Customer Review

14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5 Fans of Mercy Thompson and Kate Daniels will enjoy this, as long as they don't expect true love and romance., 19 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Curse Keepers (Curse Keepers Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
OK, please read the book blurb, which is so detailed that it makes it unnecessary for me to go into detail here, before reading this review.

This tale itself was very good - interesting, unique, fast-paced, filled with the unknown and with danger, all of which made for good reading. The reasons for which IMHO it loses a *, are:

1) the female character, Ellie, comes across as slightly unlikeable, and with nothing about her that makes me think that she's lead material. She's 23, in a dead end job, seemingly desperate for a man, and is very prickly; she has several major chips on her shoulder. She's abrasive and headstrong, and though the latter is not a bad thing, said quality got both her and the male lead, Collin (yup, I know, what a name...not) into trouble/bad situations more than once.

2) the male lead, Collin, was made to sound like a manwh***, but I got to know nothing about him in terms of looks or personality, so for me, with a name like that, that made me think of an older guy (perhaps it's a Brit thing, as I'm 44 and the name Colin/Collin is more associated with people a generation older) which was off-putting. He was a tad cruel, but I think that that was out of necessity rather than him being an a**hole. I think Collin was meant to come across as seemingly cold and contained, masking the sacrifices that he'd made because of his pre-ordained path in life, but he came over as cheap, manipulative, economic with the truth, a bullshi**er, a bit of a user - he wasn't IMHO, hero material. I wish the author had written him differently, with some charm and warmth, as as he was, I couldn't see him as a male lead, and I didn't like him.

3) the tale ended abruptly. I was turning over to see how the leads could possibly come back from betrayal, mistrust and where they'd ended up, only to find that I was on the last page, without everything being tied up. It most likely means that there will be more in the series, as Ellie has sacrificed friends and family and may well be on a quest for revenge, but also may now be first and foremost The Curse Mistress, and less Ellie.

What I did like is that the tale is unlike any paranormal that I've read so far, and I do read an awful lot. It introduced (for me) unknown NA lore, and managed to make it interesting. It introduced a storyline and premise that were interesting, and which brought out qualities in Ellie that would have been otherwise hidden: her loyalty to her friends, her love for her friends, for her dad and her stepmum, her caring about others, and her embracing her destiny, without knowing what it will mean for her personally, and only knowing that she has to do the right thing. There was also the mystery of her mother's death in order to protect Ellie, something which was echoed in her father's words at the end of the tale, that would probably make for good reading, if the author went into this in book 2, and might actually provide a decent arc for another tale.

Would I read the next in the series? No, despite this being a 4* read. The leads were too 'pas sympa' - it's a French expression that says it all, that speaks volumes, but that I can't adequately translate into English, sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: London, UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 382