Customer Review

108 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TH37PX80, 30 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Panasonic TH-37PX80B - 37" Widescreen HD Ready Plasma TV - With Freeview and Pedestal Stand (Electronics)
Brought this TV after reading loads of reviews and visiting comets, currys etc. this TV won WHAT HIFI SOUND AND VISION MAGAZINE for best 37 inch TV. although not a full HD resolution, the processor on this TV deals with everthing you can throw at it , from DVD's to full HD DVD's, the picture is superb, far better than some of my frieds Full HD TV's. Freeview Picture, so often the bugbear for full HD tv's, shows no sign of smearing at all. all too often common on the full HD tv's. One thing i cant fathom out is that the TH37PX70 is more expensive than the newer TH37PX80 which is far superior in every way. when it first came out it was more expensive because it was the newer model but now on some sites it is cheaper than the previous model. DO NOT BUY THE PX70, it is an inferior model!! the TH37PX80 has a newer processor, 3 HDMI's, better speakers and is better looking. if you dont believe me, check out the Panasonic website. Save yourself hassle and Buy Plasma!! At this price it is a steal. see also the latest review in WHAT PLASMA magazine, this TV was given 5 gold stars
UPDATE 13.dec 2008
this set has just won the WHAT HI-FI 37 inch supertest for the SECOND YEAR running. cant get much more of a recommendation than that!!
Update 02.april.2009
After a year of owning this TV, i can only say what an excellent buy this was. It never ceases to amaze me with its vibrant colours and non smearing pictures and a year in i have had absolutely mo problem with it at all
i would like other people who have had this TV for a while to give me their views on what they have found, be it good or bad, so that people looking at this TV can have a good insight as to what to expect long term.
thanks..Square Eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 17 Aug 2008 14:18:10 BDT
Last edited by the author on 18 Aug 2008 21:09:16 BDT
Paul/Essex says:
A well know local electrical retailer just advised me not to bother with this set as it is not the full 1080. I should go for higher spec models (full 1080/HD?). Their comment was that this TV (and others like it) will be out of date in a couple of years when the broadcasters move to full 1080/HD. Being a synic - I walked away to think things through!

I am not into all the high tech stuff (TV being replaced is a 29" Sony Trinitron CRT - bought in 2000). I just watch TV progs, record the odd programme for later viewing, and watch DVD's (I just bought a Panasonic VCR/DVD recorder from Argos - records onto DVD or VCR, no hard drive).

Does anybody have any views on the more techie stuff. As I said, my TV is only used for basic viewing, I am not into surroundsound, or getting a real cinema experience!

Cheers.

In reply to an earlier post on 6 Sep 2008 13:59:33 BDT
Square eyes says:
Paul, i would imagine the retailer is working on commision so he will obviuosly be trying to sell you the higher spec as it will get him a bigger bonus!!
i am a bit of an buff when it comes to these things, i have a seperate amplifier and speakers for the surround system (1000 watts) hd player, blu ray player, etc..etc... to go with these i decided on the px80 after reviewing loads of data from mags and visiting shops. BBC and ITV say that HD broadcasts wont be available to the majority of the public untill at least 6-10 years. the reason is cost because of the bandwidth it would take up being very expensive at the present time.
you could get sky hd but as far as i know that is broadcast on 1080i.
as you state you are not into this techie stuff so getting this TV would be ideal for you, trust me on this, the picture from a normal digi box is outstanding, just read some of the reviews and thet will all say the same story. no brainer as far as i am concerned, go and get one now!!

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Sep 2008 16:59:20 BDT
Howard Yates says:
Although full HD broadcasts are some years away, don't you need 1080 to take advantage of your Blue-Ray player?

In reply to an earlier post on 13 Dec 2008 11:57:08 GMT
Square eyes says:
Not at All, various things have to be taken into consideration when comparing picture quality. Things like Viewing distances, quality of the player, peoples eyesight etc..etc ..To get a good idea of Bluray, HD DVD picture quality, a lot of magazines say that to get the full benefit of full hd, you need a TV with something approching a 50" screen and sit quite close to pick up the finer detail that a full HD screen offers. sitting at a distance of around 3-5 mts it is very hard to notice any difference between the Panasonic px80 and my son-in-laws full hd tv when watching high def material.
if you are still unsure, read the January 2009 edition of WHAT HI-FI. In that issue the Panasonic beat allcomers for the 37" supertest to retain the crown it won last year. their review is very informative.

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Dec 2008 18:32:50 GMT
E. Falconer says:
I am hoping to get this TV soon and would ever so much appreciate advice from owners of this TV whether you can hear a 'buzzing' sound coming from it?

I ask this as my Panasonic LCD has developed this and it is really annoying during quiet scenes.

Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on 31 Dec 2008 19:10:14 GMT
Last edited by the author on 31 Dec 2008 20:16:57 GMT
Square eyes says:
Elizabeth, I have had no buzzing noise at all from this TV.
hope this helps you choose this TV. I really think that this TV is the bees knees!!

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Jan 2009 13:20:28 GMT
Kitty Kat says:
jan 2009 review has that come out yet or do you mean jan 2008 - any idea how i can get a copy of the review as it too long ago to buy one thanks

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Jan 2009 20:54:59 GMT
Square eyes says:
Hi Kitty Kat, you can review this online on the WHAT HI-FI SOUND and VISION website, or you can get a copy in Smiths or any good newsagent. hope this helps.

Posted on 12 Jan 2009 18:58:13 GMT
Admittedly I get 10% off as my wife just retired from Asda and we get a discount, but I just got this TV from Asda today for £400 (less 10%) so £360 What a bargain!! It sets itself up and is excellent. My own TV is a Panasonic 50" and my Moms picture is nearly as good.

In reply to an earlier post on 11 Sep 2009 18:15:30 BDT
I agree with EVERYTHING Square Eyes has said,I,ve had the 80B for nearly a year now,and the picture quality is quite outstanding,a friend of mine,he has Full HD,1080,keeps telling me he cant understand how I get better picture quality than he does,the 80B is "only" 720.I wont mention what brand of TV my friend has,it would possibly be quite embarrasing,to him AND the maker,ha!
Square Eyes has probably forgotten more about High Definition than I KNOW,so it,s easy for me to agree with him,but,HE IS CORRECT!!!!
The Panasonic 37" Plasma 80B is an exceptional TV,absolutely perfect for "a normal living-room",playing a Panasonic blu-ray player through this TV is Home Cinema of the highest calibre,IMO.
Davy Cairns.
ps,Keep the info coming Square Eyes,well done.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Engand

Top Reviewer Ranking: 280,635