ARRAY(0xa3d1a0d8)
 
Customer Review

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gah, Region 1, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Animaniacs 4 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this DVD quite comfortable I'd be able to watch it. After all, Volumes 1-3 were Region free, surely this would be too? Wrong. I put it in my blu-ray player and it spits it out as it's the wrong region. My blu-ray player as well seems to be one of the few models that has no region free hack code. Can't play it in my laptop either, as the DVD drive in it is one that's made so even VLC can't play non-region 2 DVDs. And what are the chances of this getting an official UK release? Quite slim I think. With region coding, and making players and computers not be able to overcome the region restrictions, is it any wonder people are turing to piracy? I's the only way to be able to see these things- instead I've payed over the odds for what to me are as much use as drinks coasters. The movie industry cna moan about piracy, but they're driving people to it, even those of us who try and get things legitimately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 15 Mar 2013 01:39:18 GMT
Last edited by the author on 15 Mar 2013 01:44:43 GMT
P. Stark says:
Animaniacs Volumes 1-3 (2006-7) are region coded for domestic viewing in regions 1, 2, 3 & 4. But Animaniacs Volume 4 (2013) is coded for Regions 1, 3 & 4 (no longer region 2).

Pinky & The Brain Volumes 1-3, Freakazoid Seasons 1 & 2 and Tiny Toon Adventures Season 1 Volumes 1 & 2 SHOULD all be the same regions 1, 2, 3 & 4. I do own these DVDs and can check if required/requested.

Tiny Toon Adventures: How I Spent My Vacation (2012) & Tiny Toon Adventures Volume 3 (2013) and Volume 4 when it is released in May 2013 is/will be coded for Regions 1, 3 & 4 (no longer region 2).

If you know the ORIGINAL release date of a specific DVD edition (they rarely re-author the discs for re-releases or collections) Warner Home Video USA/Canada used/uses the following coding for MOST releases (90%):
1997-2001 = Region Locked (USA/Canada Only - Region 1).
2002-2011 = Regions 1, 2, 3 & 4. UK is Region 2.
2012- onwards = Regions 1, 3 & 4 (no longer region 2).
Warner Archive - Manufacture On Demand Discs = Region Free.

For advice on Multi-Region solutions try:

http://www.videohelp.com/dvdhacks

http://www.dvd.reviewer.co.uk/info/multiregion/

Posted on 19 Sep 2013 20:59:25 BDT
Katzii says:
this is a videotape

Posted on 31 Dec 2013 13:41:12 GMT
Tozzy says:
I know that feeling. I too imported this one to find it region locked. Granted, I'm fortunate enough to have bought a DVD player that I was able to unlock it to play it but still, I agree that we are being punished for trying to purchase these shows legally and the UK should be given a release of these DVDs too. Although alternately you can always download VLC media player to your laptop and watch it on the laptop since the software overrides region locking.

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Jan 2014 04:17:18 GMT
Last edited by the author on 4 Jan 2014 04:18:18 GMT
P. Stark says:
Luckily, all my current players, recorders and drives used to play SD DVD content are multi-region but it is considerably more expensive to buy players in the UK which have been made fully multi-region for both SD DVD & HD Blu-ray disc.

Did you ever buy the final set for Tiny Toon Adventures??

I'm struggling to find out for sure if corrected versions are available to non-US-residents? I've just ordered it anyway!

On the second disc of this fourth Tiny Toon Adventures DVD set Warner Bros. made a seriously thick error with the episode "Weekday Afternoon Live"; the second half of it is mysteriously replaced with that of "Toon TV". There now seems to be a corrected version on sale directly from amazon USA??

Tiny Toon Adventures Volume 4 - Looney Links! (August 20, 2013, later corrected version?)
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00EQ30Q8S
Steven Spielberg Presents Tiny Toon Adventures 4 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

Tiny Toon Adventures Volume 4 - Looney Links! (May 28, 2013, original version?)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BCXW0XE
Steven Spielberg Presents Tiny Toon Adventures 4 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

BTW, our Pinky & The Brain DVD collections can finally be complete this month (January 2014) with the release of Pinky, Elmyra & The Brain (not region 2 coded).

http://www.amazon.com/Steven-Spielberg-Pinky-Elmyra-Brain/dp/B00FMISRJG

Chears.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.0 out of 5 stars (2 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
18.64
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 36,378