Customer Review

51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Mr. Big..." - Fire And Water (2008 Deluxe Edition 2CD Remasters), 8 April 2008
This review is from: Fire and Water (Deluxe Edition) (2CD) (Audio CD)
Preceded by their debut "Tons Of Sobs" (March 1969) and their 2nd album "Free" (October 1969) - FREE's landmark third LP "Fire And Water" was delivered to an expectant public in all its 7-track simplicity and glory on 26th of June 1970 on Island Records ILPS 9120 (originals had the distinctive pink label in the UK). Prepped by the edited single of "All Right Now" in May 1970 which raced up to number 2 in the British charts (Island WIP 6082) - the vinyl album delivered what the public seemed to already know - here was a truly great British Rock band hitting its stride.

This is the 3rd CD incarnation of the original LP - a 1986 crappy non-remaster - a far better 2001 Remaster with 6 bonus tracks - and now this - a 30-Track 2CD DELUXE EDITION issued on 18 March 2008. For fans who already own the 2001 remaster and probably also have the 4CD "Songs Of Yesterday" Box set that went before it in May 2000, for all its comprehensiveness this 2CD set offers only 5 Previously Unreleased Tracks. So if you can buy the 2001 remaster for a fiver or less anywhere, why pay more money for this 2CD set? The answer is threefold - the packaging, the Extras (4 out of 5 of them are actually great) and above all - the SOUND - which is the best ever to my tired lugs. Here are the button-up jeans and hairy-chests...

Disc 1 (72:34 minutes):
1. Fire And Water
2. Oh How I Wept
3. Remember
4. Heavy Load
5. Mr. Big [Side 2]
6. All Right Now
7. Don't Say You Love Me
Tracks 1 to 7 are the album "Fire And Water" (details above)

8. Fire And Water (BBC "Sounds Of The Seventies" Sessions 23 June 1970)
9. Mr. Big (BBC "Top Gear" Session 13 December 1969)
10. All Right Now (as per 8)
11. Remember (BBC "John Peel Sunday Concert" 15 January 1970)
12. Mr. Big (BBC "John Peel Sunday Concert" 2 July 1970)
13. Don't Say You Love Me (as per 12)
14. All Right Now (as per 12)

Disc 2 (67:24 minutes):
1. Fire And Water (US Album Mix)
2. Oh I Wept (Alternate Vocal version)
3. Remember (New Mix)
4. Don't Say You Love Me (New Mix)
5. All Right Now (First Version)
6. All Right Now (Single Version - Edit)
7. Fire And Water (Previously Unreleased Backing Track)
8. Fire And Water (Alternate Stereo Mix)
9. Fire And Water
10. Don't Say You Love Me
11. Mr. Big (9 to 11 live at Fairfield Halls, Croydon, UK)
12. All Right Now
13. Mr. Big No.2 (12 and 13 live at Sunderland Locarno Fillmore North)
14. All Right Now (Take 1)
15. All Right Now (Take 2)
16. All Right Now (Take 3)

EXTRAS:
There are five previously unreleased versions new to this release:
"Mr. Big" (Track 9 on Disc 1) is from the BBC's John Peel Show recorded 15 Jan 1971. It's very disappointing - not a great recording with really muddy sound and it's easy to see why it's been left off previous releases
"Fire And Water (Backing Track)" (Track 7 on Disc 2) - a really interesting `work in progress' from February 1970 mixed in 1999, Take 5 contains studio chatter at the beginning and then the band working nicely through the backing track - Kirke's drumming fantastic, but it ends oddly and abruptly
Tracks 11, 12 and 13 on Disc 2: "All Right Now" (Takes 1, 2 and 3)
All three takes were recorded as part of filmed promotional shorts for "All Right Now" and "The Stealer" in October 1970. Instead of miming, the band played live (the two videos turn up on the "Free Forever" DVD set) and these `live' takes are superb and genuinely deserve the moniker `bonus tracks" - they even include the squeaking of Simon Kirke's drum stool! Fans will have to have these.

PACKAGING:
The booklet contains black & white photos, reproduction of concert tickets, press adverts, in the studio colour photos and a detailed history of the albums path to number 3 in the UK charts in July 1970. The CDs themselves reflect the original `PINK' Island label design on 1st pressings of the LP and the original master tape boxes are pictured underneath the two see-through trays - a nice touch on both counts.

