Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now
Customer Review

0 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neurotic, whining, self-pitying. No real redeeming features., 2 May 2013
This review is from: Attempting Normal (Kindle Edition)
First off, anyone whom listens to and enjoys Maron's podcast 'WTF', will be entertained by Maron's autobiography. The problem though is, whom actually does?
Secondly, all the personality traits of Maron that make his schtick and personality grating are also on display here. Again, as in his podcast. The endless and interminable need to seek validation through his continued whingeing, endless neurotisicm, his desire to be thanked for kicking his addiction, when fostering a major cocaine habit wasn't necessarily the best career move for any budding stand-up comic on the road. (Hey it was the late eighties, and if Sam Kinison was doing it, it must therefore have been okay for Mark.) The tiresome and repetitive need for understanding when the candour is balanced by self pity. A balance that kinda cancels itself out altogether. If Maron was as talented as he seems to think he is, (In short, inside his own head.) maybe he could just about have gotten away with it. The book doesn't work as a consequence.
Summing up? Maron comes across as a senseless, jabbering, Cocaine-verbose narcissist with no real redeeming features. This is bad enough, that at the end of the book Mark doesn't confess to having learned anything at all from his experiences, makes the book a waste of our time. Never mind his. No wonder 'Boomer' left. For a book on stand-up comedy, try Comedy at the Edge: How Stand-Up in the 1970s Changed America by Richard Zoglin. One star fits all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 24 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 22 May 2013 13:13:47 BDT
Ronny Booth says:
Is that you, Maron?

In reply to an earlier post on 22 May 2013 14:21:21 BDT
Nope, thank God it's not. Check my previous reviews.

Posted on 29 May 2013 23:11:13 BDT
C. Molony says:
Why would you buy an autobiographical book by a guy who produces a podcast you don't like?

Posted on 29 May 2013 23:48:40 BDT
Last edited by the author on 29 May 2013 23:49:08 BDT
Tell you why chum, because I had no idea the book would be like that. I had no idea that his style wouldn't be reflected in his writing, wrong. I like quality. If I don't get it, I write about it. Check my other reviews. Guess I'm an equal oppertunty offender. Has 'Boomer' returned?

Posted on 30 May 2013 16:33:05 BDT
J. Cook says:
His name is spelled Marc.
You have clearly wasted your time here, both with the podcast, and reading the book.
It's actually quite impressive that you decided to buy the book of a man whose other work you don't appreciate. Kudos for that.
However, you clearly don't understand that this book was written by a COMEDIAN, whose entire life is ruled by the need for validation, what could be more needy than standing on a stage, desperately trying to make a room full of people love him?
By the way, i see that you are from liverpool, ever heard of Brendon Burns? You really should see his wonderful routine about your town (city, then).
I would say that I'm sorry you don't get it, but I am not. In fact I am extremely pleased.
Marc Maron is not for everyone, Thankfully not for you.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 17:05:18 BDT
Last edited by the author on 30 May 2013 17:11:09 BDT
No, I listened to the odd episode, the episodes where he interviewed Carl Reiner, Mel Brooks and Dick Van Dyke were fantastic. The episode with Gilbert Gottfired? Not really. As for his work? I am aware he is a stand-up comedian, no I haven't seen his act. Comedians are motivated by many a varied issue. Some seek validation, some do it for kicks, some do out of a need to perform, some do it for money and fame. Don't be sorry, I just didn't like the book, it didn't work for me, and I moved on to the next book. No big deal. Try 'The Last Laugh' by Phil Berger, 'I'm Dying Up Here' by William Knoedelseder, 'The Late Shift' by Bill Carter, and 'Drunk, Stoned, Brilliant, Dead', by Rick Meyerowitz.

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 18:12:52 BDT
C. Molony says:
I can take your point that if you don't like something, then you write about it. In and of itself this is a fine stance. The amazon review system is very helpful. However (I guess you knew that was coming), your review is just a slanging match. You would have been much better saying, "If you like his podcast then you will probably love this. For everyone else, approach with caution or check out the podcast first" which is essentially saying the same thing only without being hypercritical of it.

Your opening gambit of "First off, anyone whom listens to and enjoys Maron's podcast 'WTF', will be entertained by Maron's autobiography. The problem though is, whom actually does?" is a bit harsh and indeed showing ignorance as WTF is an award winning pod with over 2.5m downloads per episode. This actually only really serves to negate everything negative thing you say after that because you have now framed yourself as someone who doesn't like his work.

I'm not some huge fanboy of Marc's and I'm not charging to his defence, but I do enjoy the podcast. I completely respect your opinion but you should work on your writing style as its slightly troll-like and doesn't do you any favours when trying to get your point across.... plus I'm just sick of people whining on the internet

In reply to an earlier post on 30 May 2013 19:16:05 BDT
Last edited by the author on 30 May 2013 19:18:24 BDT
'Slanging match'? Hmm, whom with? Read book, didn't like book, wrote review of book, moved onto another book. As for the podcast? Not really, I give any podcast five episodes at random to work. Never worked out foir me. Moved onto another podcast. Wanted to like it, really wanted to like it. Didn't like it. You like his podcast? Fine. The few podcasts I listen to rarely get downloaded but by a few. Enjoy. I go into any book or any podcast hoping it's brilliant. Usually idsappointed , but occasionally you get gold. As for 'troll'? Not really, compared to some of the human effluent doing the rounds on Twitter and Facebook? Pretty mild I'd imagine. By the way, the review stands. Check out my other reviews. I know what I like and don't like, but, more importantly, I also know why.

Posted on 15 Jul 2013 13:55:06 BDT
G. Lloyd says:
I don't understand how it possible to read an entire book about a man and not be able to spell his name correctly. It throws into question the entire review

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Jul 2013 14:57:17 BDT
I'm sure if you could pick up on Marc's spelling deficiencies? You could throw the book away and dismiss it in the same way. The book had a literary editor. Too cool for school.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, England.

Top Reviewer Ranking: 8,480,445