing it to the K-x. The K-7 could be the complete DSLR for me if it would have the K-x sensor noise handling. but this is not our case.

I agree with M. Taylor (In some aspects) as the pretended selling point of the NX10 is the body size combined with the APS-C sensor. That's if you will just keep it with the pancake (the lens of course), but did we forget about the ability of interchanging lenses? that will pull it back to the DSLR (although it's not a DSLR nor compact) family if its coupled with the rest (of the couple) of lenses left for this camera.

In your place M. Taylor, having a D90 and wanting a small sized/capable camera for keeping all the day every day or for a normal vacation trip I would go for the Olympus EP-1 or the new EP-2 or even the Panasonic GF-1. But also I would deliver more detailed review about the NX10 I mean a technical one not just based on my feelings about its inconvenient size, you know :) .

Best regards,

In reply to an earlier post on 27 Mar 2010 09:14:25 GMT
Luke Costa says:
A good review by M. Taylor. Whilst the camera does produce decent images comparable to entry DSLR cameras, as a system it just does not cut it. I too considered the NX10, but after seeing the the lenses on show in store, it just does not deliver on the 'compact' promise when compared to its Micro-Four thirds peers.

PS Sn Baines do you work for Samsung?

Posted on 3 Apr 2010 12:58:31 BDT
Thanks for the review, I realise from other comments here that some folk aren't too happy with it but as I was looking to find out if the NX10 is worth buying as a viable alternative to my Canon DSLR system your comments are right on the money for me. The last thing I want is a tiny camera with large lens a' la my current ones which must cause the whole system to be unbalanced I'm sure, not to mention heavy and `obvious' in use.

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Apr 2010 22:22:08 BDT
I wish i did they might pay me then !
To give a negative review based on the system,s lack of lenses just about sums up the generation of i want it now syndrome.
Of course Nikon/Canon released stacks of lenses within a few weeks when they first came out .
I stand by my prev comment a crap review from a fairly dim Mr Taylor

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Apr 2010 22:25:42 BDT
Take it you did,nt do very well at Physics at school no?
Work it out a AP-C sensor needs a lens to match the sensor , same with 4/3, same with a compact
If you could just compile the brains to see this you might get a bit further in your dull little life .
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item not available

M. Taylor

Top Reviewer Ranking: 443,380