Customer Review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Too Much Woman For A Henpecked Man..." - Come Together/'Nuff Said by IKE & TINA TURNER (2010 Beat Goes On CD Remaster), 22 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Come Together / 'Nuff Said (Audio CD)
Between June 1969 and February 1973 - Ike & Tina Turner released 10 albums worth of material - a staggeringly prolific amount. But outside of R'n'B and Soul circles - barely anyone noticed. Finally - when "Nutbush City Limits" did give them a bona-fide worldwide smash in November 1973 - it cruelly turned out to be a virtual one-hit wonder. Tina then found the courage to leave that musical prison and famously abusive relationship in 1974 and blossomed into a global superstar who is revered to this day over 40 years later (with more than a little help from musical friends in the industry).

Since those heady 1970's days of recording and touring slog - their 'funky-as-a-gnat's-tweeter' albums have all but disappeared - resolutely ignored really. Hopefully this superb release will change all that. There is so much on here to savour - and in brand new sparkling sound quality too. Here are the details...

Released August 2010 in the UK - Beat Goes On BGOCD 942 (Barcode 5017261209429) breaks down as follows (68:09 minutes):

1. It Ain't Right (Lovin' To Be Lovin')
2. Too Much Woman (For A Henpecked Man)
3. Unlucky Creature
4. Young And Dumb
5. Honky Tonk Women
6. Come Together
7. Why Can't We Be Happy
8. Contact High
9. Keep On Walkin' (Don't Look Back)
10. I Want To Take You Higher
11. Evil Man
12. Doin' It
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "Come Together", released May 1970 in the USA on Liberty LST-7637 and September 1970 in the UK on Liberty LBS 83350

13. I Love What You Do To Me
14. Baby (What You Want Me To Do)
15. Sweet Flustrations
16. What You Don't See (Is Better Yet)

17. `Nuff Said
18. Tell The Truth
19. Pick Me Up (Take Me Where Your Home Is)
20. Moving Into Hip Style - A Trip Child
21. I Love You Baby
22. Can't You Hear Me Callin'
23. `Nuff Said (Part II)
Tracks 13 to 23 are the album "'Nuff Said", released November 1971 in the USA on United Artists UAS-5530 and March 1972 in the UK on United Artists UAG 29256

This CD comes in an outer card wrap that lends each of the Beat Goes On reissues a classy look and feel. The 12-page booklet has liner notes by DAVID WELLS and features black and white photos of the duo as well as a history of the two albums. But it's the sound that impresses most. Remastered by ANDREW THOMPSON at Sound Mastering in London - the audio is really clear and full of detail. Each cut now has a power that gives the predominately funk tunes a real wallop as they exit your speakers.

The first single off the "Come Together" album in the UK was the title track released on Liberty LBF 15303 in March 1970 - a fairly workmanlike cover of The Beatles "Abbey Road" opener. Far better - and featured on cool CD compilations in the last few years - was the B-side "Honky Tonk Women" - a cover of The Rolling Stones gem.
In the hands of Ike's guitar funk and Tina's rasping vocals - it's a very cool dancefloor filler. There then followed a second single in June 1970 on Liberty LBF 15367 where both sides absolutely rocked.
"I Want To Take You Higher" on the A is a funky cover of the Sly & The Family Stone tune from the 1969 "Stand!" LP. But even better is the drugs and abuse song on the flip - "Contact High" (written by Ike from experience) spares no punches about cocaine and its effect on people - caustically commenting on the sheer amount of narcotics involved in the music business at the time (lyrics above). The spoken words of the naughty "Doin' It" end the album on a high note - it would also become a B-side in November 1971 on United Artists.

The "'Nuff Said" album relied a lot on brassy arrangements which gave the tunes an almost Blood, Sweat & Tears feel to them with Ike's trademark choppy guitar licks holding up the rhythm section. One such example is the excellent "What You Don't See (Is Better Yet)". The title track is a driving instrumental that sounds like a studio jam - Ike ripping through guitar flicks as the keyboards and brass punch in and out. "Tell The Truth" gets back to funky business - catchy as a rash in a Bangkok knocking shop - it's a highlight on here and is presented in pumping great sound too. "Part II" of the title track ends the record - bringing the rocking instrumental down to a slow grooving finish - very nice.

To sum up - I've enjoyed these albums a lot. And while not all of the tracks are undiluted Soul/Funk genius, when Ike & Tina hit that groove - man were they good. Recommended like a gin-soaked Honky Tonk Woman...

Beat Goes On has also issued "Workin' Together" (1971) and "Let Me Touch Your Mind" (1974) on a single CD in August 2011
Raven of Australia reissued "Nutbush City Limits" (1973) and "Feel Good" (1972) on a single CD in 2006
Blue Moon reissued "The Hunter" (1970) and "Outta Season" (1969) on a single CD also in 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in

Review Details


4.7 out of 5 stars (3 customer reviews)
5 star:
4 star:
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Add to basket Add to wishlist

Mark Barry "Mark Barry"

Location: London

Top Reviewer Ranking: 18