SOUND:
Even though the outside packaging seems to be saying that the remaster is 'new', the 20-page booklet confusingly states that the remaster used is the 2001 one done by PETER MEW at Abbey Road - the same as the single disc that's been on the market for years? But the sound on this release is different - far better to my ears.

FREE were a `loud' band and the recordings at the 8-track Trident Studios reflected their hairy-arsed live rock band nature - in other words the recorded results were not exactly going to win audiophile gongs. The tapes were then remixed onto the 16-track facility at Island's new studio in Basing Street. But even then, Chris Blackwell, label founder and leader, hated the results. So more mixing was done. But even to this day, the further mixing and remixing before the album was finally released still gave us a less than great sonic result. I mention all of this because the liner notes to this release talk of major audio restoration having gone into the 1999 and 2001 remastering process - and now again on this 2008 version - and man can you HEAR IT!

Take Side 2 of the original album, "Mr Big", "Don't Say You Love Me" and "All Right Now" - when I A/B the sound on my 2001 issue to this 2008 issue, the huge difference is the removal of `almost' all of the hiss that was omnipresent on the 2001 remaster which marred the listen enormously. The result is that instead of being saturated in a rough and ready hissy wall, the band suddenly explodes out of the speakers with an intensity that will thrill fans to their very core! I would describe it like this - it's as if I'm listening to the full power of FREE for the first time. With this new clarity, the opening and eventual build up in "Mr Big" to a guitar crescendo has to be heard to be believed! It's enormous and just AWESOME to hear! The beautiful "Don't Say You Love Me" is truly gorgeous now, especially when the lovely piano addition comes in, while the fantastic anthem that is "All Right Now" has you hearing Kossoff's plectrum scratching off the pick-ups - little guitar flicks before he goes into the big riff, the clarity of Fraser's bass work and other nuances that I've just never heard before. Don't get me wrong, there is `hiss' on these recordings, but the removal of even half of it has made the band come alive to my ears. Wonderful stuff!

To sum up, "Fire And Water" is a great album, and this DELUXE EDITION of it gives the great record a stunning sonic upgrade. Throw in all the live versions and alternate takes around its release, decent liner notes and packaging, all topped off with 4 out of the 5 previously unreleased tracks actually worth owning - then indeed you have something special.

There have been some stunning issues in Universal's DELUXE EDITION series (check out the Whiskeytown "Strangers Almanac" double) and this is another. Regardless of the price and the overdoing of "All Right Now" (nine versions for Gawd's sake) - fans will have to own it - and the uninitiated can discover why Britain and the world went mad for the FREE and their down and dirty brand of 'rawk'. What a band...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 13 Apr 2008 08:57:48 BDT
Just thought that Mark Berry would be interested to know that a DELUXE EDITION of "Copperhead Road" by Steve Earle is on its way later this month.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Aug 2008 22:53:13 BDT
Mark Barry says:
Thanks Paul

I bought it just recently - and reviewed it!

PS: Every time I look at my wish list - I think of adding to it! When will they get their act together and put out what punters want!

Posted on 8 Mar 2009 21:30:42 GMT
Last edited by the author on 8 Mar 2009 21:31:05 GMT
Nice review! One error: Andy Fraser did a brief stint in John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, not Simon Kirk.
Cheers,
Bob

Posted on 8 Mar 2009 21:32:31 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 8 Mar 2009 21:32:51 GMT]

Posted on 21 Apr 2009 02:23:49 BDT
[Deleted by Amazon on 21 May 2012 09:46:36 BDT]

Posted on 5 Apr 2011 02:41:12 BDT
Great review. I agree Dire Straits would be a great deluxe edition, I'm sure there are many out-takes worthy of a release.

Posted on 18 Apr 2011 23:03:55 BDT
[Deleted by the author on 10 May 2011 22:27:39 BDT]

Posted on 10 Aug 2011 14:47:41 BDT
Another great review Mark, of this classic Free album, and what a wish list too. I would love to see Island's 'Bumpers' compilation put out on CD as it was probably the most influential record of my early teenage years.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

Mark Barry "Mark Barry"
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   

Location: London

Top Reviewer Ranking: 17