Customer Review

200 of 201 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bulletproof!, 20 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Samsung B2100 Solid Extreme Sim Free Mobile Phone (Unlocked Phone)
I would have LOVED to have this phone 10 years ago!

I got a SonyEriccson C905 about 9 months ago, but working in the Oil/Construction/Foundry industry, the fancy phone was getting murdered. So I went for a tough-type phone. I've never had problems with Samsung, so that was my choice.

It's like the Jason Bourne of phones. You can leave it on a brick wall in the rain, 30 feet up, and don't worry if it gets knocked off. Just get someone to call it, and the mud starts ringing. Dig your phone out, and it's perfect. Wash it off, and it keeps on going. After about 9 months, I'm getting the odd scratch on the screen, but it's been hammered with sand, rocks, you name it. The casing is scratchproof, the buttons are fine, Even the exposed camera lens is not marked in the slightest, and i've never covered it with anything. that's the externals sorted. Durability 10/10.

Downsides? The PC interface software is a bit sketchy, it loses USB connection when uploading or downloading my shots. Not all the time, but enough to be a bit irritating, and not as good an interface as Sony's PC Suite. PC Connectivity 7/10

The only other downside? Hearing my phone ring when machinery or stuff is going on, that can be difficult. And so to be safe, sometimes I'll set it to Sound Off/Vibrate On. If it's not actually in my pants, I can't feel it all the time. I'm told it's because the case is so SO TOUGH the shell won't transmit the vibration very well. So Ring Vol/ Vibrate mode 5/10.

Internals? The interface is dead easy, like the anti-motorola of phones. Pick up and play. The screen isn't beautiful, it seems a bit basic, but the colours are bright, photos look brilliant, and it's got everything I need, including internet access, as good as any other phone i've used. Get a memory card, (SD, fits behind battery) and you're sorted. The sound is great, never get anyone at the other end saying "Can't hear a thing...it must be your end" The torch now seems totally essential, is blinding, and obviously lasts as long as the battery is charged, i.e days and days (the battery life is brilliant), and i even use the compass, especially when i'm in a city i've not been to, very useful in Prague new town or Barca. So, Features 10/10.

Basically if you treat your phone like it's not a precious jewel, but still want all the stuff you need this side of an i-Phone, this is the phone to get. As i said at the top... Bulletproof! It may not look pretty, but neither does a Land Rover Defender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 26 Oct 2009 13:27:25 GMT
S. Hunt says:
> and i even use the compass

The manual does not mention a compass... Are you sure you haven't got a B2700?

Posted on 13 Jul 2010 01:59:56 BDT
J. Molyneux says:
i'm very impressed with your review,i've just commented on a bleker review than this but the majority of reviews i've read have been very good.i'm due to renew my contract phone and this is the next phone i'm going for.i don't need an i phone,just a strong phone that will take a knock here and there with a decent battery life and good sound.the mega pixel could be better but i'll put up with that.at present i've got a samsung g600,it's a 5 mega pixel but it hasn't lasted long and isn't tough whatsoever so if anyone is thinking of getting one....i wouldn't ! saying that though,it is probably an old phone now compared to the newer ones that are out.thanks for your review.it's helped in my decision.
John....st helens.

Posted on 23 Sep 2010 10:21:15 BDT
Last edited by the author on 23 Sep 2010 10:21:29 BDT
G. L. Jones says:
Your review made me laugh out loud, my husband has this phone (he's a decorator) and he has a Land Rover Defender. Very good comparison! LOL

The phone is great for those in the construction industry, how many times have you bent down with your phone in your workshirt pocket for it to fall into a bucket of plaster/wallpaper paste/water etc. This phone has fallen off high scaffolding even been in the sea and it just takes everything thrown at it. I wouldn't worry about the negative reviews, if you need a tough phone get this one.

Posted on 25 Dec 2010 15:45:56 GMT
Reddevil999 says:
Great to read a genuinely funny review without all the phone snob technical guff that a layman such as myself can appreciate. This has helped me in making my decision to chuck the rubbish Motorola ROKR that I presently have in favour of this Samsung. Thanks for the laughs.

In reply to an earlier post on 19 Jan 2011 17:46:07 GMT
Have you had any problems with the battery not holding it's charge for very long? I bought this phone for my building hubby for Christmas and he charges over night because it takes ages to charge and it doesn't even last the whole day when he goes back to work.
This is the second one I've had with the same problem.

Posted on 23 Feb 2011 16:54:22 GMT
Redvan 66 says:
i can only hope that i have a better experience with this phone than i ever do with land rover!!

Posted on 24 Feb 2013 13:44:40 GMT
DMH says:
I know I'm repeating what other folks have already said but your very clear review was like breath of fresh air!

Posted on 2 Jul 2014 09:47:31 BDT
MHK says:
How many contacts can this phone store?
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (370 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (213)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
Used & New from: £26.49
Add to wishlist
Reviewer

Darren
(REAL NAME)   

Location: Rotherham, United Kingdom

Top Reviewer Ranking: 149,745