Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

2 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only gets 1 star because I can't give 0, 3 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Zeit (Expanded Edition) (Audio CD)
This album has got to be the most tedious monotonous drone I've ever heard, I gave it a chance and listened to it with an open mind and just wished I hadn't, complete waste of time. Yes, it was made before my time but so is most of the music I listen to, this is music I wont be listening to again. Pretentious crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 7 Nov 2013 09:31:26 GMT
x says:
This isn't a review of the product, merely an expression of taste.

Posted on 30 Nov 2013 17:38:21 GMT
Ianham says:
Clearly this reviewer has had a taste by-pass. One Direction fans go home!

Posted on 20 Feb 2014 23:13:59 GMT
TD are true pioneers of electronic music.As a few other people have commented your so called 'review' is not a review as such, its more like a statement of your lack of musical knowledge and taste.

Posted on 17 Apr 2014 07:22:52 BDT
M. Jones says:
Its really not an album for the ipod "listen for 3 seconds then skip to the next track" generation; Zeit, like most electronic music of the time demands attention and a quiet moment to reflect and envelope yourself in the soundscapes. But then if you don't get it, you don't get it.

Posted on 7 Nov 2014 14:05:14 GMT
Barry Lees says:
Although I have TD's full catalogue and got into them at school when they released "Phaedra", I completely concur with your feelings about "Zeit". You get the impression that they started with the name ("Time" in German) and worked from that. That is "Well, we'd better record something 'loooooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnng'. Or, at least, something that sounds 'loooooooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnng'. A LOT of TD music has been GREAT and they have, quite clearly, influenced a lot of European bands and solo musicians but this one is dire and should be deleted from the catalogue.

In reply to an earlier post on 25 Jan 2015 18:43:42 GMT
Barry Lees - I understand that you don't like it - thats fair enough. But I love the slowly evolving textures and atmospheres - its quite beautiful - in my opinion. It's also my opinion that from Stratosfear onwards they were really much less interesting and inventive than with their earlier work. The last time I saw TD live was on the tour when they recorded Ricochet ('75 or '76 - I forget which now - so long ago) they really were a great band then.

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Apr 2015 17:59:51 BDT
Last edited by the author on 4 Apr 2015 18:00:34 BDT
Barry Lees says:
I entirely agree: I saw them in (I think) Autumn 1974 or '75 when they were assembling the music for what was to become "Ricochet" - Christoph linking the different segments' tempos with drums in the studio. I remember them heralding their purchase of "computer" [digital] instruments but, with the programmable sounds, they may as well have been carrying around recorded backing tracks to use onstage because they seemed to lose their 'spontaneous' edge around that time. My own opinion is that the "Virgin" period was their best and the recent stuff is becoming "background" or "elevator" music. I still maintain, however, that the likes of "Zeit" and "Electronic Meditation" should be deleted in the interests of good taste.

Posted on 25 Feb 2016 21:03:40 GMT
I think expectation is key when it comes to an album like Zeit. It can only work and please the ear if one desires a sonic experience rather than music with chords and harmonies.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details